We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quet hotel on the edge of town”
Review of Hotel Bon Encontre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bon Encontre
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A quet hotel on the edge of town”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A small hotel - well furnished, very clean, beautiful pool, very quiet. No balcony or terrace.. No lift and when I was leaving nobody could help me carry my heavy case down the stairs. Low staff numbers and there was no staff on the property between 8pm and 7 am. Because it is at the top of a steep hill it could not be described as an easy walk home from town - it would be very unpleasant at night. That said, we had a car so always able to drive to nearby paid parking to explore the beautiful town of Sarlat. We also had breakfast in town as hotel breakfast expensive.

Room Tip: If you have a heavy case ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    67
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
24
144
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford, england
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very pretty hotel on top of the hill just outside the lovely town of Sarlat. The hotel is walkable distance of the town centre but it is a steep walk back! The hotel is nicely decorated and a relaxing base to explore the area, large rooms, the biggest plus however is the excellent swimming pool and terrace which is perfect for relaxing after a day's sightseeing. The hotel is spotlessly clean with nice furniture in the rooms and around the pool. The only negative was the cost of breakfast and bar/pool drinks, which were expensive even by French standards, we chose to go into town for 'petit dejuner' in the town square instead. Sarlat is a beautiful town and a perfect base to explore this wonderful part of France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for a week in August, and were glad we chose this hotel with its lovely pool to relax in at the end of the day. There was a shower and toilet in the corner of the pool area - great to have a hot shower after a dip. It was a shame there was no restaurant, but the breakfast was OK, and we managed to walk into Sarlat for evening meals, although the walk back was not so good, uphill all the way. The staff were very helpful with advice about where to go and how to book. Our room had a terrace with table and chairs and a big wet-room style bathroom. I know most of the rooms were smaller, though, and had no balcony or terrace. The carpark was big too. Sarlat is lovely but at night it must be noisy to stay in the town, much better to be up the hill at the Bon Encontre, away from the noise and bustle. What we loved most was being able to order a drink by the side of the pool and relax.

Room Tip: To get the largest room, ask for the one with a terrace. It also has a wet room, suitable for disab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 933Vivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here in August for a night on our way home driving from Spain. This place is so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms where very comfortable and clean, the staff were very nice and breakfast was good. Our first time to Sarlat, its a lovely town. We would like to return one day but stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is fabulous. It’s a very beautiful, calm, comfortable place where everything works according to plan. The terrace is very comfortable. Everything is very clean. The staff is very friendly and service minded. Good breakfast. Big parking (which is a seldom luxury in this town). The centre of Sarlat is only a 10 minutes’ walk away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grissini_4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Encontre is ON TOP the hill from Sarlat, so DON'T book it if you don't have a car.It is a very long walk.

Pool was absolutely beautiful, quiet location, room was spacious, quiet, and well furnished.

Staff very helpful and very energetic. The young man that checked us in was outstanding and went beyond any expectations to be helpful.

breakfast was nice, and comparatively reasonable. Mini bar, refrig. was very handy since you always want some local wine and cheese to nibble after dinner hours.

easy access to Sarlet, just roll down the hill but you would NOT want to walk up!
good base to tour Dordogne

Room Tip: any room, just remember to bring your bathing suit if you go in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Transplanted_Peachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great, quiet location just 10 minutes walk from the old town. Have a few drinks down there and you won't notice it's uphill all the way back !

Fantastic rooms - spotlessly clean.

Friendly staff.

Nice pool (where us Brits don't have to wear Speedo's !)

Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
#11 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Encontre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Encontre

Property: Hotel Bon Encontre
Address: de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bon Encontre 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the heights of Sarlat, but only a 5 min walk from the medieval city. You will be charmed by Hotel Bon Encontre's Perigordin style and the panoramic view of the old city. We offer you 12 en-suite luxury bedrooms, private parking and an overflowing swimming pool with views of the city. There, you will enjoy calm and serenity in the historical heart of the Perigord noir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bon Encontre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing