We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the Beaten Track!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas De Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas De Castel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Even using our GPS, this hotel was a little tricky to find, so make sure you arive in daylight. On arrival we were greeted by a multi-lingual woman who, I suspect, was our hostess. She was very helpful and made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious - unlike so many others in France - though with no fridge nor tea/coffee facilties; again, this is typical of French hotels. The grounds were attractive and the swimming pool was clean (and cold!) Being semi-rural, it was also very quiet which allowed the windows to be open slightly; this was handy as it had been a hot day and despite looking, we couldn't find any air-conditioning in our room!
WiFi was free, though not available in rooms - you had to be in a public area. Parking was also free and a buffet breakfast was available at 8.5 Euros as an optional extra. Bar prices (at least for a glass of beer and white wine) were reasonable. However, despite the foregoing, and after booking via the internet, we felt that the rate we paid for our room (78 Euros inc. taxes) may have been a bit high, given that it was October and past the peak season.

Room Tip: Arrive in daylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    77
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
164
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is situated 10min drive from the centre of Sarlat. While this might put off some, others will love the rural setting and very quiet evenings here.

The place is lovely, with a nice garden in which to enjoy a bottle of the local produce, while watching the sunset.

The host is welcomming and very service minded, ensuring that the stay will be as pleasant as possible.

A definite place which we will return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scjepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hostess is friendly and helpfull, the rooms are comfortable and very clean but most of all the garden, the pool and the atmosphere is amazing. And the nearby town, Sarlat, is charming. This would without doubt be my first choice in the Sarlat area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MADK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Nice little hotel outside of Sarlat -- you must have a car. We were only able to have a "comfort" room, so it was the smallest they had, and it was indeed small. However, it was very clean, lots of good hot water, and it was comfortable. You are able to make liberal use of common areas, a salon, pool., terrace so it overcame the size issues. I had room No 8 which looks out to the parking lot (ground floor), and was at the end of the hall nearest to the reception, so it suffered from noise from those 2 sources. My ratings would be much much higher had we had a diofferent room that avoided those 2 problems.

Very nice people - they were more than happy to lend us place settings for our picnic of the hotel grounds. The pool is good, but no pool towels which is a downside..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susans_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our rooms. They were each individually decorated, very clean and pleasant. We were traveling by car so the location was convenient with its own parking, and just a few minutes drive into Sarlat. The grounds and pool were very nice, with flowers, lawn and big trees-- great for the hot afternoon of our arrival. Although there was not air conditioning in our room, it had stayed cool during the day and a slightly opened window was sufficient for comfortable sleeping. It was a very peaceful and charming place.

The owner was very friendly and helpful, and gave some suggestions (with a map) for dinner, and later pointed out the locations of 2 laundromats when asked. Breakfast was very nice in the pleasant breakfast area. It would be nice to have coffee/tea facilities in the room or available in the evening, but I would return to the Le Mas de Castel without hesitation and heartily recommend it. Had we known before we came how nice it was and how interesting the area was, we'd have planned to stay here longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas De Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas De Castel

Property: Le Mas De Castel
Address: Lieu Dit le Sudalissant, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas De Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Mas De Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing