We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to old town with free parking”
Review of Ibis Sarlat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sarlat
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Close to old town with free parking”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This Ibis is modern and meets the usual standards. It is located a comfortable 10 minute walk from the old town. It is easy to find on the one way road into the area. The best benefits are the easy access to the hotel and free underground parking. Sarlat traffic can be chaotic at the best of times, so parking can be a real issue.

There is a restaurant opposite the hotel, but the main restaurant area is in the old town.

The hotels rooms are large and staff quite helpful.

Room Tip: Room 16 is large and only a few steps from reception. There is a lift to e car park and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    534
    112
    27
    9
See reviews for
236
543
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of three used the Ibis Sarlat as a base for a two-day stay in the Dordogne area. The parking garage is a tight squeeze. The desk staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were grateful for good air conditioning and comfortable beds. Our room was close to the elevator and stairs, making it a bit noisy, but we were also grateful for that elevator. We enjoyed our walk to the town center for the market which was quite lively. We would stay here again and recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdinhandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was clean, comfortable and quality bedding,(2towels are not enough but the manager said this is the case in the ibis hotels but that we should have asked for more) Extremely well situated in the center,convenient parking.
The young manager Charley welcomed us very friendly and was very helpful.
He recommended us several restaurants to go dining at night.
The choice was very judicious : we enjoyed our diner.
We did not have breakfast since the breakfast room was too busy and too noisy.
The manager nicely inquired if something was wrong when seeing us turn around and not having breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a 6-day stay at the Ibis in Sarlat. It was very conveniently situated for us, half-way between the station and the old town - a ten minute walk in either direction. Our room was clean and larger than other Ibis bedrooms we have stayed in and the bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows which were wonderfully soft and not too high. The bathroom was fine for us with shower gel and the towels were changed daily. Breakfast was what is expected from continental breakfasts - cereals, various yoghurts, fruit, cakes, cheese, ham and a variety of breads, but unfortunately no toasting bread was available, so the toaster seemed to be unused. The coffee was very good. The staff were very pleasant and resolved one problem we had with the bedroom door very quickly. Wifi was available throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Location
Pro - Easy to get in and out of town of Sarlat to go to other towns.
Con - No restaurants around. Not that close to the "center center" of town. Sure, you can walk 15 minutes but after dinner it's really dark in these small towns for walking.

Parking
Pro- Excellent. Garage right under hotel.
Con - Garage door is narrow. You better have a very small car.

Cleanliness - Average.
Size - Average. Pretty good for European standard.
Price - Good.
Breakfast - $10. We didn't partake.
Noise level - Excellent (It is in the country)
Staff - Very helpful.

General Advice - Next time I will chose something closer to the center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sarlat

Property: Ibis Sarlat
Address: 8 rue Gabriel Tarde, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sarlat 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star ibis Sarlat hotel is located in the town center, 656 yards (600 m) on foot from the medieval city and train station. In the heart of the Perigord Noir region, this is a city of art and history, close to tourist attractions such as the Valley of the Dordogne with its castles, Lascaux, Rocamadour and more. The hotel has 69 soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms available with free WIFI and free private parking. Our bar is open 24 hours a day for drinks and snacks in a pleasant setting. With Accor Press by PressReader, You can read more than 3,000 international and local newspapers and magazines on their smartphone, laptop or tablet, in every digital environment (iOS, Android, Blackberry, Windows). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Sarlat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing