We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every amenity for a relaxing and enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brantome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Brantome Peyrelevade
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Every amenity for a relaxing and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a typical traditional french campsite with everything for a relaxed holiday for couples, families and young adults. (Except no loud discos!). There were a few static homes for rent which looked very nice. For everyone, the location is very good being by the pretty River Dronne at a spot where it is shallow and safe for splashing about; where the ducks happily swim and where beautiful dragonflies and butterflies can live in harmony with the campers. It is a 10 minute walk into Brantome which means that it is near enough to stroll to and far enough away not to be a source of noise or congestion on site. There is a good size area on site for games and activities; outdoor table tennis, bouncy castle, badminton net, tennis courts and a small pool cleaned daily with separate baby section. It is not a massive site like the ones you see by the coast or in the tourist 'hot spots'. We had a fab place for our caravan right by the river bank with plenty of shade. If you like shade or sun it is a good idea to request your preferred plot in advance as we did when we booked the site and we got just what we wanted. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is a very small shop for a few items of food and essentials and bread can be ordered every day. Sanitary areas are good and cleaned regularly. On some evenings a french group played a great repertoire of french and international songs in the small bar area. There was wi fi (payable) and the more you buy the better value the rate is I paid 20 Euos for 20 hours but it's more expensive if you buy fewer hours. There is a communal barbecue area.
Brantome itself is a lovely place to explore its history, to enjoy the Venice of Perigord as it is called and also to enjoy the cafes and restaurants.If you like canoes and canooing in a leisurely way, this is the place for you. There are other places of interest within an easy drive so it is a good base for getting to know this part of Perigord. All in all a great place to stay for a short or longer holiday. Two supermarkets are in town for all your essential items. It was all quiet by 10pm ish and all campers/caravanners were respectful of each others privacy. So glad we went!

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of place you prefer as some are very sunny and some are partially shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
95
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This September saw us returning for the third time and this time we stayed for the whole month.
We enjoyed the swimming pool which is very clean and an ideal place to enjoy a spot of sunbathing as well as a cooling swim. We had a mobil-home which as before was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We like the fact that you can enjoy peace and quiet among well behaved campers and caravanners..

The town of Brantome is a real gem, beautiful buildings quaint shops, good restaurants and everywhere you look there's a photo opportunity. Other places nearby that are well worth visiting are the villages of Bourdeilles with its chateau and St Jean de Cole, another photographer's dream. It has a couple of nice reataurants in the old part of the village, to boot.

We've always found the owners helpful and obliging. They just want people to behave appropriately and stick to the rules which are for everyone's benefit.

Best wishes for the future,

Don and Brenda

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Northcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is our fourth visit to Camping Brantome Peyrelevade and we will be back next year.

You can pick what ever size or type of pitch you like when you arrive from large and sunny to by the river and in the shade. What ever takes your fancy?

The site really is that good with one of the best towns in France just a short walk away. The local restaurants are excellent and the canoe centre in town is great value for money for an afternoon's entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kuga-and-Bobtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Lovely clean and well maintained site. Good sized pitches. Beautiful town 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Setters01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We came here last year, and will probably come again next year. Th site is wonderful. It has a pool, beach by the river, a well-equipped play area for children, and super-clean sanitaires. The proprietors, Phillipe and Veronique, are helpful, friendly and are always around. The site is ten minutes walk out of Brantome, a magical village which has so much to see and do. Every Friday there is a huge market and on Friday evenings in July and August it seems that the whole town turns out to watch the water jousting on the river. This is like jousting on horseback but done from boats rowed by two teams, the Reds and the Blues. There are some lovely little shops around and the bakery in the old street in the middle is fantastic. There are loads of lovely places to eat at good value. The locals are friendly and helpful. You can go on any number of canoe trips, fly for 25 Euros in a microlight, visit the Troglodyte area behind the Beautiful old abbey, there is an old chateau with lovely gardens, and so much more.
Of all the campsites we have spent time at this rates very highly!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This was our third visit and we are looking forward to many more. The campsite gets better each time. New shower block and reception areas have been built over the past couple of months and they bring the site right up to date. A new Wi-Fi system reaches all round the site with good signal strength.
Hot croissants and bread in the morning all baked on site, cold beer and fine wine in the evening what could be better.
If you fancy a canoe trip for eight euros you can hire a canoe for an hour which is long enough to get you around the town and up to the campsite and back, great fun.
The best restaurant we found is Le Coligny with terrific views, great food and fine wine all with sensible prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuga-and-Bobtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is the first time here, and it will not be the last!
Afterb finding this site, we shall come again! It is only two hours from home and will make the perfect weekend away!
The site is beautiful, the area has lots to offer in every way and for every taste, and the staff here, including young new owners, are very helpful!
What more can I say?
Philip & Sue Slaigh

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipPoitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
2.8 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Brantome Peyrelevade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Brantome Peyrelevade

Property: Camping Brantome Peyrelevade
Address: 46 avenue Andre Maurois | Peyrelevade, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brantome
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp site is situated 1 km from the centre of Brantôme an enchanting town encircled by a river. Gateway to the Nature Park of the Perigord-Limousin Region and jewel of the valley of the Dronne, Brantôme welcomes nature, gastronomic and culture lovers throughout the year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing