We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!”
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley
Relaxing in the Jacuzzi over looking the green Dordogne countryside The splendid Mulberry Tree Villa, waiting for your arrival
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley
Relaxing in the Jacuzzi over looking the green Dordogne countryside
The splendid Mulberry Tree Villa, waiting for your arrival
Modern Oak Kitchen with granite counter top and the best appliances and utensils, including spices
Gorgeous formal dining area with wood burning stove, lovely stone walls, and beautiful tile floors
Spacious Main Living Room with beautiful wood floors and wood beam ceiling with TV & DVD Player
Updated 2015, Cozy Family room with flat screen TV, DVD player, and gas burning stove
Updated 2015, The villa even has a second Dining Room, that is a perfect place to play board games
Our spacious master bedroom with California King size bed with an en suite bath / separate shower
Lovely second bedroom with a gorgeous wrought iron Queen bed & ensuite bathroom
Pottery Barn style third bedroom with a beautiful Queen size bed & lovely view
Wonderful 4th bedroom with a King size bed or that can be converted into 2 twins
Downstairs Queen bedroom, light and bright with beautiful painted wood floors
Spend a relaxing day by the pool enjoying our wonderful Dordogne sunshine
Gorgeous back yard with huge patio for alfesco dining, entertaining and relaxing
Our fantastic gym for those who really want to work out, and then relax in the sauna
Wonderful views in the back yard of our lovely fish pond and garden
We have 5 acres for you to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Dordogne
Have a lazy day in our garden swing, and read a book
Your magical entrance into our lovely garden that is your home away from home
Our lovely small hamlet, Carmensac at sunset
The glorious & mighty Beynac Castle as your canoeing down the Dordogne, AMAZING
The exquisite Gardens of Marqueyssac, just 15 minutes from the villa
The grand and rugged Château de Castelnaud just 15 minutes away from your door
Here we are canoeing the magical Dordogne River
The Dordogne River with the beautiful village La Roque Gageac in the back ground
Fantastic shopping on market day in Sarlat
Fresh vegetables from our garden
Wonderful places to walk and cycle just our your door
Our lively Scarecrow Festival in Meyrals in July
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
212Jane
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

To say at Mulberry Tree Villa was a pleasure from start to finish.
Linda and George are perfect hosts, making you feel welcome and special. The villa is exceptional both in cleanliness and comfort. It is a treat to stay in such an old building.
The chickens are an added bonus, feeding them daily was enjoyed by all.
I have to mention the swimming pool and the hot tub both 10 out of 10 for relaxing whilst surrounded by beautiful countryside.
We did use the services of the very professional and kind chef, Dimitri, as recommended by Linda and previous reviews. We are all strict Vegetarians and the menu he served was so thoughtful and extremely tasty. It is a very special treat that I wouldn’t hesitate to book again and again.
We usually spend our holidays touring the area and really don’t spend much time at the rental. However, this holiday we couldn’t get enough of the place and spent our days mostly relaxing at ‘home’.

Thank you and see you again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation!”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six, four adults, and two children, had a wonderful time staying at Les Hirondelles in early June. Everyone from the six-year-old to my 72-year-old mother loved the house, the grounds, Roosevelt the dog, the chickens, and Linda and George! The house was perfectly clean, beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. We all had our space, and there was a nice bed and bathroom on the ground floor that was easily accessible for my mother, who has trouble climbing stairs. She is also the family early bird and was able to get coffee and enjoy sitting outside in the beautiful gardens while the rest of the family slept in. We had a wonderful time touring local chateaux, taking a canoe trip down the river, visiting prehistoric caves, and other attractions; Linda helped us plan our days and had brochures, maps, and other materials handy, as well as her own invaluable advice on where to park and good places to eat while we were out and about. Dmitri the chef cooked for us twice, and that was a highlight of our trip. We are from New Orleans and have high standards for food, and we all thought that Dmitri could easily be a chef at any of our favorite restaurants. I can't say enough good things about this property and the owners; I don't know how you could have a bad vacation at this wonderful property. Even my six-year-old had a wonderful trip, though he said that meeting Roosevelt the dog and helping feed the chickens was his favorite part of the vacation! I rent houses/apartments for all of our family trips, and Les Hirondelles was by far the best experience we've ever had! You do need a car to enjoy all that the area has to offer, and be sure to bring a swimsuit so you can enjoy the beautiful pool and spa. We plan to return as soon as we can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoamall...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect villa in the heart of the peaceful French countryside”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Once again we have returned to beautiful Mulberry villa of “Les Hirondelles” – our seventh visit! All the listings in the specification are correct and the property exceeded expectations due to improvements made each year. The property is spotlessly clean and in immaculate condition on arrival. The owners, George and Linda, are readily available on site for advice and suggestions about visits and places of interest, without being intrusive. Any problems were quickly dealt with and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to friends and family (apart from wanting to keep this gem to ourselves!). The villa is set in the most lovely countryside and peaceful surroundings, perfect for anyone wishing tranquility and absence of crowds. However there is easy access to many local market towns, castles, gardens and places of interest, including sites of prehistoric human habitation at Les Eyzies and Lascaux (a world heritage site). A highlight for us this year was the music festival at Sarlat on midsummer’s evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinharm...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic location in a beautiful part of the Dordogne. Very well equipped house and garden with every amenity you could want. This is our third stay, we love it.
Linda and George are the perfect hosts, their aim is to make your stay as enjoyable as they can.
There is so much to do here, whether it be visiting one of the many pretty villages, canoeing down the Dordoge, climbing along the Via Ferrata or walking in the local woods there is something for everyone. The local Boulangerie and nearby supermarkets provide for your every need. Dimitri can be easily arranged to come in and cook for you, what a wonderful experience that is. There are also good local restaurants.
A wonderful family holiday looked after by Linda, George, the girls (their hens) and Roosevelt (their dog) . You won't be disappointed

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baynsey1
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mulberry Tree Villa - fairy tale picture paradise”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week over Easter 2017 with our two girls aged five and eight. We had the loveliest week in this beautiful charming villa.

We took the Eurotunnel and stayed overnight in Orleans on the drive down which was a great location for a stop off and nice to break up the drive too.

Linda and George are really amazing and look after everything so well. They really put their heart and soul into making everything perfect to ensure the best holiday possible. They were so welcoming and I've never come across such wonderful and accommodating hosts.

The local area is just picture perfect like something out of a fairytale. So much to see and do and we did as much as we could but didn't want to leave and wished we had stayed for 2 weeks.

The villa is full of everything you could possibly need from plush robes (even for the little ones), bath towels, toiletries, hairdryers and the kitchen is fully stocked with all mod cons. I don't think there is anything that was missing. I know Linda and George have worked hard to provide anything that is desired so you can relax knowing it's all there.

The house is full of rustic charm and such a perfect holiday place. We loved the house and enjoyed every evening here having bbq's on the terrace or playing games and watching movies from the great range provided. The beds are amazing and we have never before slept on such a comfortable mattress in the biggest bed ever. My king sized bed seemed very small in comparison when I returned home! Plenty of storage everywhere too. Immaculately clean.The gardens are beautiful with so many colourful flowers and so well kept.

The highlight of the day for our girls was feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs with Linda. She always took the time to do this with them and it's a really special memory for them. Nothing was any trouble at all. Thank you Linda. We enjoyed eating freshly laid eggs for breakfast and now love having dippy eggs every morning at home!

The swimming pool is huge and heated to a lovely temperature. We loved the pool and the hot tub was a real treat with the wonderful views of the countryside. Couldn't ask for better.

Linda arranged for us to have Dimitri the French chef come cook for us one evening. What a treat! Food was amazing and pudding to die for. Chocolate surprise was heaven. I also tried white asparagus which was in season in France and that was delicious. Dimitri brought along some specially chosen wines to pair with the food which was just perfect. Highly recommend this special evening as you can sit back and relax and have a luxury meal made for you and tailored to what you like. We will be booking this again when we return next year.

Highlights of the area for us were canoeing down the Dordogne river on a beautiful sunny day. Took about three hours or so with a stop off for a drink along the way and scenery is stunning. Girls loved it too and it was so peaceful.

We visited Marquesac, beautiful gardens with truly amazing views over the Dordogne. Stopped for lunch there which was lovely. Well worth a visit.

Also went to Chateau de Castelnaud. Wow! An amazing medieval fortress steeped in history. Again the views were stunning and it's so impressive. Loved the visit.

Lots of little villages around to visit including Beynac and La Roque-Gageac. You musn't miss these as they are beautiful and fairytale like, so much history.

We visited the local outdoor market which we really enjoyed. Picked up some delicious meats for the bbq, cheeses, fruits, vegetables etc. Delicious.

The area around the villa is so picturesque and quiet. We took our bikes and went on a few rides with the girls, it was well worth bringing bikes as perfect cycling.

I could go on and on about it but trust me you couldn't be in better hands with this place and such wonderful hosts. We couldn't have asked for more and our expectations were exceeded completely. We loved it so much we have rebooked this gem of a place for next year. We can't wait to return and bring some other family members to enjoy the perfect paradise.

Thank you so much Linda and George. See you next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craigsmit...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

WOW! Pretty much sums up this property. We've just returned from a weeks family holiday, 12 of us, ranging in ages 11 to 75. We had both properties the main house and the cottage, which was just across the adjoining courtyard. The inside of both properties is absolutely stunning and very comfortable, beautifully decorated, with lovely bathrooms and great. If comfortable beds. The kitchens were really well equipped, there is nothing missing you might need at all. You are proved with all your towels bathroom ones, face clothes and towels for around the pool, which you are allowed to take out with you if you are going somewhere you might need them. All guests are also provided with a lovely white bathrobe for their stay. You get a welcome pack on arrival which includes eggs and wine. The grounds are simply stunning, beautiful gardens, chickens who lay fresh eggs, ponds, swinging chairs and lots of different seating areas all with their own unique view. The courtyard is an absolute highlight, so quiet and calm. Their is a beautiful tree in the middle with feeders and birdbaths for the swallows that live there to use. It's lovely to sit watching them flying in and out of their nests in the barn at the side of the courtyard. The pool is a large, heated salt water pool, it's kept in immaculate condition, the temperature is perfect and the water so clean and clear. There are lots of sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool, making it very comfortable. Then the jacuzzi, there is a shower at the side of it for your comfort, it's a large jacuzzi and as with the pool it is kept immaculate. The views of the countryside as you sit relaxing in the bubbles are amazing. The villa is very private, surrounded by countryside views, nothing overlooks the property. We did venture out, we visited a chateau and went canoeing on the Dordogne river which was great fun, but the draw to get back to the villa speaks for itself. There are lots of lovely places to visit not more than 20 mins drive away. We wanted to go and explore, but leaving the beautiful villa was hard, you could easily just stay and relax here. Supermarkets are a very short drive from the villa. The owners Linda and George couldn't of been more helpful, they will help you plan visits out to suit your needs. They really couldn't of been more lovely, you having the perfect holiday is paramount to them and they are always checking if there's anything they can do to make you more comfortable. Linda even took a trip to a supermarket for us to get some Guinness for my Dad as we couldn't find it in the supermarket. There was nothing they wouldn't do for you. We will DEFINITELY be going back. The only downside to our holiday was a week wasn't long enough, we could easily have stayed forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hutlersN1...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3rd trip in a year”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our 3rd trip to the cottage in 1 year. We simply can't get enough of the region, the hospitality, and the house. We have added new destinations each time, including a wine tour through Bergerac most recently, but it seems there are endless possibilities in the area. The kids loved gathering eggs from the hens (aka "the girls"), exploring castles, and playing in the yard. And we all loved the relaxed nature of the vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing