We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxing villa with good food & wine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brantome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine De Brantome Holiday Rentals
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in September 2011 (sorry for the late review) and we had a lovely relaxing time. The villa was spacious and kitchen was well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and the room had alot of storage. There was a large living area and a nice outdoor space with sun loungers. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast once and dinner twice, the food on all occasions was very good and so was the wine. The owner was away at the time and the villas were being run by their friend who was extremely friendly and helpful.
The outside pool was very "refreshing" but nice for a pick-me-up.
The villas were just outside of Brantome and you could walk to the village in 30 minutes (take a torch if you go for dinner as the street lights are limited). It is a lovely quiet location and would recommend it if you want a break from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Check out their website for pictures, try and get a south facing room to get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Domaine. Staff very pleasant and friendly. A bit quiet because of unusually poor weather but we had lovely time with 8 and 11 year olds. Would recommend this for families as complex quiet, lovely and safe, close to brantome which is soo nice, market etc. Overall very happy with experience. So much around to do if weather lets you down but we had some scorchers also where we availed of lovely pool.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackie123744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the domaine in late June with our 2 year old. The location is great, near to the charming village of brantome and plenty of places nearby to visit including lovely lake beaches. Village has all the usual amenities and we spent a few afternoons there at the park, on the boat ride, at the Friday market and on the weekend merry go round. The cottage we stayed in was lovely; tastefully decorated and had all mod cons and equipment for our toddler. The was really useful as we could not bring too much equipment/toys due to weight restrictions on luggage. The wide open spaces,Pool, swings, toy room and DVD library were great and helped to keep a active toddler occupied. Hotel restaurant was lovely, good food and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLD8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We loved this place so much! The Domaine is a twenty minute walk into Brantome, set in its own beautiful grounds. Aldi Supermarket just down the road to stock up on essentials. Pool was warm enough to swim in during May. All the houses have been built to a very high standard with cool underground car park. On site hotel full of character with restaurant serving high quality meals, reasonably priced by very attentive staff. Helen especially can advise on day trips and tips to guarantee a lovely stay in this beautiful part of France.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed at the Domaine in the first week of September this year with my wife and two kids, who were 2 1/2 yrs and 5 months old at the time. Both the Domaine and Bratome are beautiful and we had a perfect week there in the middle of a two week trip around France.

All in all the combination of having a whole house to ourselves, but with some on site facilities if you can’t be bothered to cook/pour your own glass of wine worked brilliantly for us. Likewise the grounds in the Domaine, and its pool, toy room, dvd library etc mean that we could spend a couple of relaxing days without going to far, in between days out in Brantome or nearby villages etc.

This was our second long family holiday, and first time self catering. Last year we went on a package holiday to Cyprus with first choice... really not up our street at all! We were a little clueless about what you are meant to do for a family holiday. We felt this was a holiday that's good for both us and the kids, as well as being vaguely interesting, and we left feeling like we’d seen a new part of the world that we hadn’t seen before (rather than just the inside of an English speaking hotel!).

Also, we'd been turned off by the idea of going to France/Europe in general 'pre-kids'. No idea why, I think it just seemed less appealing that further flung places. Brantome and the Dordogne region are fantastic, with lovely scenery and never ending beautiful villages and Chateaus. We had great days wandering around villages, including at least three days in Brantome, as well as going off piste a bit a finding a picinic spots for lunch (one great one near Chateaux Jumilhac, next to a stream, great for paddling).

The Domaine itself is set in some quite extensive grounds, with the 20-30 self catering houses in one corner, the hotel and bar/restaurant etc in another corner and lots of open space with an outdoor pool. The houses are mostly terraced, and fairly close together, but we barely heard our neighbours. It’s a slight blessing if you have kids (older than ours), as they should be able run around outside and play with the other kids whilst still being in view from your house.

Our house was a 3 bed house over three floors, with the 3rd bed being more of a mezzanine space with a ladder - we didn’t use that, nor did we plan to. The house is pretty well finished, and is only a few years old and has all mod cons - washing machine, dishwasher, tv & dvd etc. I'm sure you won’t be coming on holiday to watch telly, but just in case, I'd only come here if you love the bbc world news channel, and don’t mind that the picture looks like it’s being broadcast from a cave...

Our only gripe, although this may be perhaps due to our inexperience of going self-catering, was the policy that you had to leave the house immaculately clean. We weren’t expecting that, and would have liked that to be included in the price of the rental. Not a big deal though. They can clean if for you for a charge (about 40 quid from memory), and if I was going again I’d factor this in and look to pay the extra when booking. If this is the norm for self-catering please ignore! Also, our bed was very comfortable but probably the creakiest bed in the northern hemisphere, so we often woke up when one of us rolled over.

Helen, the proprietor, is a lovely Irish lady, who ran the hotel and restaurant part of the Domaine very well while we were there, with the chef and maid. The bar/restaurant is a nice place to hang out and is actually quite reasonably priced, with some local wine and quite tasty home cooked food produced by the chef. My wife's a veggie, which often causes problems in France – on one night there wasn’t anything veggie on the menu, so the chef rustled up a veggie dish for her, which was a nice touch.

For the kids there is a toy room, from which you can borrow a couple of toys to take back to your house, a dvd library with all sorts of kids (and grown up) movies, the outdoor pool, and some outdoor toys and a swing/slide set.

There is a lovely walk along footpaths and country lanes into Brantome which takes 15-30 minutes depending on how slow you are. We have a Phil&Teds (3-wheeled ‘sports’ buggy), which could manage some of the more bumpy parts of the path ok, but not sure a standard buggy would fare so well. On the walk you pass loads of fig trees, walnut trees, berry bushes, some fresh mint, and even a wild tomato plant. One night we made a salad out of all the food we’d foraged – yummy!

No matter how amazing it was, we don’t go on the same holiday twice – there’s too much to see in the world for that – but we would recommend this to couples/families looking for a relaxing week away and dont fancy big hotels/resorts. You’ll need a car of course, but there’s plenty to do – we’d recommend at least a day or two in Brantome (especially market day, Friday), a trip to nearby St Jean de Cole and a Chateaux or two (we thought Chateaux Hautefort was the best out of the ones we visited). We will certainly be returning to other regions of France and will look for somewhere to stay just like the Domaine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in Le Tulipier gite for 12 days, had a lovely time, gite good, although I have one or two gripes
, firstly water pressure terrible, taps ran very slow very poor in shower and took about 5mins for water to get hot, also although did not want to watch TV all day but was looking forward to watching rugby world cup as it was on early in the morning, but no ones TV worked even the one in the restaurant,a mystery really as there were 2 great big satellite dishes. we asked about it and was just told there was a problem it was never mended or an explanation given, funny because they all worked in town. possibly thought that as it was the end of the season the digital channels had been unsubscribed to although you could not get terrestrial either
. and a bit disappointed with WI Fi as you had to go into reception which was not open Monday or Tuesday and then the rest of the week from 3pm,or had to sit outside bar and if you had not got a good battery you would have been sunk.
but on a positive note, gite nicely decorated and bed comfy, well equipped, and lovely views although not very private.
good for young families and couples alike, restaurant really cosy and food excellent.
bran tome and surrounding areas gorgeous, grounds of gite nice, plenty for children, pool nice but water freezing did not go in.
as every one has said Helen so lovely and friendly made you feel really at home, she is a great asset.
would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

As we were rather late in getting our accommodation booked, we ended up booking one week in the hotel and one week in the self-catering villa.
The hotel room was dark and dank with mold growing the the shower cubicle.
We were informed of the BBQ held one night (which resulted in the restaurant being closed so you have no other option) and the food was appalling! We also ate in the restaurant one night but the food was average at best for the price paid.
The pool is a good size and has a secure gate making it safe for our young children but the water was absolutely freezing!
The villa was wonderful! Spacious, airy and clean with a lovely balcony where we were able to eat alfresco croissants for breakfast.
The owner was aloof and on nights when she was in the restaurant/bar, she was too busy entertaining her own friends to bother providing any kind of service at all. However, Helen was cheerful, friendly and very helpful.
Domaine de la Roseraie is in a good location for day trips in the Dordogne and I would recommend the villa but avoid the hotel!
As a side note, be aware that no restaurants open on a Monday for dinner so plan ahead!

Room Tip: Make sure you book early enough to reserve one of the villas which were lovely but avoid the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brantome hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
9.1 mi away
La Bastide de Chapdeuil - Chambres d'hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine De Brantome Holiday Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine De Brantome Holiday Rentals

Address: Route d'Angouleme, 24310 Brantome, France (Formerly Domaine de la Roseraie)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Brantome
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Brantome
Domaine De La Roseraie Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing