We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant St. Albert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I contacted this hotel directly and asked for one of their 'cosy' rooms for 1 person. Great price, and the hotel has been decorated quite nicely (boutique). The room I was given was nicely painted and had everything I needed (showever, closet, luggage rack, toilet) and a nice comfortable double bed (usually, for smaller rooms, you only get a single bed so I was pleasantly surprised). Please note there is no lift in this hotel but I only had to go up one flight and it wasn't hard. The front counter lady actually helped me with my suitcase, which was very nice. The breakfast at 9,50euros was a selection of croissants, hard-boiled eggs, toast, jams, juices, milk, coffee, tea, applesauce (!) and a few other items. I was happy with the selection. The water pressue in the shower was good and it was plenty hot when it needed to be. I was given a lot of towels, they seemed to be in good condition. The wifi was good. My view was the back of the property (roof) but it didn't matter to me. The room was a decent size for 1 person (cosy). I would definitely stay here again. I noticed that I was only 1 of maybe 2-3 guests, but there were a lot more who visited the attached bar, so that was a good sign that this was a good property.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'Cosy' room if you are traveling solo and don't need a bathtub. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webwalker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    48
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely hotel quite boutique. Staff very friendly and spoke English. Good choice for breakfast, fruit, bread, croissants, eggs, coffee and teas. Excellent location to explore Sarlat and the market on a Saturday morning is great. Only downside was lovely wine bar which is part of the hotel closed very early and we would have liked to have been able to have a glass of wine after a lovely meal in Sarlat. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle38_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room was very clean but could use some updating. The mattress was fairly comfortable. The bathroom was very clean but the towels need to be changed out for new ones as they were looking a little worn. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not use the restaurant as we spent most of our time in Sarlat. We did come back late one evening and wanted a drink and the bartender was nice enough to let us in for a night cap although he had just closed. The location is just outside of the medieval town of Sarlat and a great place to stay to visit other areas of the Dordogne region. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharibarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked a superior double room but it was far from superior and was not cheap , the room was very tired, the bed was comfortable and the shower was ok. The shower was over the bath and it was a very deep bath, at 6foot tall it wasn't easy getting my leg over the bath to stand in the shower. There were toiletries supplied but only a piece of soap, no shower gel gel or shampoo, sometimes its easier to just use the hotels rather than unpacking your own, especially if your just there for 1 day. My biggest shock was that the bathroom was covered in cobwebs! How could the cleaner not have seen the cobwebs they were thick and in your face. The hotel in general could have done with a renovation. The front desk were polite and spoke good english this always helps when you struggle with your languages. We returned back to our hotel at 10pm after a meal in the town to find that the bar was closing and they would not serve us a drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank waynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel St Albert from September 12 through September 15. This hotel was our second choice as we had booked a room for those dates at the Hotel des Recollets. However, when we informed the Recollets that our train would be arriving after their normal check-in time and asked if they could arrange for a taxi to meet us at the station, we were emailed a telephone number. We were left with the distinct impression that the Recollets was more interested in our meeting their check-in time than they were in having us as guests. Accordingly, we cancelled our reservation and booked at the St Albert - which was happy to arrange for a taxi and to make sure that an employee was at the hotel to meet and check us in.

The St Albert proved to be a good second choice. The hotel has a friendly and helpful staff. Our en-suite room on the first floor was small, pleasantly decorated, clean and quiet and equipped with a flat screen TV and Wi-Fi. We did not eat in the restaurant, except for breakfasts, as we preferred to enjoy several of the many outdoor restaurants that line the streets of Sarlat's old city. However, the breakfasts that we did have there were good with the variety of baked goods and other items available at the buffet being more than adequate and reasonably priced.

The St Albert Hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the southern edge of Sarlat's medieval quarter. This proved to be an ideal base from which to attend the Saturday Market and to explore other parts of the city, both during the day and in the evening.

We are aware that the St Albert is a small, limited frills hotel. However, anything that it may lack in the way of facilities or ambiance is more than adequately made up by its location. We would be happy to consider booking there again on future visits to Sarlat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We liked this hotel. Could have been better if there was a lift, but room staff were helpful in assisting with luggage even though the reception staff were not. I had a quiet back room, no view but I wasn't complaining!!

The bed was one of the nicest I slept in on my six month trip. The bus to and from the train station stops just over the road and makes this place a great choice if travelling by train. The price was higher than some but not too excessive.

Wander far and wide in Sarlat. Lunchtime three course meals were very reasonable and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We found the room size quite good - perhaps we had a larger one ? The decor was lovely and the bathroom new and clean. The shower is the largest (and best) we've had had in our 3 week trip. Yes, it was noisy and my partner found the bed uncomfortable although I didn't. We came in June and it was very hot but we asked for and got a fan. Both the bar and restaurant were open. The staff speak good English and are very helpful. Great location for Sarlat and the rest of the Dordogne.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#26 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant St. Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant St. Albert

Property: Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Address: 1 Place Pasteur, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant St. Albert 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant St. Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing