We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character building a little out of town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Villa Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Villa Regina
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Character building a little out of town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Beautiful old villa on the hill above the town No views of the sea on first level though. Rooms are freshly painted with small kitchen (dishwasher, fridge, microwave and kitchen utensils and cutlery, glasses and crockery). Bathroom a little on the small side but clean and fresh. Towels small and thin. Separate toilet. Staff accomodating and friendly with restrictive English spoken. Pool and gardens. Our tariff over online was higher than that displayed at the gate. We walked from the station as it was getting late in the evening (the taxi didn't answer phone) only to get lost. Eventually a taxi was called and he charged us 10 Euro to go about 200 metres, the fare should be about 5 from the station. Breakfast is buffet continental style. Coffee, tea, chocolate, pastry /bread basket, yoghurt and fruit. The stay was pleasant but not glamourous,

Room Tip: 210 bigger room than 208. 208 -211 no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    117
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
123
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

A great value hotel, close to town up a hill or via a lift. Make sure you check in by 7pm otherwise reception shuts. Room was spotlessly clean if in need of a little updating furniture wise and extra pillows. Had a great little balcony and all the equipment you need for a self catering stay. Friendly staff and ideally located to exlpore the area. Breakfast buffet 7 euro and free (but slow) wifi only downstairs though!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hitchinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We almost didn't get to stay in the Villa Regina - we simply could not find it in the maze of small streets of quiet villas in this old part of Arcachon, and when we rang the hotel, they didn't have enough English and we didn't have enough French to make any progress. Finally, another hotel down on the seafront drew us a map, and at last we came on the Allee Corrigan and there it was - a very large institutional building: a former hospital? or maybe a convent? or a children's home? It still has an institutional feeling about - the rooms are functional in a bare and worn kind of way, although they are much larger than many French hotel rooms. There is a very nice outdoor swimming pool with seats and loungers, lots of car-parking, and the room rates are exceptionally good value. It's a bit of a hike down to the seafront, but the compensation is that it's blissfully quiet at night. We won't be returning - nothing to do with the hotel, but because we couldn't really see the point of Arcachon: a seaside resort with a tidal beach and not much else to recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrelandWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed there with our two-year old twins for one night before heading to bordeaux airport. The building itself is grandiose. The owner/manager explained that it was built a few hundred years ago at the same time of the Ville d'hiver to cater for the aristocrates staying in Arcachon. For sixty euro a night, it is like walking into a palace and being an aristocrates yourself.

The room themselves are very simply furnished (no palace) but it is functional and very clean. It has a kitchenette (including a dishwasher and dishwasher tablets) which is handy to have when you have small children who may decide they they really want their hot chocolate at 6.00am or if you want to have breakfast in your PJ.

The staff there is fantastic. On arrival, whithin 10 minutes, the owner/manager had shown us to our room, given us a map of arcachon with tips of where to go and what to do (with small children) along with a few restaurants suggestions for luch and dinner. We had only one day in Arcachon so it really helped us to make the most of it.

We could only booked a studio with Expedia but we rang the hotel and they arranged for a two beds apt for us. We were delighted.

Finally, the location of the hotel is great. In the ville d'hiver but within 10 min walk to city centre and nice restaurant.

There is a pool in the hotel but we did not try it

This hotel seems to be the perfect spot to discover arcachon and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

The staff here were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. It's not a hotel but there appears to be evening food available and we took breakfast. The rooms have catering facilities which we used and saved a lot of money. Good supermarket down the road although closes at 19:30.

There is a lounge area and swimming pool both which were good. If going into the town turn left and go through the park using the lift that looks like a lighthouse down the cliff.

Hotel clients were all over 60 when we were there and someone was disturbed by our admittedly loud chatting at 11:30 which was fair enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary weekend in Arcachon at the Villa Regina. We booked a studio through Expedia and got an excellent rate (approx. 65 USD/night). We arrived in the early afternoon, but had no problem checking in despite the fact that the reception was officially closed. We were shown to a cheerful room on the 3rd floor, a bit worn as indicated in previous reviews and by the star rating, but very clean. The apartment was BIG and best of all, had a gorgeous view over the mansions and hills of the Ville d'Hiver. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The lobby was beautiful, a great place to read, very homey, with WIFI access and a small multilingual library. The location was great as it was completely quiet and peaceful at night, and it only took a few minutes to walk (or ride the public elevator) down to the commercial district of Arcachon. This is the kind of hotel where you have your own space and plenty of privacy, but everyone (guests and staff) says hello to you with a smile.
More than anything else, we appreciated our helpful and welcoming hosts. The hotel managers really went out of their way for us. They shared the history of the hotel with us, showed us pictures, securely stored our luggage for us after we checked out, let us play with their cats...I had to translate the specifics for my non-French-speaking husband, but their kindness transcended language barriers. As we were leaving, my husband was already asking when I wanted to come back for a whole week...we loved it and would return in a heartbeat. Next time, I might bring my own pillow to supplement the hotel's, but that's the only thing I would change!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdumsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

At first the hotel looks very intimidating - very grand and large. Check in was very quick and I was shown around the room with all the utilities explained in excellent English. A map of Arcachon was produced and all the local amenities were pointed out. The room had a microwave, 2 rings, a fridge/freezer and dish washer. Ideal for a couple of days self catering. As the building is quite old the ceilings were quite high and we had a door that opened out onto a small balcony. The room was spacious and clean, and had all the utensils that we needed. The car park was large.
It was a 15 minute walk to the front via a park and through a pedestrianised street. The front is ideal for a stroll or cycle ride, but as the hotel overlooks the town it is quite a climb back up - use the free lift.
The hotel is looking run down in places with peeling paint and worn out furnishings. Given a lot of money this could be a very grand hotel but was more than adequate for a few nights stay.

  • Liked — All the facilities for self catering and easy access to town
  • Disliked — Looking a little run down in places
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crispin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcachon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 32 in Arcachon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#5 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin
Hotel Le Dauphin
#9 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#2 of 32 in Arcachon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Atlantic Hotel
Grand Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inter Hotel le Nautic
Inter Hotel le Nautic
#4 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Villa Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Villa Regina

Property: Residence Villa Regina
Address: 11 allee Corrigan, 33120 Arcachon, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Arcachon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Arcachon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Villa Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Villa Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Arcachon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing