We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, tatty, noisy if central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Le Trianon
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We decided at the last minute to stay at arcachon and savour some seafood. This hotel looked like it was closed to the centre and for one night we thought it would be practical. We also got upgraded to an apartment for 128 euros which sounded like a great deal. However:
1. The rooms are a little old fashioned - could do with some renovation
2. There was noise from first thing in the morning - washing, rubbish collection, we hardly slept
3. The lift was clearly insufficient for all the guests - always tried to use the stairs
4. No staff past 8pm and (hear this) we should have brought our own toilet paper, since the hotel does not provide "consumables". How ridiculous.

Arcachon is nothing special anyway. The nearby restaurant Diego had great seafood, if a little expensive, but did not really find really anything else exciting to say about this town - let alone the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianni0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, Gérant at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Dear customer,

We're sorry that the residence and its staff didn't pleased you.

We wish you an happy new year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

This hotel is within walking distance from the train station and is along the main drag of touristy Arcachon. We paid 88 euros/night.

The room (#215, I think) and bathroom was the largest we had in all of France. There was plenty of space for us and our luggage. There was wi-fi but no communal computer and the breakfast at the hotel was very overpriced.

The kitchenette in the room was very nice and the supermarket & bakery was two blocks away. We bought groceries our first day and were very thankful. After all the small bitter coffees it was nice to have a large cup of how-we-like-it coffee with free refills in the morning with cereal without the bother of getting dressed. It might just be me but in the morning when I'm grumpy and feeling raw it's much nicer to eat something familiar and ease into the day.

The evening receptionist was horrible. She was stereotypical rude French-person. Every time we asked her a question she copped an attitude that we were imposing on her. She very confidently directed us to go about a mile in the wrong direction of the restaurant we wanted. The other clerks were pleasant and helpful, so it was just her.

Overall this was a good hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHELLYandBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, Gérant at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you for your comentary.
We're sorry that the residence didn't pleased you totally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Had concerns, based on negative reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised.
We had a 2-room apt on the top floor. It was clean, adequately furnished, and comfortable (A/C, free WiFi, television w/5 or 6 channels, full balcony with table and 4 chairs).
The lift could be a bit slow and busy, particularly on change-over days, but who's in a hurry en vacances?
The bed was large, firm, and comfortable and the unit was quiet (with windows closed no noise from adjacent units or the street).
The kitchenette was adequate, with a 2-burner rangetop, small fridge, clean, fully functional microwave, and toaster/over that we didn't use.
It's 2-3 blocks from the Arcachon gare, 50 yards from the beach, and 2-3 blocks from F. LeClerc. There is a good daily market adjacent to the gare and a superb Casino supermarche just beyond that.
Particularly with the reduced prices at the end of the season it was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank O2BNFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, Ophélie - réceptionniste at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thank you for your good comentary :
Hope to see you again, with our two elevators in March 2015 ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

I'm usually very nice with my reviews, in fact this is the first review I've written that is negative. We just got back from this place and I feel compelled to share my store. The hotel claims 3* but if you compare by US standards it's not even close. There is very little service, you're renting an apartment and you're expected to do everything yourself including cleaning up everything before you leave! The room is nice, the kitchen area was great. It is in a great location, directly on the beach and in the center of town, at the beginning of a strip of restaurants and shops.

But there is one problem.. a big problem.. the apartment doesn't have air conditioning and because there is only one window (a door to the balcony), it's impossible to circulate air and cool down inside. There are no windows in the hallway so opening your door is not an option.

While it was extremely (and unusually) hot the week we were there, I can't imagine staying there in any part of the summer. We had to go buy a fan, and with the fan the hotel gave us (only because we took our crying, dripping wet from seat, baby to the reception to ask for it), we had 2 fans going on high speed 24 hours a day. Even in the morning, it was still hot in there. In short, this made it VERY UNCOMFORTABLE to stay in the room. And if you have a baby, it's even a big dangerous.

Other small gripes, the elevator is so slow you can wait 5 minutes minimum for it. When we didn't have the stroller I just gave up and took the stairs. Imagine the saturday morning with everyone leaving, trying to take the elevator! It was so slow. I've never seen anything like it before.

Another grip, the trash in the hallway was not emptied once in the week we were there. By the end of the week, it smelled awful.

Overall, this could be a nice place but the fact that it's so uncomfortable in the room due to the heat makes this a place to definitely avoid. I would never stay there again. If you go to arcachon, get a room with air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, Gérant at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you for your comentary about our residence.

We're sorry for the inconvenience.
The residence is placed in center town so we cannot do anything for the outside noise : there's double glazed in the residence !

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank domtom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, directrice at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Didier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, other at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeretGolfLoisirs, other at Residence Le Trianon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcachon hotels
0.8 mi away
Inter Hotel le Nautic
Inter Hotel le Nautic
#3 of 30 in Arcachon
515 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 30 in Arcachon
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#2 of 30 in Arcachon
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel Le Dauphin
#13 of 30 in Arcachon
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Villa Regina
Residence Villa Regina
#12 of 30 in Arcachon
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Atlantic Hotel
Grand Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 30 in Arcachon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Trianon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Trianon

Address: 161 boulevard de la Plage, 33120 Arcachon, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Le Trianon)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Arcachon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Arcachon
Price Range: £53 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Trianon 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Arcachon and close to the sea front. 300 M from the SNCF railway station. 20 M from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Le Trianon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing