We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Brantôme is a lovely town but I was disappointed by this hotel. It is located close to the centre and within walking distance of everything. The rooms are well decorated and, like other parts of the building, are well maintained. The en suite facilities in my room were a little cramped but that wasn't a disaster. My real disappointment was the restaurant. Most Logis serve a high standard of food but this was ordinary and not good value for money. The menu options were generally more expensive than other restaurants nearby and seemed less appealing. Breakfast was particularly disappointing as it seemed to be based on toasted bread left over from dinner the night. That feels like a crime in France.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your visit.

You have our first price room and you like it that's good.

You not enjoy very much your dinner, you have our first price menu 19 euros, with home made product and for main course an "entrecôte" of limousin. you don't like it so much that it's a pity.

For breakfast we serve hot drink, "toasted campage bread, home made croissant, home made jam, farm yogourt, orange juice, cereals, honey, fructs . you prefer white bread. ok

But it's better for us when there is a mistake if there is a mistake to say us, than write on a web site after... after have'nt say nothing...


We try to do better for you next visit.

regards

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    97
    21
    3
    14
See reviews for
39
133
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with a great restaurant. We had a family room, that was very clean, comfortable and quite charming. The room was split on two levels, with the bathroom, separate toilet and two bunk beds downstairs and another bedroom upstairs. Downstairs there was also a kitchenette that was available on demand for long stays.

The room was very quiet and we really enjoyed the view over the hotel garden. The hotel also has a swimming pool.

The restaurant was lovely and the food and service excellent. We were impressed in particular with the kids menu as very often kids menus consist of burgers and fries. At this restaurant our 5-year old had duck pate as a starter and chicken with cream and sauteed potatoes and carrots and choice of ice cream or cake. He ate everything which doesn't normally happen with the burgers and fries. We were delighted as we think that kids too have a right to eat well.

We enjoyed some lovely foie gras and duck confit and an amazing salad as well as some delightful nougatine ice-cream.

The service and the atmosphere in general was lovely and we would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant.

Room Tip: The family room across the hotel garden will delight you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvadianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Google Translation
Ce fut un plaisir pour nous que de vous faire découvrir ainsi qu'à votre petit garçon quelques une de nos spécialités : encore merci pour votre visite et nous espérons avoir l'occasion de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre jolie ville de Brantôme. Marielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banff, scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The location is excellent, right at one of the main bridges into the old town, about 100 metres from Le Vieux Four pizzeria/restaurant. Many shops and restaurants are within a couple of minutes stroll.There is plenty of free parking adjacent and hotel has its own private car-park.The hotel is extremely easy to find, right on the Route de Thiviers...the hotel's 'annexe' is the first building on that road as it happens.Some online maps place this hotel incorrectly several hundred metres from its correct central point so do not be deterred. One of the main reasons we enjoyed our Brantome break so much was the fact that the town's attractions, walks, food outlets, cake shops etc were right on our doorstep. I don't think there is a more central, or more convenient hotel in town and even for this reason alone, our party would be very happy to book this hotel again. We found the owners to be friendly, courteous and helpful

Our rooms were on the first floor of an adjacent (newly converted ) annexe and were comfortable and spacious.There was some road noise in our room when windows were open but our friends had very little road noise from their courtyard-facing room. Breakfast was standard continental fare with plenty of breads/rolls/croissants, yoghurt, and cereals (for British visitors perhaps?) There is a restaurant on-site, a small outdoor pool, and a hot-tub (In the room it would have been lovely to have had tea/coffee making facilities for a late-night cuppa but as this is not the norm in France this is not a criticism, just an observation.....but we Brits do like that!)

Our visit was in mid-October 2012. We have just returned home. The weather was quite wet, though strangely warm at the same time. We were able to enjoy a delightful, and very French, long weekend despite the rain, made possible by several factors, not least the hotel and its location, and the number of excellent eateries within a few hundred yards of the our hotel base

Mike Baptie, BANFF, Aberdeenshire, Scotland (October 2012)

Room Tip: Ask for room with no or little traffic noise if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybole, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

A very comfortable two night stay in a newly converted, ground floor, courtyard room. Friendly welcome and care from the bilingual staff. We particularly appreciated being able to keep our room key during the day. Good, free, wi-fi. Clear Welcome Notes, in French and English, on how to enjoy a visit. Very good restaurant, serving local specialities - with a twist (we chose the Surprise Menu). Travelling this way can make you lazy. The traditional French breakfast doesn't offer extra coffee (or hot milk). You have to ask!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

For personal reasons we had to return early to England in hotels we had not booked into or previously stayed at. We arrived in Brantome and we were pleased to find such a keenly priced Logis in this very touristy village . We were greeted extremely warmly by the young woman on duty ( I sadly forgot to ask her name )who took great delight in practising her English once she had complmented my partner on his French ! We were initially disappointed to be taken outside of the pretty courtyard down the road briefly into another old building..unattractive from the outside. but the room we were shown was large with a big bed , spotlessly keen shower and separate loo over looking the courtyard garden and the swimming pool. We had our own key to the whole building and our stay was extremely comfortable and peaceful. We had a great meal in the hotel dining room with the same excellent friendly service The hotel is also very well situated for an exploration of the very pretty village and river.
The only disappointment was the breakfast for which we had to ..as normal..pay extra but in the 5 hotels we stayed in that holiday , was the least adequate . If we were to be in the same region again we would definitely stay there again but buy a croissant and coffee locally for breakfast .

Chris ..Stockport

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Many thanks for your visit, we enjoy to welcome you an other time in our house. It will be a pleasure.

We think about improve the breakfast, but we don't want yet to have a buffet with too waste and impersonal.

We serve at table all guest with hot drink, orange juice, toasted "campagne" bread toasted, cereals, farm yogourt, house made croissants and house made jam.


See you next time

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We arrived in the beautiful village of Brantome yesterday for a visit, and fell under it's spell, and decided to stay. Our first choice for accommodation was the ever-reliable Logis system, and after reading the mixed reviews we arrived with some hesitation.
From the minute we walked through the door, we were greeted very warmly by the delightful Marielle, who showed us the room they had available, and we settled in straight away, knowing it was going to be another Logis success - after more than 25 Logis stays of varying lengths wee have yet to find a 'dodgy log is'. One of the advantages of the Logis system is their rating, so you know exactly what you are getting. This one is 2 chimneys and 2 pots out of a possible 3, alhtough having such a wonderful meal last night we think it is much closer to 2.5 pots.
We had a fantastic family room, which could sleep 5 if need be on the trundle bed, and also had a kitchenette for longer stays. The room was not full of character, but was spotlessly clean, with separate bathroom and toilet, and very comfortable.
One of the strengths of the stay was the warmth, friendliness and professionalism of fthe hosts Marielle and Gilles.. Gilles even stopped us on his way past to check we had settled in ok, and made sure there was nothing else we needed.
We would definately stay here again if we were coming to Brantome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellagiotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Many thanks for your visit.

It will a pleasure to welcome you again in your house.

We and all Logis hotels are here to welcome you.

Regards

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

It is very hard to write a review immediately after such a negative recent review....I can only say that we have just stayed for 6 nights (as we did last year) and found the experience better than last year.
There are some recently refurbished rooms available in a separate building just across the courtyard which are perfect if you are staying for more than one night....the ones we had came with a kitchenette..... we found the sink/worktop/fridge very useful. The rooms cost more than a standard room but the difference seems worth it.
Brantome itself is very relaxing.......there is a boat trip (7Euros) which lasts about 45/50 minutes which is very enjoyable. Two local villages - Bourdeilles and St Jean de Cole are very attractive, within 15 km, and worth a visit.
With regard to the restaurant....I think the number 1 rating is well deserved. If I can use a sporting analogy....the league table never lies! We have eaten at five restaurants in Brantome. The Perigord Vert is not the cheapest or quickest....but the quality was IMHO better than any of the others.....They have a good value menu for 19 Euro in addition to the one for 25 Euro plus other options. On a totally subjective point...I have worked for a French company for 28 years and have eaten many meals with colleagues from France.....it was clear when they were unhappy with a meal..and I saw no unhappiness during our meals at the Perigord Vert...it is a French restaurant in a French town...perhaps that needs understanding.
Finally...in terms of personal characteristics...I am not sure this has any relevance....rudeness is one thing...and should be commented on...how you look and your expressions/mannerisms are down to interpretation......after all...how many of us will be in the next Christian Dior advert...I am always being told I have a face for radio!.

Great experience...will go again next year.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra the recently refurbished rooms in the separate building are worth the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Many thanks..

It' a pity that we can't give reviews for guest, you must have the best good one.

See you next year...

And good game.

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Perigord Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Perigord Vert

Property: Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
Address: Route de Thiviers | 7 Av André Maurois, 24310 Brantome, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie du Perigord Vert 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie du Perigord Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing