We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic relaxing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Entrance of 'La Vigne'
Ground floor twin bedroom with en-suite shower room
River at Brantome
Dordogne River
Nearby cycle track (La Voie Verte) in Milhac de Nontron
Nearby sunflower field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brantome, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Timmygaff
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing location”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the two bedroom Le Tilleul gite. Jill and Natalie were very welcoming and helpful throughout the stay adding to a very relaxing holiday. The gite is situated in a quiet location with a lovely garden area ideal for children to play and a magnificent well maintained pool. Great walks from the gite and plenty to see in the surrounding villages. We would certainly highly recommend the property and will hopefully stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An ideal location for a tranquil family holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Jill and Nathalie's gites are the perfect getaway for a relaxing family holiday. Fully equiped with all necessary mod cons and situated in a very beautiful and scenic part of the world. The gites are the perfect base to explore the surrounding medieval villages. Nearby are some excellent restaurants and plenty to do if you like tennis, canoeing, walking and riding. Brantome and surrounding villages offer interesting markets, chateaux and prehistoric caves. The onsite pool is heated, clean and large enough to exercise, splash and have fun in! The poolside is the perfect place to sunbathe and read a good book! The grounds are large enough to stroll around or for games of badminton, football and boules! Jill and Nathalie are the perfect hosts, welcoming, warm and helpful. We had a wonderful holiday, a real retreat and are eager to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkyw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday - beautiful location, lovely comfortable accommodation and helpful, considerate hosts.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful family holiday here. The gites and their surroundings are beautiful. Huge well kept garden area for our young kids to play in. Lovely pool area which sits in a nice sun trap. There's a nice patio with good furniture which we used for most meals. There's also a BBQ which can be used by any guests - which we did. Inside the houses are well restored French farmhouses. Beds were nice and comfy (even the kids had long lies). There were British TV channels, and the WiFi worked to good effect. There are a few nice places/towns to explore near by. Brantome is a lovely place. Saint Pardoux (6km closest)and Thiviers are sleepy but nice French towns - Thiviers being the biggest. The supermarket at Saint Pardoux had everything we needed shopping wise. Last but not least the owners Jill and Nat were attentive and considerate but in a way that was never intrusive - we really enjoyed their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great overall space with lots of nice personal touches from the owners
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence...
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, excellent for a relaxed and quiet holiday”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Le Tilleul was more than we expected. It is such a beautiful place and the gites are very spacious, clean and well equipped. Jill and Nathalie and the lovely dogs make you feel welcome and at home. We used the outside BBQ overlooking the valley and it was just superb.
The pool is lovely and clean and the surrounded garden welcomes you for a game of football.
We visited Brantome, a beautful ancient city situated along the river Dronne.
In the area of Le Tilleul are lovely little villages with some beautiful restaurants, the local food is amazing! (La Perla in St. Jean de Cole).
We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicoladon...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation in a beautiful tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely hosts, gorgeous accommodation. Fantastic heated pool with well kept grounds. Location perfect for visiting Brantome and exquisite little villages in the surrounding area.Ideal for families and friends, perfect place to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful spacious accommodation in a lovely setting
Liked least: Fairly remote
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saldurham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect French holiday gites with wonderful pool and gardens.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week here- the gites were beautiful, clean and really well equipped. We relaxed the moment we arrived and found Jill and Natalie to be the perfect hosts- friendly and helpful without being too ever present. The pool was warm and huge and set in the very spacious garden which the children really enjoyed. There was plenty to do in the area- lots of pretty villages and excellent restaurants. We have had many holidays in France but this was our favourite so far and we will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide7699...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind review and your appreciation of ‘Le Tilleul’ it was a pleasure hosting you !! We are glad you were able to make good use of the pool and grateful for your observation that sharing it with other occupants is not problematic due to its size & also that you were able to see the deer from the pool terrace ! We hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing