We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Richelieu
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked the hotel despite reading some negative reviews as the price was one of the more affordable within Arcachon. We were pleasantly surprised and to be honest the room was well decorated, spacious and quite modern. What I was disappointed with the most was the absence of drink making facilities within the room, certainly my first experience of that. We ordered the breakfast at €14 each and despite having the chance to eat till we popped I didn't find there was enough variety available. Overall, affordable, comfortable and it's what you make of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Richelieu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The prime sea front location is fantastic! The receptionist mistaken our booking and we got a seaview room with balcony and great views on the ocean for the price of a standard room!!!! The room seemed to be recently renovated.....the bathroom was not!!! Very nice breakfast room with good choice of food, but if you want a good coffee you have to pay extra (2 Euro), otherwise you get a mediocre filter coffee... I stayed here two nights with friends and all in all we had a pleasant stay, although I must say that the room rates are definitely overpriced. I wouldn't pay 162 Euro for a double room (even if it has seaview) + 13 Euro per person for breakfast for a 3*** hotel with an old bathroom and no fridge in the room......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ulurusunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

In front of the beach, nice cosy hotel. It seems they have recently renovated the rooms. I was worried by a review that talks about the bathrooms. Ours was neat, clean, very good.
Staff was polite and very nice with our kids (3 very energetic boys). Not that good giving addresses nor directions.
Prices for soft drinks were not "hotel Prices" we appreciated that.
A plus: beach towels available upon request. Great prize-quality hotel, specially if travelling with big family.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank UchieTAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After two weeks travel in France, before oin to our home in the Provence, we stopped in Cape D'Agde, without making any hotel rservations. After checking out several hotels in Cape D'Agde, we decided that this place was well below our expectations. While we have no objection for naturalism, we decided that on our age of 67 one should expose themselves to nudity. So, at the end no hotel.

We travelled further along the coast and hit a EXTREMELY sympathetic hotel, very friendly welcomed by the staff and offering us a sea-harbour view room. To top everything we had a marvellous dinner, prepared by the owner. The staff and the owner are very interested in making it the guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Higly Recommendable and away from a not so attractive Cape D'Agde
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobbySignes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Fortunate to have lovely room with patio setting overlooking the bay. No fridge in room so asked receptionist for some ice which caused problems but were given an ice bucket with ice, we paid 2.50 Euros cash but it was also charged to our room. Second night asked for ice & after quite a fuss in front of other guests were told we could have a small soup bowl of ice, we declined as it was not going to chill the French Champagne we were looking forward to drinking. Good location but staff need training in hospitality and friendliness !!

Room Tip: Facing Bay but not near noisy streets
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed here en route from UK to our house in Spain. The only recommendation I can find is that the Hotel is at the centre of town, near the beach and has a car park. We paid £120.00 for the night including a buffet breakfast and we departed dissapointed. I am well aware that it was our choice to stay there, but if there is a next time, we will stay somewhere else. The following night we stayed at a hotel in Burgos, Spain. Much better quality, much better breakfast, more cooperative staff and less that half the price of Arcachon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nerjanits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Hasn't been renovated in 50 years, the staff were attentive but strange. 100e for double room and we would have felt more comfortable on the beach. Left luggage is the telephone booth.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishamericaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcachon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#2 of 32 in Arcachon
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel les Vagues
Hotel les Vagues
#15 of 32 in Arcachon
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Point France
Hotel Point France
#6 of 32 in Arcachon
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#7 of 32 in Arcachon
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inter Hotel le Nautic
Inter Hotel le Nautic
#5 of 32 in Arcachon
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 32 in Arcachon
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Richelieu

Address: 185 boulevard de la Plage, 33120 Arcachon, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Arcachon
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
Price Range: £84 - £873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Richelieu 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing