We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart country hotel with understated charm.”
Review of Hotel Bon Encontre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bon Encontre
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Superb location and views, luxury feel. Fine swimming pool with comfortable sun beds. Spotlessly clean, with attention to detail. Lovely informal atmosphere, but stylish at the same time. Breakfast adequate enough for the price.

Breakfast was let down by the coffee being served in flasks. The taste varied from day to day. Filter coffee served from a 'help yourself' jug on a hot plate would have improved the taste and overall breakfast experience at a place of this calibre. Tea and coffee in the room would have been the icing on the cake.
missbrightonrocker

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool which was pleasant.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbrightonrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bon Encontre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Charming little hotel above the village. Good breakfast ( they even offer omelettes and eggs a but there is no way of knowing it ) nice comfortable bed and very clean and modern with colonial charms. €95 euro's is a good deal

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I'm so pleased that Trip Advisor's reviews led me to book this hotel. It was perfect for our requirements. It was in a quiet residential road on the edge of town, and had its own parking area. Quiet and parking space are rare commodities in Sarlat! The hotel was immaculately maintained, and everyone of the staff was charming, welcoming and helpful. We had a spacious superior room with a modern 4-poster bed, ample hanging/shelf space, and a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was generous and varied. There was plenty of outdoor seating, on the terraces or around the pool, with a choice of east, south and west facing prospects - always some sun or shade, depending on your preference. We really enjoyed the walk to the town centre (10 minutes down, 15 minutes up, as the reception staff rightly described it). Just right for some post-prandial exercise. But if you're not able to cope with that, you'll need to take your car. There are many parking spaces - it's just a matter of finding one free!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loxley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Lovely place, very clean, tidy, really helpful staff, super pool. Less than a kilometre walk to Sarlat, it's a bit of a climb but nothing for anyone who's reasonably mobile. Really pleased and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in Bon Encontre - on our way back to Belgium after staying in spain for 3 weeks.
Overall we would definitely recommend bon encontre :
Our + :
- Situation is excellent, 800m away from the hectic city-center.
- Rooms very nice
- Staff friendly
- Nice pool and big private parking

Our - :
- Car is necessary for elderly people since walking to the city center ( walking down) is ok, but making it back up......
- No airconditioning in rooms - so quit hot with temperatures above 30°

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castorateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a fantastic placel which with three stars very much undervalues a beautiful hotel. WE actually stayed ten nights and used it as a base. One night in such a place is just not enough. The rooms are excellent and have plenty of space. They are clean and light. As for the climb up the hill-who cares-get fit-or drink more wine. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very friendly and helpful. Not what you sometimes get in hotel chains in big cities. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the valley. This was slightly more expensive than some othe rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianfhigginson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A great little hotel positioned on the hill just above Sarlat. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been lovelier - nothing was too much trouble. The rim flow pool was fantastic. We stayed in a family room that actually had 4 proper beds in it - not a double and some pull out beds, as other hotels seem to offer. We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Encontre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Encontre

Address: de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bon Encontre 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the heights of Sarlat, but only a 5 min walk from the medieval city. You will be charmed by Hotel Bon Encontre's Perigordin style and the panoramic view of the old city. We offer you 12 en-suite luxury bedrooms, private parking and an overflowing swimming pool with views of the city. There, you will enjoy calm and serenity in the historical heart of the Perigord noir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bon Encontre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing