We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”
Review of Le Chatenet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Chatenet
Ranked #4 of 8 Brantome B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Le Chatenet is a splendid building with lovely grounds and facilities. The decor would not be to everyone's taste but we certainly had plenty of space and access to a terrace which would have been great in better weather. We had thought of staying a few nights but the weather drove us south. Though well-meaning, I felt the lady of the house should have allowed us to settle in rather than insisting on giving us a lecture on the history of the house and the surrounding area. Another couple were breakfast victims when the gentleman of the house provided a lecture on tea that must have caused their tea to go very cold! The path to Brantome was a little longer and steeper than we had expected and Brantome, itself, was one of these places that tourist buses visit for a couple of hours (in my opinion!). I can see why Le Chatenet receives many good reviews. It just wasn't right for us. Our next stop was Domain de Pine, south of the Dordogne - now that was our kind of place!

Room Tip: Our bedroom at terrace level was spacious and in good weather, would have given access to the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merlin9646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The owners have clearly taken trouble with this mini chateau but much of their effort has not paid off. Some of the decor is garish, some is gloomy and a bit shabby and the swimming pool needs some upgrading. When we arrived on the hottest day of the year, dying to get to our rooms, one of the owners gave us a c 15 minute introduction to the (not very intersting) history of the hotel. This was well meant but ill timed and she seemed unaware of our needs.

The food, which receives various raves, was much too expensive for a simple meal - E35 for melon with ham, duck confit and panaccotta. Cheese was E5 extra but you are not told this until the bill comes. However, the worst thing of all was the length of time the meal took. We stared around 8.30 (it was meant to be 8) and finished just before 11pm This is ridiculous for such a simple meal. The confit was lovely but the rest was what you would expect from a melon with some good ham and a panacotta. I do not like this pudding and so was offered yesterday's dried up fruit tart which even when fresh would have been much below average.

Every course was introduced with a long recitation about how it had been cooked or prepared - the herbs that had been infused, the sauce that had been distilled etc etc. Frankly this was pretentious given what we were eating, and it all added to the tedious length of the meal.

To be fair to the owners they acknowledged that it had all taken too long when we raised this with them. They said they had had more people than expected and some children, and they had not got back from market until 5pm, but that is all part of running an expensive hotel and should not be an excuse. We were asked if we thought it was too expensive and we said, politely, that we thought it was. There was, however, no reduction at all in the big bill.

Other guests told us they had similar experiences of endless meals and had told the owners about this but no change!

There are much better places in this lovely area of France. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very comfortable stay. The owners were extremely knowledgeable about the region and helped us to see as much of the area in the limited time we had. They made great suggestions for restaurants in the evenings and were happy to book them for us. As previously mentioned not all the rooms have air conditioning but not a problem as closing shutters and windows at the hottest part of the day worked well.
Breakfast excellent and lovely to sit on the terrace overlooking the pool and gardens.
Owners made the atmosphere more like staying at a friend's house than a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here as part of a party of six motorcyclists touring France. The setting is quite delightful in its own grounds but still reasonably close to Brantome centre. I would agree with many of the other comments. The rooms are very special but a little worn in places, the food was quite superb and we learnt a lot about the ingredients and cooking methods from William, the pool is small but most refreshing and the outhouse with the full sized pool table, the tennis etc are great amenities. Breakfast was excellent with freshly baked croissant and pastries, real fruit juice, and home made preserves. There is no doubt that it is expensive (€5 for a small beer) and you do not find out until later if you do not ask. In its defence I would almost say that if you need to ask the price you should probably go elsewhere. We felt we got value for money.

Room Tip: Very variable in size. I would ask to see all available rooms before making a final choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sc0ttietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and were lucky to find this delightful hideaway in the beautiful Perigord Limousin region. We were given a warm welcome from Jane when we arrived followed by a tour of the premises and this friendly approach continued throughout our stay. We choose the pigeonnier suite which had a separate entrance and was really lovely and comfortable with the added advantage of air conditioning. Breakfast, which was served on the terrace, was excellent and we learnt that not only did William make the croissants himself but he also made the delicious jams. If you are lucky enough to have the opportunity to enjoy an evening meal, you will find that William also prepares and cooks this himself, sourcing the products locally wherever possible. The hotel is set in extensive grounds with swimming pool, tennis court and children's play area and it really is only ten minutes walk from the picturesque town of Brantome.

Room Tip: The pigeonnier suite is not suitable for disabled persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khandeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Le Chatenet for 3 nights in mid-June. Lovely house and grounds, but overpriced on all fronts. Our room at the top of the house had no tea/coffee making facilities and no air-conditioning. In hot weather it would have been very hot. Fortunately (!) it was not too hot when we were there.

The evening meal, whilst nicely cooked, was basic with inexpensive ingredients. The cost was 35EU for 3 courses; an extra cheese course was another 5EU. There was no choice. Worse was the lack of transparency over prices - we had to ask the price of the meal, and there was no wine list. My husband ordered house wine by the glass but was given a bottle. Only when he came to pay the bill at the end of the stay was he aware that it was 30EU! We only ate in once; the other 2 nights we went into Brantome where we had much better food (and of course choice) at much more reasonable prices.

We also had much better food and drink, and room prices, at the other places we stayed during our holiday.

Sadly, not to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterj43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel cannot fail to relax and cheer you. We had a fantastic time. William and Jane are wonderful hosts, really caring about your stay. You must stay for dinner - William's food is fabulous and if you get a chance to share a table with fellow diners - do so, you find out so much about other cultures/lives. Breakfast is good too - especially the mountain tea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BCooper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0.5 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.5 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
3.5 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
367 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatenet

Property: Le Chatenet
Address: Lieu Dit le Chatenet, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chatenet is a XVII-XVIII manor-house in a 6 hectares park near Brantôme, the Venice of Périgord. Beautifully decorated, all the rooms have a bathroom; facilities include a heated swimming pool, a tennis court and a club house. A five minutes walk under the trees take you to the village. It is the perfect place to rest in a peaceful atmosphere and discover a region full of historical and gastronomical patrimony. Meals are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Chatenet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing