We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Stone Cottage”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Mas Cavaille

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Cottage. Swimming pool courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Pool and Cottage.
Swimming pool courtyard
Swimming pool and terrace
Poolside
the well fitted kitchen
Lounge area with access to the two bedrooms at upper floor
Lower level looking into bedroom 1  and beyond
the bathroom at lower floor
the double bedroom at terrace floor
the adajacent single bedroom
The house with its terrace and covered parking
The house as you arrive
The terrace
Children's Play Area
Beautiful Sarlat
Sarlat by night
Summer time in the streets of Sarlat
Ice skating at Christmas/New Year
Canoes on the nearby River Dordogne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cooking22
Boonville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Stone Cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Of all the cottages and flats we have rented in Europe, this has to be the most perfect. It is a mix of quaint style, vintage timbers, and light, bright, walls. Kim and Jerry have restored and decorated the house with style and tast. We love "old", but that is often coupled with dark, dusty, and a little crusty. Not Mas Cavaille! We both love to cook and found the kitchen efficient and modern, the dishes nice for serving a gourmet dinner from ingredients purchased at the wonderful open air market and the indoor and outdoor eating areas warm and inviting.
The proximity of the cottage to Sarlat made site-seeing easy. It is a 12 minute walk into the Medival villiage. We found the swimming pool relaxing as well as great exercise. Everything was exceptionally well maintained. If only we could have stayed another week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: that we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del536
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a family holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my husband and 2 children. The gite is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. The inside space is more than adequate for a family and there is lots of space outdoors with 2 seating/dining areas, a large, lovely pool area with further table and chairs and a large garden for the kids to run around in.

Kim and Jerry were considerate hosts and although they are on site they are not "in sight" unless needed. My husband is very tall and spent his first night sleeping diagonally across one of the beds as they all had ends on. When we mentioned this to Jerry, he and Kim insisted on coming to dismantle the bed to make it morse comfortable!! Similarly the dishwasher broke and was replaced the following day.

The property is on the outskirts of Sarlat and is certainly within walking distance. However the temperatures were in the 30's during our stay and as the walk home is uphil we chose to take the car.

Sarlat and the surrounding area is certainly beautiful with so many places to visit. We found it very busy being ther in August but if you want to look around somewhere, go earlier in the morning and beat the crowds.

All in all a wonderful holiday and we would certainly consider returning in the future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place, perfect location.”
Reviewed 18 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011

There were 4 in our party - myself and partner along with parents. Having camped near Sarlat previously, we were keen to introduce them to a region we love. We wanted a quiet, atmospheric cottage with a pool near to Sarlat. We were not disappointed.

Jerry and Kim's beautifully renovated stone gite is the perfect place to enjoy the sights of the Dordogne. We hired a car from Bergerac airport and, after a lovely and leisurely scenic drive we arrived at Sarlat (despite, in our excitement, forgetting to collect our bags at the airport and proceeding to pick up the car, then realising we had no luggage to put in it!)

This is a beautiful cottage. The bedrooms were lovely and the bathroom modern and with a great shower. What made it for us was the private pool area and barbecue terrace, all with lovely furniture and cushions etc. in a trunk on the patio. We ate out most nights in the town. On the first night we walked in, but after picking our way back (no street lights for the last stretch) we drove. Not a problem, plenty of local red wine (excellent by the way) back at home for the driver to enjoy!

The weather was warm but we picked a changeable week, rainy the first few days but gorgeous sunshine from Tuesday onwards. We used the wet days to explore Roque St-Christophe (great visit) and Beynac castle, which we may had not got around to had it been scorching and lain around the pool (which we also did plenty of when the sun came out!)

Jerry and Kim were very helpful hosts, even dashing into town to buy a new coffee machine when it packed up!)

Sarlat is a wonderful base to explore this delightful region, and this gite is a superb home from home. Couldn't have wished for better, and looking forward to returning one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkshoes...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Slice Of Paradise in Sarlat”
Reviewed 12 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

If you want everything that you have at home ,this is the place for you.The cottage has a wonderful kitchen to prepare food bought from the wonderful markets around the area.Attention to detail is,a dishwasher,washing machine,excellent platters etc.The bedrooms are large and airy. The pool area is private and peaceful.We enjoyed drinks each night on the terrace,watching the sunset,and BBQin the summer house.Every where is close to walk too.This is a very special place to stay and will return as soon as we can.Thank You ,Jeremey,Kim,Ange and Max

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonyH
Lyon, France
1 review
“Wonderful week away in the Perigord”
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011

My husband, young child, and parents-in-law stayed here for one week in April 2011. In terms of location, Sarlat is a great place to be for exploring the Perigord.

The house is beautiful, well-decorated, well-kept, and clean. The pool area is gorgeous and there were two lovely spots outside to eat, plus a bbq. The play area and big garden are also great for young kids. Inside the house, the main floor has the kitchen (we found a bit cozy for food prep and storage, but manageable) and the living area. Also on the main floor are two of the bedrooms, including one with very welcoming stuffed animals and children's bedding for my son. Downstairs was the third bedroom and a gorgeous bathroom with walk-in shower and tub. There was lots of storage space for clothes in the bedrooms.

The owners were very friendly and there was even a welcome bottle of wine plus a chocolate bunny for Easter waiting for us at check-in (very nice touches!). The owners live on the same property and were on hand in case we needed anything or had any questions.

Overall, we had a great week and would happily return to this rental for another vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, pool, and garden were in beautiful condition.
Liked least: Kitchen area was a bit small but we managed.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasa_an...
North West Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 19 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

My husband and I with our three children (all in their twenties) have just returned from a week in Gerry and Kim's cottage/gite. We had a fabulous time. The cottage is newly refurbished and although we arrived before check in time we were able to leave our cases and explore the locality. Only for this we would have thought we were the first guests to stay this season - every room was immaculately clean.

The photos don't really do the interior of the cottage justice - it looks quite small but it was perfectly spacious and there are three other areas to eat outside so we didn't eat inside very much as the weather was fabulous. The quality of the furniture and equipment is first class down to the John Lewis towels (£5 a bale to rent). The cottage is a duplex with the biggest bedroom and bathroom downstairs. The bedroom has a window/patio door with black out curtains. This was a big plus in the morning as it was so quiet you could sleep late if you wished.

There is a bbq area complete with bbq, large table and chairs with cushions in a bunker on the patio. The patio table is a little smaller but we breakfasted there every morning. There is also a table and chairs by the pool which we used for drinks. The pool was also spotless and although the family lived beside it it is solely for the use of the guests.

You have to sacrifice street lights for the beautiful tranquil location. We didn't take our hired car into Sarlat the first night and had a dark uphill walk home as we couldn't find a taxi. We later found taxi nos in the manual but drove into town after that.

We would definitely recommend this property to families with young children as there is also a garden with a tree and wendy house.

Sarlat is a beautiful town and there is so much to do in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and peaceful location of the property
Liked least: The hill up from town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing