We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing place in Sarlat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hameau du Sentier des Sources

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hameau du Sentier des Sources
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing place in Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a hidden treasure a stones throw from Sarlat and accessible to lots of villages from the Perigord Noir region.Every cottage has their own space and amongst the greenery and the ponies it is a wonderfull place for couple and families alike.

The owner Dominique is very helpful and also organises if one wishes walks,canoeing trips
bbqs but that is up to veryones wish if you want your own space that is fine.

There are loads of wonderful inexpensive restaurants around again Dominque can guide you on this.My family and i spend 2 weeks in Maison Mon Pere at it still wasnt enough time to do all we wanted to so we will definitaly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Le Hameau du Sentier des Sources for a week in May 2009, at first in a studio and then in the Clos du Berger. The studio had the most amazing view as they are situated near the top of the property. The gites are nestled amongst the slope of the property and are the most beautifully finished properties we have ever seen. Le Clos du Berger was enchanting, the furnishings and decor are tres chic! Our son's bedroom featured a beautiful wall lamp in the shape of a sail boat and we were extremely comfortable there. The outside area is private featuring a table and barbecue area undercover for sole use of the gite. The pool is beautiful, excellent view and nice and big for the size of the property. The highlight is definitely the small farm atmosphere, our Son rode a delightful little pony and was entranced! The animals and vegetabe garden give an added dimension and we were free to use the produce and herbs. In Sarlat we recommend Chez le Gaulois, a restaurant with an informal ambience serving fabulous plates of charcuterie and cheeses. The owner and staff (especially the belgian waitress) are absoutely lovely and it makes a pleasant change from duck which is found everywhere! All in all a lovely holiday with excellent access to local attractions (don't miss the view of the river from Domme). Thank you to Dominique and family and Cathy and Abde - hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneDaveOscarIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We visted the Dordogne region back in April and based ourselves at the Hameau, near Sarlat. The Hameau lived up to our expectation and was a great base to explore the region. The major sights and attractions were a short drive away. There were a couple of supermarkets within a short distance from the gites, which allowed us to stock up on our food and cook a quick meal at night. The Hameau was atmospheric and offered a great view over the valley. The gites built of the local stones were most charming and the mist in the early morning was memorable. Our young children loved to play on the grounds and pet and feed the farm animals. The pony ride around the park was the highlight of their stay. Our amiable host Dominique offered us plenty of tips on the nearby restaurants and attractions. He was readily available to help and even went out of his way to lead us through Sarlat by driving over 5 miles in his car.
We highly recommend the Hameau du Sentier des Sources to all of those who seek a peaceful sanctuary in the beautiful region of Dordogne.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvineTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Our whole family loved Le Hameau du Sentier des Sources, from my mother who was celebrating her biirthday, through the rest of us adults to the youngest children. We used the Hameau as a base to visit Sarlat and some of the other sites in the Dordogne and came back to relax in our gite later in the day. The village of stone gites has a lovely atmosphere and people tended to congregate around the pool during the late afternoon, and perhaps around the barbecue later on in the evening. The gite itself was extremely spacious and impeccably clean, and although the outside looked traditional the interior decoration was modern and original. The kids loved being able to run around outside, and made full use of the swimming pool and the children's activity area. The rest of us enjoyed sitting outside on our terrasse in the evening sun enjoying a relaxed apéritif.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarlat-la-Caneda
6.9 mi away
La Truffiere
La Truffiere
#1 of 1 in Orliaguet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
8.4 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hameau du Sentier des Sources? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hameau du Sentier des Sources

Property: Hameau du Sentier des Sources
Address: Lieu Dit Cambord, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover the charm of the old stone houses of the Perigord, in this little hamlet overlooking the Dordogne valley not far from the medieval town of Sarlat. Nestled in the midst of this greenery sits a village built from old stone and composed of charming gites with attractive interior design. There are leisure activities for your enjoyment, animals for the children to delight in and a vegetable garden for everyone to indulge in ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing