We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and pool, friendly owner,quiet ,no group tourists”
Review of Hotel Bon Encontre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bon Encontre
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
tpe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice view and pool, friendly owner,quiet ,no group tourists”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The hotel is actually a villa ,situated on a hill near Sarlat city center, only 12 rooms, but equipped with a nice infinite pool,where you can enjoy the view and the sun. A 10 minutes walk to the city center, but people with large luggages can have problem when climbing up the slope.I suggest people take a taxi for their check-in. Free Wifi. The breakfast is good too.
Generally speaking , there is nothing to complain .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    65
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

NIce hotel in Sarlat. Outside the city center on a hill, with a nice view over Sarlat.
Good breakfast.
Clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSchepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This is a newly built hotel on the edge of town. The rooms are neat and fit for purpose, but this is a B & B - not a hotel - there is no bar and the breakfast was poor (cold, dry croissants with weak coffee). Staff were friendly and it is good value. It is located at the top of a very steep hill - we used a car to go up & down.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willtravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed in this B&B for a couple of nights and we were both very impressed with the room and the whole place. I was most upset that it was too cold to go in the pool but it looked gorgeous and has amazing views! The room was huge with a massive bed (2 singles pushed together) and there was a seperate toilet and shower room which was well thought through. The room was spotless and we had our own small courtyard area with French (of course) windows.
Finally, the breakfast was fantastic. Seemingly endless pastries kept coming out, several types of cereal, lots of fruit... Brilliant!
Only thing which i should warn - its at the top of a steep hill, it is walkable to Sarlat (10 minutes downhill, 15 uphill) however if you aren't particularly fit it might be a tad hard.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is simply beautiful. It is a new hotel but built in an old style. It is set up on hill looking down on Sarlat, so the views are great. It is within walking distance of Sarlat, but too steep a walk for two young children. Fit adults would be fine. We drove our car to the bottom of the hill and parked for free on the street.
We stayed at Bon Encontre for three nights, staying in Room 1 which is on the ground floor. It was very spacious and spotlessly clean. It had a kingsize bed and two single beds. The beds were very comfortable. We had a patio door that lead out on to a terraced area where there was a table and four chairs. The patio door has electric shutters, so the room remains nice and dark (no bright early morning sunshine).
There is a great shower , double sinks and a separate toilet. Also the room has a small mini-bar fridge which we used to keep our provisions and a safe in the wardrobe.
The staff were very helpful and spoke a little English.
Breakfast is served buffet style and is very good. We ate our breakfast each day on the terrace overlooking the fabulous swimming pool. You are able to buy drinks during the day, but no food is available other than breakfast. Not a problem as there are loads of great restaurants in Sarlat.
The swimming pool was a great hit with my two children. The hotel provides towels for the pool. There are plenty of sun loungers with comfy cushions and parasols.
There is a car park suitable for any type of vehicle.

What more can I say? Just wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Encontre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Encontre

Property: Hotel Bon Encontre
Address: de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bon Encontre 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the heights of Sarlat, but only a 5 min walk from the medieval city. You will be charmed by Hotel Bon Encontre's Perigordin style and the panoramic view of the old city. We offer you 12 en-suite luxury bedrooms, private parking and an overflowing swimming pool with views of the city. There, you will enjoy calm and serenity in the historical heart of the Perigord noir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bon Encontre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing