We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible setting”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only visited the restaurant and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious - small portions to get you through the whole meal. On that day it was raining so we had to sit inside however we enjoyed the beautiful view of the river. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank L3XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    98
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
40
341
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our Superior Double room with garden view did not mention that it was 2 floors up steep narrow stairs and across the road from the main hotel and restaurant we could see the garden but over the road! Diner was very disappointing my fish was seriously undercooked (raw?) and had to be returned to the kitchen my husband had finished his meal before mine was returned. I was unable to have a second glass of wine the same as the first as they only had similar not the same, similar on tasting was very different.
Perhaps we were unlucky that the weather was not good enough to sit outside but surely that

should not have affected the food and wine>
This hotel was not Relais and Chateau standard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therese r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent the perfect weekend at this most wonderful hotel. We were going to a wedding on the Saturday evening but on Friday evening were treated to a welcome drink by the river followed by a delicous dinner at a table overlooking the river. Everyone who looked after us could not do enough. Our room was so comfortable and at night with the windows open we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river. Brantome is exquisite and we enjoyed our several visits to the many little shops and coffee bars.
The hotel had arranged our taxi who was professional, on time and extremely polite.
It was one of the best weekend retreats ever and we will certainly be back

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the river. When we go back I will ask for a room with a similar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have made quite a few visits over 20 years and this was our first disappointment. The hotel itself and the setting are magical and on all previous visits the service has lived up to that. This time (July 2013) the reception staff were as welcoming and helpful as ever but the bar and restaurant staff simply did not seem to be properly trained. It was a real struggle to get an aperitif and the service in general was sloppy and unwelcoming to the point of discourtesy. The food in the restaurant was not up to previous standards. After the visit we were asked to write a trip report and I first replied to the hotel with the above comments to give them an opportunity to respond but they have not done so which suggests that perhaps they do not care which is also disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just visited this hotel and it was fantastic. The river view room was very comfortable. The situation in this pretty village perfect. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. The evening meal was one of the best we have had for a long time. Breakfast on the terrace in the sun was also very good.

Room Tip: River view and it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very charming, we went around and saw most of the hotels around, it is by far the best, the rooms are clean, renovated, and the service is very good, the staff is very helpful. Having breakfast on the river is fantastic...

Room Tip: chose the rooms with the terrace and jacuzzi)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polyakov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in a traditional room which was quite nice. The hotel is beautiful and sitting right on the river is in a wonderful location to sit outside and eat or have a drink. Service was wonderful. No complaints here. And Brantome is a lovely village with ample good restaurants. Highly recommend both the hotel and village. It is a good base for exploring the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
4.8 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
403 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de l'Abbaye

Property: Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Address: 1 avenue Pierre de Bourdeilles, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin de l'Abbaye 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Moulin de l'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin De l`Abbaye Hotel Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing