We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Sarlat.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison du Moulin a Vent
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Sarlat.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. It is beautifully situated overlooking the old centre of Sarlat and is only a 10 minute walk away from it down the steep path. There is free parking for the car which in Sarlat is very valuable.
The rooms are wonderful as is the whole place. no expense has been spared in making this a very comfortable place to stay. I used the sauna and Jacuzzi which were very good. The pool looked very inviting but I did not use. other guests did whilst we were there and said it was good.
We found the breakfasts fine but without the range and quantity of some hotels/B&B's. If it possible to level any criticism of this exceptional place then it is for the breakfasts.
This is not a cheap place to stay at 150 euros per night for a twin room but this price includes everything and because of this it compares well with the hotels in Sarlat where so much has to be paid for on top of the room price. This is the best place to stay in Sarlat and although expensive provides good value for money. We will stay here again and would recommend without hesitation. Fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for a week at this lovely B&B while visiting the Dordogne area. As previous reviewers have mentioned, no expense has been spared in renovations/decoration. The rooms and baths are very large. The entire property is very clean, well cared for and elegant.

The location alone was worth the expense for us - private parking lot with an easy walk down the hill to town plus no need to go through Sarlat's traffic to access other villages and sights. The views from their hillside location are super, and Madame was very helpful with setting us up with an impromptu picnic one late afternoon when all we wanted was wine, cheese and bread.

We also did not take advantage of their lovely pool, hot tub or recreation room (with pool table) but I am sure if you did, that would add to your feeling of value for the money.

Breakfast, a topic of conversation for this B&B, was fine for us - fresh breads and croissants from the bakery each morning, yogurt, fresh fruits, a selection of homemade confitures and local honey, beverage of your choice, plus fresh squeezed orange juice.

To sum it up, great base for exploring Sarlat and the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MsSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Received a very friendly welcome and introduction to property. Has Pool, Spa & Sauna each of which unfortunately we did not use (no bathing suits). Bedroom is large and accessed via a lift. Money has not been spared to make this a great B&B. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast could have been bit larger and with variation, but this is a small complaint in the scheme of things. Fantastic home conserves are served - yummy. As with other reviewers this is a top B&B but like everything in Sarlat you have to pay for it. Situation provides easy access to the Old Town and has the benefit of free off street parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Perigord 2009 trip, arriving on a Friday evening and leaving back for Belgium on Sunday morning.

On Friday, we arrived, saw the room and decided we would not be going outside anymore that evening (the weather wasn't very nice and the room was way too comfortable). The bed is insanely good, and you have everything you need (or you can ask for it). Slippers and bath robes were provided.

On Saturday we visited the local market and returned to the house at 3 in the afternoon. Upon entering the hostess asked us if we wanted to use the jacuzzi and upon entering the room we saw that the room wasn't cleaned yet, so we decided to stay in the jacuzzi for a while. An hour later, we exited and found a clean room.

Breakfast is delicious: fresh orange juice, coffee or tea, bread, croissants, pastries, "confitures", fresh fruit,... You can walk into town (steep when you return!) and free parking is provided.

Had the price been lower, it would have been perfect, but 160 euros for the first night and 140 for the second was too much. Apparently we were not the only people who thought so as there were only 3 rooms booked the first night we stayed there, and we were the only guests on the second night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frodo&sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
O Clair de Lune
O Clair de Lune
#23 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chambre D'hotes La Clef Des Songes
Chambre D'hotes La Clef Des Song...
#44 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Casse-Noix
Le Casse-Noix
#15 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Du Breuil
Les Terrasses Du Breuil
#43 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarlat Cote Jardin
Sarlat Cote Jardin
#11 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Moulin a Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Moulin a Vent

Property: La Maison du Moulin a Vent
Address: 22 rue Paul Eluard, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With calm on the heights of Sarlat ,direct acces by feel pedestrian in the Center town and the Medieval City.la Maison du Moulin à vent is pleased to welcome you all along the year.Charming house, confortable and quiet.Sauna (infrared system) – Jacuzzi (4/5 people).Salt-water heated swimming-pool.from april 15 to september 30.Beautiful view on Sarlat.10 x 4,50 m (33 x 15 ft). Deep 1,20 m (0.4ft).Salt traetment.Pool, Loung room.(French pool, English pool, American pool). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing