We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the food, not guest comfort or service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed three days on a half-board plan. The breakfasts and dinners were good to very good. The only exception was a fish and potato pie for one dinner that was 90 percent mashed potatos, 5 percent topping, and 5 percent fish. It tasted good, but had almost no protein.

However, the hotel room was minimalist and the service was poor. The room had two narrow beds, poor quality furnishings, only French language television (not even a news channel), and so few electric outlets that we had to choose between light and the hot water pot. The maid occasionally forgot to restock essentials like toilet paper. When we asked for a shower mat, we were told the hotel only owned two of them and they were in use by other guests. If I ran a hotel and a guest asked for an essential safety item, I would run to the nearest store and buy it!

The location is peaceful and the view is pretty if you have a room in the rear, but it is a hard 30 minute walk uphill from the town center.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on press trip, modern hotel in spotless condition and just a very short stroll from sensational views over Rocamadour . Great base for exploring the Dordogne and away from the hustle of the village below.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MichaelWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. Excellent continental breakfast with cereal, ham and cheese, eggs and fruit salad as well as a choice of the usual pastries and a selection of breads. The hotel has a restaurant that serves very tasty meals. Try the duck. It is to die for. The rooms are tidy and well appointed with the most comfortable beds we slept in on our trip. The downstairs rooms have a little outside table a and chairs if you wish to sit outside. Off the dining room was a great terrace to have a drink on and look at the rural view. The owners and their staff all speak good English and could not do enough to help us with all our questions about what to see, where to eat and where to shop. If you want a very comfortsble hotel in the Sarlat area only 5 mins out of town with car parking and it's own restaurant and comfortable beds then this is the best choice without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel Meysset is located just outside Sarlat. It is owned by a young couple who are on the premises daily and who obviously care a great deal about their hotel and their guests. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is typically French but very good quality. There is a very nice lounge with a fireplace for cool nights. The restaurant for dinner is very good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. You will be pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabrielsGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

For a trip in the Dordogne ( Perigord ) this is an ideal place as a basecamp to visit the entire region. Most of the interesting places are concentrated around Sarlat and the " Meysset " is a very nice accomodation to stay at. The hotel is located on a hilltop with stunning views from the terrace were dinner is served weather permitting. It provides everything a tired traveller wants : very clean , nice rooms ( though a little on the small side and no airco ) , helpfull staff, an excellent gastronomic restaurant at very acceptable prices ( a menu du jour comes at 25€ for a 3 meal course and is of very good quality ) and a nice large and clean swimmingpool. We certainly will be coming back on an another visit to the Perigord.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the hotel are to be preferred for the view and are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a cycling holiday using Headwater Holidays where this hotel was booked for us.
The hotel is at the top of a steep ascent ( cyclists beware ) which affords stunning views of the valley below.
The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and looks amazing.
A great outdoor pool which was very welcome.
Our meals were served on the terrace and were beautifully presented. Quality and quantity was excellent.
The sttaff were very helpful in all areas of the hotel and did everything to make us welcome and our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saabfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautifully located on a hill with great views, close to town. Lovely pool, gardens, and terrace. Very nice welcome by the owner, and a great breakfast the following morning. We didn't get a chance to try the evening meal unfortunately. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catface41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
592 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
980 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bon Encontre
Hotel Bon Encontre
#13 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset

Address: 62 Route d Argentouleau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £77 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a hill over Sarlat, 2 minutes away from the medieval city, Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset is an oasis of calm. You can enjoy the outside heated swimming-pool with a great view over the valley, and the terrace with a panoramic view.Janetta et Vincent Peyruse are the fourth generation of owners since April 2017. After 30 years working around the world, they came back with a taste for colors, spicy flavors and conviviality. The restaurant offers a seasonal and healthy kitchen, enhancing savours and quality of products. The kitchen would not be what it is without the passion of our local producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing