We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Le Mas De Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas De Castel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent 7 nights at this lovely hotel, which is located about 2 Km from Sarlat.
The land lady is very nice and helpful.
The room was comfortable, and breakfast was good.
I recommend this hotel as a base for star traveling in the Dordogne area
If you come during summer there is a swimming pool.
Free parking and free Wi-Fi is awailable.
Naftali

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuli29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    86
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

There are many good things about this hotel. It is situated in a pleasant rural setting just outside Sarlat. It was converted from an old farmhouse and still retains many of the original and distinctive features. The surrounding gardens are attractive, and the hotel has a well appointed swimming pool, which is welcome in the hot weather. The breakfasts are plentiful and varied. Most importantly, the couple who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, and go out of their way to be helpful.

The only drawback s that the bedroom, though clean, was too small, and sparsely decorated. There was too little storage space, and only one plug for charging cameras, etc. if these points were to be put right, the hotel would be almost perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden may be bigger and better equipped than our room, which faced the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights - very happy. Pay the extra 10 euros for a room opening onto the garden and pool if available.
Pluses:
* Quiet rural location and comfortable beds make for a good night's sleep
* Plenty of parking in the forecourt
* High speed, log on and forget wifi for multiple devices throughout the premises
* Stylish modern decor and comfortable public areas
* Pool just about long enough to knock off a few laps if you are feeling energetic
* Charming multi-lingual (including English) host
* Breakfasts quite acceptable
* Good value at 70 or 80 euros / night (depending on room)
Minuses:
* Hard to find (but worth it)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonnielayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you speak only english, this is a great place to land on your trip through the Dordogne by car. Three kilometers south of Sarlat, the accommodations are fabulous. The rooms are well designed and lovely. The pool is great, and the grounds are beautiful. Sarlat is a great place to visit and spend two to three days exploring the valley. The Saturday market in Sarlat is particularly good, as it takes over the old town. If you bring a bottle of wine back to Le Mas De Castel, don't be afraid to ask for wine glasses; your hosts will be happy to accommodate, and you can enjoy your time on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank translucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bramhall
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This delightful hotel is about 4 miles from Sarlat, luckily the satnav works well, otherwise you wonder where on earth you are going! A spacious welcoming delightful hotel. Super pool with lots of space to relax. Excellent buffet breakfast and large well appointed rooms. After the bustle of the amazing towns around there, this is the perfect end to the day

Room Tip: We chose the larger room. Not sure what the others were like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Even using our GPS, this hotel was a little tricky to find, so make sure you arive in daylight. On arrival we were greeted by a multi-lingual woman who, I suspect, was our hostess. She was very helpful and made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious - unlike so many others in France - though with no fridge nor tea/coffee facilties; again, this is typical of French hotels. The grounds were attractive and the swimming pool was clean (and cold!) Being semi-rural, it was also very quiet which allowed the windows to be open slightly; this was handy as it had been a hot day and despite looking, we couldn't find any air-conditioning in our room!
WiFi was free, though not available in rooms - you had to be in a public area. Parking was also free and a buffet breakfast was available at 8.5 Euros as an optional extra. Bar prices (at least for a glass of beer and white wine) were reasonable. However, despite the foregoing, and after booking via the internet, we felt that the rate we paid for our room (78 Euros inc. taxes) may have been a bit high, given that it was October and past the peak season.

Room Tip: Arrive in daylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is situated 10min drive from the centre of Sarlat. While this might put off some, others will love the rural setting and very quiet evenings here.

The place is lovely, with a nice garden in which to enjoy a bottle of the local produce, while watching the sunset.

The host is welcomming and very service minded, ensuring that the stay will be as pleasant as possible.

A definite place which we will return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scjepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
546 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas De Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas De Castel

Property: Le Mas De Castel
Address: Lieu Dit le Sudalissant, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas De Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Le Mas De Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing