We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely chateau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Granges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau des Granges
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely chateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed only one night in this beautiful place, but if we ever be in the area, we will chose this place again. The chateau is charming, rooms are spacious and comfortable, very quite and surrounded by beautiful garden. Christine is very helpful and welcoming, gave us suggestions for good restaurants, tasty breakfast.
The surroundings are unexpected beautiful, medieval village of Bourdeilles, charming Brantôme, chateaux and picturesque villages at short drive distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Where to start? First of all, this is not "Speciality", but neither is it a Hotel. But to describe it only as Bed and Breakfast, which it is, does not really do it justice! Let's do a tour.

The approach. Tranquil countryside, villages that typify "La France", greenery, a wide driveway, stone-built buildings, an iron gate, a circular fountain in the middle of a lawn (see picture) and a facade that could only be a French chateau.

The entrance. It just had to be a checked floor and a winding stone staircase (see picture)!

The hosts. We could not have been more warmly welcomed. Tea on the lawn or a glass of wine in the lounge area, chatting about life in France or the UK, whatever, they clearly enjoy having guests to stay with them and do their very best to put you at ease and make you feel at home.

The rooms. Well. Spacious doesn't begin to describe our room! The bed was comfortable, the en suite was well equipped and plenty big enough. Sure, the floorboards creak, but why wouldn't they in an authentic chateau?!

The breakfast. Served in a congenial atmosphere there was an abundance of everything, fruit, cereals, bread - hardly a PETIT dejeuner at all! And decent tea, not always a "given" in French hotels!

The grounds. Rolling down to the river Dronne where you can swim in safety. Acres of grass, trees and sheltered undergrowth.

The mystery. whilst exploring the grounds, close to the river bank, try to find Mary (see picture). Who was she? Why is she there? For whom does she look so sad? Let you imagination run away, whatever your age - even put a story on Trip Advisor!?

All this seems too good to be true? Try it, because seeing is believing!

Room Tip: Plan to arrive early so that you can enjoy this place, don't see it as a handy stop-over, or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed for three nights in this beautiful peaceful chateau lovingly restored by the owners. Very friendly and attentive host who provided an excellent French style breakfast, in fact we heard Christine go out each morning for the very fresh croissants and bread. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would delight in staying again. Excellent value for money with the added bonus of being very close to Brantome etc.
Note though, this is not the easiest of places to find, it is not located in Valeuil but between Brantome and Bourdeilles. It is approx 2km outside of Bourdeilles down a very long drive with a large sign for Les Stables and only a small hand written sign for the Chateau.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 481Graeme_Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We recently stayed for a week in this gorgeous chateau with friends and basically took over the place! Our room was just beautifully renovated with lovely double-aspect views and as comfortable as being at home. The owners could not have been more hospitable and nothing was too much trouble- the help and advice given by them both made our holiday so much easier in a location new to us. The area is beautiful and full of history- well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own theme and is as lovely as the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuezieQ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at Chateau des Granges just a couple of weeks ago. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Excellent room,excellent breakfast,excellent location,excellent rates

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
4.2 mi away
Moulin De Vigonac
Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.4 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#2 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#3 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie Les Griffons
Hostellerie Les Griffons
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Granges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Granges

Property: Chateau des Granges
Address: les Granges, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau des Granges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing