We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Place with fine Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
519 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Romantic Place with fine Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Hotel is situated on the river, is very quiet and comfortable.
The owners are perfect hosts, very friendly and attentive, the service in all impeccable.
The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with playful details.
Be prepared for a hard mattress to sleep on.

The restaurant offers very good food, good service and a nice wine list.
This hotel sure is a place to come back to if in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen-v-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
160
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at Moulin de Vigonac. Well what an excellent hotel and restaurant. It is very close to Brantome and other historic attractions. The old mill renovations and rooms are first class. The babbling stream and quite surrounds made for a wonderful stay. However the gem is the restaurant. Three weeks in France eating in many locations and good restaurants nothing came within reach of the restaurant at Moulin de Vigonac. We ate there three nights in a row, which we never would normally consider....such is the quality of menu, food, wine, service and the atmosphere of the setting. Of hundreds and hundreds of hotels around the world I have stayed and eaten in this makes the top ten!!
Clearly the family that restored the old mill and developed this high quality boutique hotel and restaurant and are hands-on are so passionate about quality and service. My hat goes off to Famille Alexeline...our stay was just perfect and upon our next return to France Hotel Vigonac will be the first accommodation we will book.
This hotel and restaurant may not be the lowest cost but it is the highest quality and best value for money for those who appreciate true French hospitality and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a long journey we arrived at the Moulin tired and weary. We were greeted with friendliness and helpfulness. We stayed in the Camille room which was lovely. The room was clean and comfortable we felt relaxed straight away. The food was fabulous lots of choice and the best ingredients in the region. The foie gras and honey dish and the pigeon the best we have had in France! The staff couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was excellent fresh and we couldn't have asked for more. We were given an info pack of the area just lots of nice thoughtful gestures. The renovation of the mill was fascinating and the enthusiasm of the family running it infectious. Would thoroughly recommend the whole experience. It is definitely worth the money just for the very personal, charming and excellent service. One of the best places we have found to stay in France! I hope it never changes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

found this hotel on the Internet purely by chance. How lucky were we? Fantastic location, friendly owners and staff not to mention food to die for. Only 3 or 4 days earlier we had eaten at hotel splendido in portfino, Italy. Although their food was good this was far superior. I can't begin to explain the exquisite taste of lobster, sorbet, lamb and homemade chocolate mousse. The breakfast was also wonderful, homemade crepes and omelettes all as light as a feather. If you are in this area you would be foolish not to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeeh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

had a delightful overnight stay at this charming hotel. very personal service from charming hosts. great room, great food. highly recommended.
added bonus was seeing abeautiful red squirrel, courtesy of monsuier le,patron.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I and his parents stayed here for one night half board. We arrived a little early but were greeted from the car which was a lovely touch. We were shown to our rooms Amelie and Eve, both delightful. Plently of those little touches you really appreciate. Plenty of towers and robes and fantastic products. I would suggest taking a hairdryer with you - my only negative!

The hotel is beautiful and so very peaceful. Lucking the weather was warm enough for us to use the pool, which was lovely and warm and towels provided - another big tick. We had dinner on the terrace, we were celebrating a wedding anniversiary and they couldnt have made it more special, with a special dinner, candles in the dessert etc - was very special. The wine list is a tad over priced, the white Bordeaux we had was 39 euros and we saw the same bottle a day later in a cave, for just under 6 euros.

The service is fantastic, and will certainly go back - hopefully for more than one night. The breakfast was fantastic, they really know what they are doing - worth every penny. Had a wonderful morning swim, we all left feeling relaxed and very well fed.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday07-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had four nights in the stunning Moulin de Vigonac and were lucky to enjoy very hot weather which allowed us to make full use of the swimming pool, our own spacious terrace and the riverside gardens. The warm and generous welcome by Giselle and the hospitality shown throughout the stay was second to none. We enjoyed dinner on three occasions on the lovely restaurant terrace and were served exquisite food and glorious wines. The lobster starter, wonderful canapés and amuse bouche were all highlights as was the Montbazillac pudding wine. The chef Michel knows how to produce subtle and beautiful flavours. Nothing was too much trouble - breakfast was just as good, including fruits, croissants and pastries, fresh pancakes and eggs cooked to your choice. Michel's scrambled eggs are served by him with pride and a smile. Throughout our stay we were served by David who is an exceptional waiter and really made each meal special. We will remember also the sea bass main course and the confit of duck for a long time.

The mill is furnished in a modern and extremely elegant style. We walked into Brantome once and on other occasions it was easy to drive in and park ( 20 mins walk, 5 in the car). All in all, this is a wonderful peaceful location in a comparatively quiet part of the Dordogne. It is actually hard to tear yourself away from the immediate vicinity but there are many places within reach.

A real find - thank you so much to the small family team that run this lovely hotel. Their labour of love in converting the mill and sharing it with guests has paid off and we are glad they did it!!

Room Tip: The Alexandra room is beautiful with a very large terrace, furnished with coffee table , chairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
3.7 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
4.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin De Vigonac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin De Vigonac

Property: Le Moulin De Vigonac
Address: Vigonac | Vigonac, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin De Vigonac 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL 4 stars **** This 16th century watermill nestles in an idyllic location a few steps from Brantôme, “the Venice of Perigord”. Cradled by the river Dronne, the grounds and its little islands are a celebration of nature. Stimulation of the senses, a warm welcome and authentic cuisine will add to the pleasure of your stay.Located in the heart of the Perigord Vert, you will be charmed by this hotel’s natural and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Moulin De Vigonac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing