We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and owners.
Pool relaxing, quiet good breakfast on the terrace under the pine trees with view of the hills.
Unfortunately as we like fresh local produce, the food was disappointing and it was hard to believe that it was freshly cooked. We only ate there once, lots of choice in Sarlat only 5 minutes by car.
Many great sites and castles nearby.

Would visit again. Hope the restaurant will improve and be up to its gourmet tittle.

Room Tip: Small but comfortable rooms on ground floor with private sitting garden area (avoid most rooms on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Latnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel because it indicated it was 1.5 km from Sarlat, however that is from the edge of the town and it is another 2 km into the town centre. Walking is not an option.

The food was expensive compared to what you can get in town , the wine list is very limited , we were advised our first choice could possibly be off, the second might be available but they did sell one last week, the third and surprise , surprise the more expensive was available.

A very limited menu.

Room was small and the very thin curtains made sure you were up with the sun.

Staff very friendly, owners very grumpy.

Pool absolutely freezing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank RetiredRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Dear Guests, Our hotel is within a 20-minute walk from the town center and a 3-minute car ride. Some guests enjoy staying in a hotel further away from the town center which gets very crowded and noisy during the summer season. We offer a quiet haven with a terrace with panoramic views and a swimming pool. Our wine list reflects our guests’ most wanted wines, which are local, but we took your comment into consideration and this year we branched out and offer more variety. It is true that the pool is not heated and its temperature varies according to the weather between 68°F and 84°F. Regarding the abundance of sunlight in your room, maybe you didn’t see them, but wood shutters are available in every room.
Stéphanie Redon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed three days on a half-board plan. The breakfasts and dinners were good to very good. The only exception was a fish and potato pie for one dinner that was 90 percent mashed potatos, 5 percent topping, and 5 percent fish. It tasted good, but had almost no protein.

However, the hotel room was minimalist and the service was poor. The room had two narrow beds, poor quality furnishings, only French language television (not even a news channel), and so few electric outlets that we had to choose between light and the hot water pot. The maid occasionally forgot to restock essentials like toilet paper. When we asked for a shower mat, we were told the hotel only owned two of them and they were in use by other guests. If I ran a hotel and a guest asked for an essential safety item, I would run to the nearest store and buy it!

The location is peaceful and the view is pretty if you have a room in the rear, but it is a hard 30 minute walk uphill from the town center.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on press trip, modern hotel in spotless condition and just a very short stroll from sensational views over Rocamadour . Great base for exploring the Dordogne and away from the hustle of the village below.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MichaelWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. Excellent continental breakfast with cereal, ham and cheese, eggs and fruit salad as well as a choice of the usual pastries and a selection of breads. The hotel has a restaurant that serves very tasty meals. Try the duck. It is to die for. The rooms are tidy and well appointed with the most comfortable beds we slept in on our trip. The downstairs rooms have a little outside table a and chairs if you wish to sit outside. Off the dining room was a great terrace to have a drink on and look at the rural view. The owners and their staff all speak good English and could not do enough to help us with all our questions about what to see, where to eat and where to shop. If you want a very comfortsble hotel in the Sarlat area only 5 mins out of town with car parking and it's own restaurant and comfortable beds then this is the best choice without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel Meysset is located just outside Sarlat. It is owned by a young couple who are on the premises daily and who obviously care a great deal about their hotel and their guests. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is typically French but very good quality. There is a very nice lounge with a fireplace for cool nights. The restaurant for dinner is very good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. You will be pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabrielsGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

For a trip in the Dordogne ( Perigord ) this is an ideal place as a basecamp to visit the entire region. Most of the interesting places are concentrated around Sarlat and the " Meysset " is a very nice accomodation to stay at. The hotel is located on a hilltop with stunning views from the terrace were dinner is served weather permitting. It provides everything a tired traveller wants : very clean , nice rooms ( though a little on the small side and no airco ) , helpfull staff, an excellent gastronomic restaurant at very acceptable prices ( a menu du jour comes at 25€ for a 3 meal course and is of very good quality ) and a nice large and clean swimmingpool. We certainly will be coming back on an another visit to the Perigord.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the hotel are to be preferred for the view and are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#21 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset

Address: 62 Route d'Argentouleau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a hill over Sarlat, 2 minutes away from the medieval city, Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset is an oasis of calm. You can enjoy the outside heated swimming-pool with a great view over the valley, and the terrace with a panoramic view.Janetta et Vincent Peyruse are the fourth generation of owners since April 2017. After 30 years working around the world, they came back with a taste for colors, spicy flavors and conviviality. The restaurant offers a seasonal and healthy kitchen, enhancing savours and quality of products. The kitchen would not be what it is without the passion of our local producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing