We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Regent

Le Regent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great meal, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food was very good, decent portions, and the service was friendly and efficient - something not always found that easily in France. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    160
    44
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in the centre of Sarlat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Before we first ate at Le Regent we assumed that given its prime place in the centre of Sarlat it would probably be rather pricey and not very good.  But we were completely wrong.  The food is really good - starters, mains and desserts - beautiful presented and not particularly expensive.  On a good day, lots of tables outside.  Also a very pleasant room upstairs and few tables downstairs.

On small gripe - we reserved a table one night and arrived to find a reserved plate on a good table at which we sat - only for the manager to instruct a waiter that it was reserved for someone else and made us move.  Not very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Group Birthday dinner well catered for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Choosing a restaurant for 10 people on a Saturday night without a booking was going to be a challenge. Le Regent stepped up to the mark. Each of us enjoyed our meal particularly the foie gras with ginger and honey sauce for entrée. Our young waiter was patient and accommodated this English speaking group with good humor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We decided to have dinner in this restaurant on the central square of Sarlat-la-Caneda following the advice given to us at our hotel.

When we arrived the outdoor places of the restaurant were already fully booked and therefore we were apathetically led to a good table just inside the restaurant. Unfortunately our experience at "Le Regent" ended roughly 20 minutes later when a waiter came to take our order and abruptly left us in the middle of it: simply unheard of!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great view from the terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had dinner here for six on the balcony overlooking the main square area. The food was good, though the service was a bit slow. We were in no rush so that was ok.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Regent also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing