We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home From Home”
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley Relax in our fabulous Jacuzzi over looking the beautiful Dordogne countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley
Relax in our fabulous Jacuzzi over looking the beautiful Dordogne countryside
Bright and airy kitchen with a wonderful sky light and beautiful painted floors
Cozy living room area with wood burning stove, English TV, DVD and Music Player
Newly Updated for 2016 our gorgeous and cozy living room and dining room area
A beautiful and large master suite with lots of space so you can spoil yourself!!!
We have 5 acres of beautiful gardens for you to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Dordogne
Have a lazy day in our garden swing, and read a book
Wonderful views in the back yard of our lovely fish pond and garden
Our lovely hamlet, Carmensac at sunset
Night skies over Les Hirondelles and the Butterfly Cottage
The glorious Beynac Castle as we are canoeing down the Dordogne River
Here we are canoeing the magical and grand caves on the Vezere River
The exquisite Gardens of Marqueyssac, just 15 minutes from the cottage
Summer time in the Dordogne!!!!
Ask me about this one, what a special treat, rock climbing at the gardens with a view
Fantastic shopping in Sarlat on market day
Carmensac is the perfect spot to walk, hike, and cycle just out our gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cricketma...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week at Butterfly Cottage after spotting it on tthe internet. Its reviews were so good that we doubted them...BUT HOW WRONG WE WERE!
Linda and George would make you feel welcome anywhere, but put them in a paradise like Perigord and you have the ingredients for a holiday of a lifetime!
We loved each day here! There was always somewhere interesting, and local, to visit, and there was always one of Linda's hand drawn maps to guide us!
When the day was over, Butterfly Cottage was always warm and welcoming. Comfy armchairs, BBC TV, and a wide range of videos.....then, to cap it all...the widest, comfiest mattress in the South West of France!
Linda and George....Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunflower...
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kind hosts”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The best part of our stay at the Butterfly Cottage was our interaction with the people. Linda was an amazing native English-speaking concierge/hostess. She contacted us 6 months ahead of our stay to give us information about how to purchase Font de Gaume tickets that we needed to purchase in early January. We would not have had that fascinating experience without her "insider" help. During our stay, she accurately gauged our interests and gave us tips of when and how to go to places in the Dordogne area that provided us with a memorable week of varied and remarkable experiences.
On our morning of departure, we enjoyed an intriguing conversation with personable George about French culture and their new life in France.
Dimitri, the French chef, prepared an exquisite dinner for us. We thoroughly enjoyed watching him cook and felt like royalty when he served us our private, romantic dinner.
We will long remember the kindness of our hosts in the Dordogne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie P
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, restful, beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The Butterfly Cottage hosts, George and Linda, have set a very high bar for the French “gite” experience! In addition to an impeccably kept property, coupled with every conceivable amenity, they are the most gracious and hospitable people my husband and I have encountered in our many years of travel. Not one’s to make repeat trips very often, staying at The Butterfly Cottage has changed our minds – we will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancheste...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts, perfect holiday in the beautiful Dordogne.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We chose the Butterfly Cottage for a relaxing break after a busy year getting married and moving house. We couldn't have made a better choice. Linda and George's (and Roosevelt's!) hospitality was second to none - they were integral to ensuring our stay was as enjoyable as possible. As we're keen bikers, the weather during the week was perfect - sunny and around 24 degrees and we managed to clock up over 160km during the course of our holiday. The bike rides themselves were fantastic thanks to George who plotted the routes using his local knowledge of the area. We can particularly recommend the ride which took us past a number of beautiful chateaus. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect for unwinding after a long day on the bikes - and the heated pool is a real luxury in mid September! Another highlight of the week was Dmitri, the local chef who came to cook for us one evening. We both agree that it was the best meal we've ever had (and that's including Michelin starred restaurants!) - my soufflé and scallop starter was delicious, and the apple tart dessert simply divine! Dmitri is a must for anyone staying at the Butterfly Cottage - you won't regret it! We can't wait to return in the near future. Sophie & Doug

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scmme2sai...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home in stunning scenic location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The beautifully-decorated 'Butterfly Cottage' had everything you could want in a home - an extremely well-equipped kitchen, super comfortable bed, washer, dryer and ironing facilities, large living area with English TV channels and DVDs but most importantly the hosts went out of their way to help you have a perfect holiday. Linda and George provided great travel advice for the local area as well as giving us fresh eggs from their lovely chickens. The location is in beautiful countryside with easy access to many of the best châteaux and towns with superb views of the Dordogne river and valley. We visited many ancient troglodyte cave areas in this stunning part of France. A definite highlight was having a private chef Dimitri cook an absolutely superb 3-course meal in our cottage. Two days later we went on a wine tour of the Bergerac area with him which was also a highlight and well worth doing. Linda and George can arrange all of this easily. There is a local market as well, which was great fun for stocking up on supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmostel1
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage in the Dordogne Valley”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Butterfly Cottage to celebrate our 35th anniversary. I can't say enough positive things about the property, location, and hosts. The cottage is beautiful with a wonderful courtyard - and comes with fresh figs and eggs from the owners chickens. The location is perfect for a Dordogne vacation, we visited multiple castles, prehistoric caves, and canoed the Dordogne all within minutes of the cottage. What makes the cottage special is the hosts - Linda and George who offered excellent tourist advice and made our stay very comfortable. They also set us up with a real French chef right at the cottage who prepared a fantastic meal for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markgarla...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Butterfly Cottage for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have hoped for a better time! The cottage itself was gorgeous, and was stocked with everything we could have wanted after our journey there - everything from wine in the fridge to toiletries in the shower!
Linda (one of the owners) could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble! She recommended places for us to go, and restaurants we could visit, made bookings for us, and even offered to lend us aloe-vera when we got burnt! She definitely helped make it the best honeymoon we could have wanted, I don't think we'd have even found some of the places she recommended without her telling us about them.
We particularly enjoyed the swallows flying around, especially when they would dive bomb the swimming pool. Fresh eggs from the chickens whenever we asked, and we loved seeing their dog Roosevelt around the place - fluffiest dog we've ever seen and so friendly.
We also booked Dimitri for a night on Linda's recommendation - we were a little nervous at the idea of a private chef but Dimitri was lovely, and the food was the best either of us has ever eaten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing