We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of Hotel Le Madrigal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Madrigal
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The location was very good, within walking distance of market, good restaurants. Our room was not luxurious but clean and comfortable. Lots of off-street parking. We bought the breakfast and found it a good value - lots of nice options and a pretty little dining room. Free wifi. Friendly proprietor, helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeFrederick_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is an incredible value. The location is superb. The rooms are really nice and clean. The staff is exceptionally helpful. Sarlat is the perfect base for exploring the Dordogne.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mittensam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Two mature couples travelling through France and we were lucky enough to find Le Madrigal. The staff could not do enough for us, including supplying a bucket of ice for our own wine and a kettle to make a cuppa. Off street parking was also a bonus. Very central location, excellent what more could you want!

Room Tip: overlooking the rear garden; very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Initially we thought we might have made a mistake. We were given our room key and not given a chance to ask any questions. After that we barely saw any staff. The stairs were tight and steep...a bit of an obstacle when heavily pregnant.

But then the room was delightful. It was a good size, stylishly furnished and decorated and very clean. This was true for all the hotel. The a/c was great and it was very quiet.

The location was great. Just a short walk from the busy old city. The parking was tight to get into but it was there.

Good value. We'd definitely recommend it. But you will see very little of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

A great find, very central and convenient. The building oozes character and made an ideal alternative to a hotel stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystyt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Quaint and cute rooms, fairly spacious bathroom and bedroom area. Clean. Friendly hotel manager. We loved the convenience of the parking at the rear--just make sure you gun the engine to make it up the incline. Pretty good stay.

The major drawback is the noise. As with all hotels we stayed at in France, the floors, walls and doors are not well insulated. However, the doors to the hotel room always seemed to slam shut while closing unless you were paying very careful attention. In addition, the stairs are very loud and you can pretty much hear everyone getting up in the morning to check out.

In general, I was disappointed with Sarlat itself. It seemed like a lot of the cafes in the main square weren't really serving breakfast (e.g croissants), and just didn't have a real friendly vibe. The much-vaunted Saturday morning market didn't seem much more than your average flea market either. However, Sarlat is a handy base to explore the river, castles and caves.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winespam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We were happy with our two night stay at Le Madrigal in Sarlat. We found our room, that looked out on the backyard area, rather basic, but quiet and clean. The price was reasonable. The manager was seldom there, so when had questions there was no one to ask. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Compostelle
Hotel de Compostelle
#23 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Madrigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Madrigal

Property: Hotel Le Madrigal
Address: 50 avenue de Selves, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Madrigal 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the mediéval city and the culturel center, this sarlat style charming hôtel with its stone built front décorated with flowers since the spring has been totally remewed however it has kept its soul and old fashioned charm.Comfort and tradition of familial welcomingNine Air conditionned rooms with familial roomsThe breakfast is a buffet servicePrivate parking – Séminary romm - gymnastic session Restaurants nearly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Madrigal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing