We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but trying too hard?”
Review of Le Petit Manoir - CLOSED

Le Petit Manoir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$43
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had an enjoyable meal here, ate the traditional cuisine of the area. It was nice but just not amazing. Felt a little like they were trying a bit too hard really. The spicy squish of sauce on the side of the traditional duck dish being an example - it just didn't fit. It's not cheap either.

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Most of the restaurants in Sarlat serve the same food, duck in every form. Most of the food we had was OK but nothing special. Since two in our party were vegetarian we had a hard time finding things to eat that did not have duck in them. The vegetarian option in most of the restaurants was an omelette of some sort with a very bland salad of iceberg lettuce with a couple of tomatoes. We went to the Petit Manoir as we heard there was at least a better vegetarian option. The food was delicious and the vegetarian option was really good and varied. The restaurant is pricey, the maitre d' was arrogant, the service was slow but the setting was lovely.

1  Thank luluthezulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had dinner here twice because my parents were staying in a room there, and it was superb both times. The location is brilliant, the staff were wonderful, and the owner was very friendly. Prices too were very good, considering the standard of food we were enjoying.

The menu was very heavy on the foie gras, which was very good according to my family who ate variations of it both nights - and in both starter and main course, both times! There aren't very many vegetarian dishes, or dishes without foie gras, but the salad I had as a starter both nights was one of the best I'd had; it wasn't your typical lettuce-heavy tossed salad, more like an artistic medley. The five spice duck with herbed pasta and the steak with truffles were delicious, but the best part of the meal had to be the Colonel sorbet - beautiful creamy, zingy lemon sorbet swimming in a pool of vodka. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FuzziBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tchanguette, Propriétaire at Le Petit Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your advice.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of a handful of restaurants in Sarlat doing something other than the standard Sarlat fare. Really nice menus, and some inventive dishes.
Value for money was excellent, and the other great thing about this restaurant is the location - in a lovely quiet courtyard at the top of the Main Street.
Would definitely return, and highly recommended.

Thank GSB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tchanguette, Propriétaire at Le Petit Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre aimable commentaire.
La direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The management of this restaurant really went above and beyond for us. A scheduling snafu (likely the result of my poor accent) resulted in us having a reservation for a night they were in fact closed. The owner left me the most charming follow-up voicemail, explaining that he was sorry they would be closed, but that he had gone ahead and made me a reservation at Les Jardins d'Harmonie, just a block or two away, so that we wouldn't go hungry. He touted Les Jardins d'Harmonie in his voicemail and apologized for the mix-up.

We did eat at Les Jardins d'Harmonie (it was quite lovely, too) and were, thankfully, able to eat at Le Petit Manoir later in the week when they were open. The dining room is very pretty and nicely appointed; there's also a nice terrace if you prefer to eat outside. The owner came over to say hello, apologized again for the mix-up, and served us complimentary cocktails to make up for it -- a wonderful gesture, particularly considering that in the end, he had actually made us two reservations (one at his restaurant, one at another good restaurant) so we came out ahead.

Everything we ate was solidly good. We especially enjoyed the appetizers of foie gras in brioche & the duo of foie gras. We ate in five restaurants in Sarlat and this was the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amandas711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tchanguette, Propriétaire at Le Petit Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre aimable commentaire.
La direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Manoir also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing