We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Charming well appointed property in a wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sarlat Town House

Bedroom 1 with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom 1 with ensuite
Bedroom 2 with ensuite Front of House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Bedroom 1 with ensuite
Bedroom 2 with ensuite
Front of House
Lounge Room
Kitchen (with washing machine and dishwasher)
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Lounge and Kitchen
Lounge
House (centre)
Front of House (partial)
Front Door
Window Box 1
Window Box 2
Ensuite Bathroom 1
Ensuite Bathroom 2
Ground Floor Bathroom
Sarlat (showing location of house)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kevan D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Charming well appointed property in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our party arrived from the UK and Australia to live in such a charming medieval town and to experience a completely different way of life.

Sarlat Town House is situated right on the edge of the old town and only a short walk to a large selection of restaurants, bars, shops and that wonderful market.

We loved being among the rooftops with the pretty attic and 1st floor bedrooms accessed by a spiral staircase. The interior decoration and furnishings complimented the age of the house, and the amenities made it so comfortable. Sarlat and the Dordogne is a fascinating area and we wish we could have stayed so much longer.

Tip - If you choose to arrive on Market day then vehicular access to the property is limited due to market stalls and street closures. Don't let this put you off. We just parked up for a couple of hours and mingled amongst the many stalls until the road reopened.

Thanks Steve for providing such a welcoming and comfortable property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dealing with the owner - always helpful
Liked least: Nothing - it was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you for your very positive review. We have tried to continue to provide a comfortable base from which to explore the charming town of Sarlat and beyond.
Thought has been put into the "feel" of the house over the tenures of ownership to provide an authentic feel for the stay of the guest. The present owners feel this is an important aspect to the experience of the guest. We, as Property Managers are also sympathetic to this.
We are so pleased, as a team, that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful region and maybe in the future we can welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamil2n
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Close to everything, walking distance of shops and attractions in Sarlat, easy to find, roomy.”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This property was in a great location both for parking and walking around town. The beds were comfortable and with clean linen. The bedrooms and bathrooms of a good size. The living area/kitchen contained all the necessary things for self catering accommodation. The only downside was the musty smell in the ground level living area which we covered by lighting a scented candle when we were there. The place appeared clean however was not totally as we had to mop the living area floor as it was not clean enough.
Arranging the rental was easy to complete with Steve and he checked that we had arrived OK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lower level mustiness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review.

We take your feedback seriously and will certainly make sure that the floors are as clean as possible in the future.

Also thank you for completing the remedial clean but we would not expect this to be done by yourselves. Essentially you should have called us directly and we would have attended straight away. You could have mentioned this when you sent me an email stating you had arrived and had settled in. We are only 10 mins away and would have arrived in that time to improve your comfort.

The house is many hundreds of years old and built of solid stone, does not have the benefit of damp course and modern flow through ventilation, this of course could be seen as part of the charm of staying in a medieval town in an ancient house but if guests are used to more modern structures this could present a problem if not appreciative of this.

Although I have to say it has been uncanny wet here for this time of year which would not have help this situation.

We are glad you found the house itself ideal for the purpose of your visit and the accommadation to your liking.

Again thank you for your comments and maybe welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Town House, is located within two minutes walk of the centre. There is no allocated parking facility, but car parking is close by, although minimal payment required.
Our accommodation was well maintained , and generally well equipped with everything we needed for 'stay at home dining'. Food shops nearby, and major supermarkets within a couple of km. We enjoyed some meals out at two of the wide variety of restaurants in the Town catering for all 'pockets & tastes'.

The Town House is built over three floors. Living accommodation with toilet on the ground floor, and two very spacious bedrooms with good on suite facilities on the 2nd &3rd.
Our party of 4, are all above 60 yrs of age. My wife and I occupied the top floor bedroom, necessitating negotiation of two flights of stairs. This could present a bit of a challenge dependent on fitness. Fortunately not a problem for us, and would not hinder us from rebooking the accommodation again , if a 2nd visit to Sarlat was considered.




.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for taken the time to review the townhouse.

Your feedback for the local area should be useful for any other guests looking to book a property in Sarlat. There is free parking available close by which I think is highlighted in the house book, but this stops on the 1st of June when most parking is now chargeable till the end of the Summer.

You are quite correct of course about the Staircase and we are please you did not personally find it a problem.

The house is typical of Sarlat and being a medieval town, most houses have a similar setup, Rooms on several different levels, houses go up instead of out, which need a little climb to access.

We are really happy you would consider coming back and look forward to that day in the near future.

Steve Hogg, Property Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane1439...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely town house. Very quaint. Only downside is that it is on the top of a hill and the spiral stair case is very tight. Apart from that the bedrooms are lovely and the kitchen living space is well equipped and clean. Would stay here again

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for your review and kind comments on your stay at the Townhouse.

Lesley and I (property managers), are happy you had a great time at the house and enjoyed Sarlat again.

With a wheel chair and a "pot" for a broken ankle I can understand that the Stairs and the location may have been a little awkward to manage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
A bientot.

Steve and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A
Maitland, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice townhome in a very central location”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This townhome is pretty well equipped and located within pretty much a 2-5 minute walk to anywhere you'd want to go to in Sarlat. It's a location that I think is very hard to beat. The two bedrooms and upstairs are well appointed and nice. The downstairs living area is a bit tired (though kitchen is good).

We stayed here for five nights in July 2015 during a massive heat wave in western Europe (average temps at 99 degrees F) and were terribly concerned before we arrived about how warm it would be. With that unusual weather, the top floor was too warm for sleeping but think it would be absolutely fine in more normal conditions. The thick stone walls kept the second and first floors somewhat pleasant even with the scorching conditions outside.

Sarlat is a wonderful town to visit. So beautiful, and the restaurants and markets are fantastic.

Terri arranged our rental, and was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No A/C (but I think it would normally be just fine)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and stay here!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Townhouse is ideally situated in Sarlat- easy reach of shops, restaurants, market, parking etc. The house was clean , well equipped and the hosts were very helpful- numerous suggestions were given for places to eat and visit - and those we tried were excellent!. Booking was a breeze with Terri who was prompt with email replies and very helpful as well.
It was the ideal location from which to explore the Dordogne- we hope to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had to leave!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kw37
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect location in lovely Sarlat”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here with another couple for 5 days in September 2013 on the suggestion of the owner of La Lanterne B&B. Although we originally sought B&B accommodation, the Townhouse proved to be a great alternative. It is conveniently located at the north end of the old town, just off Rue de Le Republic, on a little winding alley. We loved the location, the quietness, and the conveniences of a kitchen for keeping all that good French cheese and wine handy! The Townhouse has three floors; kitchen, living room and powder room on the main floor with bedrooms and bathrooms on the second and third floors. The bed was comfortable and there was ample drawer space and a rack for clothes. The entry on the second floor has a heavy curtain rather than a door, but we didn’t find it to be a problem. The kitchen was well equipped and stocked with basic condiments and supplies. Local bakeries and small grocery stores were nearby and free parking was available at lots about 200 metres away. The wifi worked well. We would highly recommend staying at this townhouse.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing