We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!”
Review of Le Mas De Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas De Castel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 for a week making this hotel a base for exploring the Dordogne. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, an example being arranging a days bike hire for us. The hotel is quiet and set in lovely grounds. It has anice sized pool with plenty of sun loungers. Breakfasts were relaxed woth a good choice. We really enjoyed pur stay and strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187MartinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    81
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
170
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This lovely little hotel is about a 5 minute drive outside Sarlat or a 40 minute walk. We stayed for a week and made it our base for exploring the area. During our stay the owners were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is set in very quiet and beautiful grounds that include a good sized pool. There are plenty of sunbeds, tables and chairs. This is a very good, small hotel which we are very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187MartinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel was in a quiet rural area just outside the ancient city of Sarlat (a 10 min. drive) but the room was small and though very clean had no facilities for making tea or coffee and breakfast was 10 euro each. Due to poor weather we could not enjoy the garden or pool and we felt the 75 euro was overpriced for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent 7 nights at this lovely hotel, which is located about 2 Km from Sarlat.
The land lady is very nice and helpful.
The room was comfortable, and breakfast was good.
I recommend this hotel as a base for star traveling in the Dordogne area
If you come during summer there is a swimming pool.
Free parking and free Wi-Fi is awailable.
Naftali

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuli29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

There are many good things about this hotel. It is situated in a pleasant rural setting just outside Sarlat. It was converted from an old farmhouse and still retains many of the original and distinctive features. The surrounding gardens are attractive, and the hotel has a well appointed swimming pool, which is welcome in the hot weather. The breakfasts are plentiful and varied. Most importantly, the couple who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, and go out of their way to be helpful.

The only drawback s that the bedroom, though clean, was too small, and sparsely decorated. There was too little storage space, and only one plug for charging cameras, etc. if these points were to be put right, the hotel would be almost perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden may be bigger and better equipped than our room, which faced the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights - very happy. Pay the extra 10 euros for a room opening onto the garden and pool if available.
Pluses:
* Quiet rural location and comfortable beds make for a good night's sleep
* Plenty of parking in the forecourt
* High speed, log on and forget wifi for multiple devices throughout the premises
* Stylish modern decor and comfortable public areas
* Pool just about long enough to knock off a few laps if you are feeling energetic
* Charming multi-lingual (including English) host
* Breakfasts quite acceptable
* Good value at 70 or 80 euros / night (depending on room)
Minuses:
* Hard to find (but worth it)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonnielayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you speak only english, this is a great place to land on your trip through the Dordogne by car. Three kilometers south of Sarlat, the accommodations are fabulous. The rooms are well designed and lovely. The pool is great, and the grounds are beautiful. Sarlat is a great place to visit and spend two to three days exploring the valley. The Saturday market in Sarlat is particularly good, as it takes over the old town. If you bring a bottle of wine back to Le Mas De Castel, don't be afraid to ask for wine glasses; your hosts will be happy to accommodate, and you can enjoy your time on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank translucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas De Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas De Castel

Property: Le Mas De Castel
Address: Lieu Dit le Sudalissant, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas De Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas De Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing