We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 minutes from Sarlat”
Review of Le Mas De Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas De Castel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“10 minutes from Sarlat”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

At the last minute my husband and I booked into this hotel. It was a little difficult to find and the road was being torn up for installing probably sewage. The hotel looked nice from the parking lot, nice lobby but the rooms were worn. The bathroom was supplied with one small soap and a couple of bags for hair/shower wash - the kind that once it's opened runs all over the place. We usually take backup soap and shampoo. The weather was unseasonably warm and there was no air conditioning. Now for the best news! The breakfast buffet was very nice! There were hard boiled eggs, lots of fruit, cereal and wonderful bread. The coffee was very good, too. We had gone out for dinner and returned in the dark. We were deep enough in the country that it was pitch black, signs were dark - not something we repeated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    81
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
170
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MILANO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is plenty of charme and located in a excellent position in order to visit the beautifull Sarlat and the Perigord noir.The rooms are simple but well-run.Everything is tidy and the decorations are plenty of warm. There are a cosy garden and a really fine swimming pool.The owner and the assistents of the staff are very helpful and kind. We had got a comfortable room on the ground floor at 75 euro but there are also larger rooms at 90 euro by the garden.We had got some problems with Wifi because the walls of the hotel are really thick, on the other hand this fact preserves the rooms from high temperature.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanoRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

€100 a night for a 4 person room (1 queen and 1 king size bed). Though a bit spartan and outworn, it was clean, and at the price a decent room. No A/C, thus it can be some tough nights during the sommer.

The WiFi was very slow and not available at all places, but for free and easy to use (no setup etc.).

The pool area was clean and quiet, but did not appear to be intended for longer use, as there were no tables or chairs, and only very few parasols.

It was 4-5 minutes drive from center of Sarlat - and as there are no minibar in the rooms, and as the hotel "bar" closed around 20:00 (maybe 21:00), there are no way to get hold of water or anything else until the day after.

The breakfast was fine - while not impressing.

The employees was very kind and service minded.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vogn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A country hotel a few minutes drive out of Sarlat. Its a slight nuisance to have to drive into town and find parking/ negotiate the one way system, but the owner is good at recommending restaurants. It would be good if there was somewhere within walking distance.

The rooms are simply furnished (no English tv channels!), and whilst the garden rooms are nice, you are very much on view to other guests. The pool is unheated but a good size - just a shame the weather wasn't good enough to make the most of the pool and garden.

Whilst there were some families staying on one night we were there, I don't think its the best location for a family, the guests are mostly older couples or singles enjoying the quiet countryside location.

As everyone says, the owner is a fantastic host, on hand at breakfast to chat and gets to know all her guests.

Room Tip: As others have said its worth paying for a larger garden room, IF the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

the hotel is like a jewel. every corner has the touch of the owner lady. she was very nice and helpfull. situated a little bit out of Sarlat, but as we had a car, it did not bother us. the parking lot was free and at the hotel's entrance. we got a room facing the beautiful large garden. the room was very-very small, but I think that this was the worst room as we came in late at night and all rooms were already full. breakfast was served in an elegant small dinning room. it was rainy and cold so we could not enjoy breakfast in the garden. in spite of the petit room I recomand the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chana y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Le Mas De Castel is a lovely hotel just outside Sarlat. The lady of the house, Sandrine, is a very charming lady who greets everyone with a lovely smile. We booked a room that opened out onto the gardens with a little patio where we could have a picnic in the evening with a glass of wine (or two). The gardens are very pretty and there is a good swimming pool which unfortunately we could not use because of the weather. Breakfasts were very good with lots of choices of bread, croissants, ham, cheeses and eggs plus a lovely cup of French coffee. We did a some trouble at first trying to find the Hotel because it is in a very rural part of Sarlat but once there it is easy to find again. There are some lovely restaurants in Sarlat well worth a visit, also a visit to Beynac and La Roche Gageac is a must.

We will most certainly return next year and just hope that the weather is better.

Room Tip: Book a superior room opening onto the garden with your own little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The owner was more than happy to answer all our questions with kindness. The hotel is located just 5 minutes out of Sarlat. We took a room facing the hotel parking area which was still quite, functional but comfortable. The breakfast was generous and tasty as you would expect from fresh local bread and croissant. The owner takes care of the breakfast herself and always has the time to provide tips for the next wonderful day. I highly recommend this place for those who are looking for a quite, out of the city and warm place to rest you head after touring the wonderful area.

Room Tip: rooms with the garden view are probably worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nueli_goes_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas De Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas De Castel

Property: Le Mas De Castel
Address: Lieu Dit le Sudalissant, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas De Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas De Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing