We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Dordogne serenity”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house
Living room
Dining room
Ground floor bedroom
First stage bedroom
Mezzanine
Top of the tower
Kitchen (larger than it seems)
View from the windows
Vertical view of the house - the tower is only a part of it
Roquecombe domain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Libby M
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dordogne serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights in June with an extended family of 7 in the gorgeous fairytale cottage,Le Pigeonnier de Roquecombe located in a tranquil, woodland setting above La Roque Gageac .We would thoroughly recommend this enchanting location to stay for a restful vacation. The estate has 3 immaculately kept houses for guests plus the owners home which is situated in the centre. A heated pool is located in the grounds for guest to access. Owner/ hosts Philippe & Anne Marie are delightful. We were welcomed one evening for aperitifs on the lawn with local specialities prepared by Anne Marie & Philippe served up local liqueurs. Lovely hosts!This was the perfect location & we enjoyed walking in the woods on marked paths into La Roque Gageac which was perfect for our family...good exercise. Beautiful villages of Domme, Cenac,Castlenaud were close by & canoe rental was available to see the beautiful Dordogne region by the river in the local village of La Roque Gageac. A sincere thanks to our wonderful hosts ,Philippe & Anne Marie for making our family stay at your place a one we will cherish.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The entire experience.
Liked least: Can not fault
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tibbrit3
Tiburon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully restful and charming place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We actually stayed in La Chenaie, one of four rental properties at this location. The house was very well equipped, comfortable, and inviting, near the swimming pool, with lots of sun. Eating outside was a delight every day, with two tables available so that we could be in the shade if desired. A park-like setting with well manicured grounds, made it feel quite special, and the other house on the property were some distance away, making it feel like our private park. Philippe and Anne-Marie are warm and helpful hosts. We highly recommend staying here. If you like to hike, there are walks starting directly from the property, while La Roque Gageac is only about 3km away by road. Boulangeries and Supermarket are available in Cenac, about 2 km from the property. A great center for touring the Dordogns.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Throwing open the windows to listen to birdsong in the morning
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
228JulieS
Drummoyne, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A simply wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Le Pigeonnier at Roquecombe as a family of 5 in October 2103 and it was a highlight of our 8 week travels. Roquecombe is a beautiful property with rolling hills and stunning views. There are several houses on the property but all are delightfully private. Ours was well furnished, spotlessly clean and had everything we could ask for in terms of the kitchen and other facilities. Our children loved sleeping in the tower and we enjoyed the privacy of being downstairs after weeks in cramped apartments. The location is ideal for both exploring the Dordogne, the amazing caves and beautiful towns, and relaxing at 'home'. From our first contact to our departure, our host Phillip was charming and very accommodating. Our only regret is not staying longer.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosiepDor...
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We Keep Coming Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough to discover Roquecombe and Le Pigeonnier in 2011 and loved it so much we have been back twice since then and have another visit booked for next Summer. This is a really lovely place which sets the standards for Gites, ( a short stay at another property on our way home really highlighted the quality of the accommodation at Roquecombe).
Le Pigeonnier is a lovely property made even better this year by some significant improvements to the downstairs bathroom over the winter. The house is spacious and well-equipped, very comfortable for 3 adults but would be fine for more people. When you arrive everything is spotlessly clean and decorated with Anne Marie's pretty flower arrangements.
Our favourable first impressions detailed in our earlier review have been reinforced by each subsequent visit. The surroundings are very peaceful with fantastic views but are also very close to many of the main attractions in the area. There is plenty to do here, (we have not yet run out of places to visit), and Philippe has been happy to offer advice and suggestions for new attractions as well as maps for walks in the area. However this is also a place to simply relax and enjoy your surroundings, without feeling the need to travel very far.
On our last two visits Anne Marie and Philippe have hosted a drinks evening which has been a lovely opportunity to meet the people staying in the other properties (and the food is delicious!)
We could not recommend Roquecombe more highly.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: A bit less rain on our last visit would have been nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintana
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“lovely house in the middle of the wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Roquecombe with our baby twins and our dog. The place is lovely. A comfortable house, surrounded by ancient woods (great place if you travel with children and pets) and a superb swimming pool.
Beautiful walks in the countryside and very close to the turistics hotspots such as Sarlat and La Roque Gageac.
The owners were so kind with us, they even found a vet for our dog when it got injured late in the evening!!
A charming place cared to the last detail. I felt like in a Jane Austen novel!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the gardens and woods, absolutely beautiful, and the swimming pool!!
Liked least: mosquitos after sunset
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qwertypor...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Simply one of the finest locations in the Dordogne. The estate the Pigeonner is located on, has 3 other properties of various sizes. We stayed in the largest property, as there was between 5 and 7 of us, called La Chênaie. The Roquecombe estate is located a few minutes drive from Cenac, on a hill between that and La Roque-Gageac.

The house and surrounding gardens are beautiful and carefully looked after by the owners as too, is the shared swimming pool. Located at the top of a hill, away from any traffic and noise, it was the perfect place to relax and spend time with my family. Internally, expect all the mod cons, in terms of diswashers and washing machines, satellite tv (which hopefully you won't watch too much of). The bedrooms are large and spread over 2 floors as are the bathrooms. The ground floor is spacious and comfortable (kitchens and living/dining areas), and the dining rooms' view overlooks the northeastern valley of the area, amazing. There are also two outside dining areas and a BBQ as a bonus.

The other houses on the estate are spread far enough so that everyone has their privacy and there are a number of walks/footpaths through the forests on the back of it to discover, and if you venture further away, the Dordogne has plenty to offer, from castles, caves, ancient sites and ruins, canoeing and other sports. I even saw balloons flying over the hills on a couple of days. (later i found out that they can be rented at La Roque-Gageac.)

The property owners were super helpful and very attentive, and have plenty of suggestions and ideas of what to do in the region.

In summary I would definitely go there again and if i was selfish enough I would not write this review at all and keep the area to myself!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: would have like to stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamiKatz...
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“the best B & B with the best hosts we can Imagine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We (4 adults) stayed in: Le Pigeonnier de Roquecombe for 6 nights in October 2012.
It is a place not to be forgotten in all aspects.
Philippe and Anne Marie are wonderful people, gave us a warm welcome, we have even had a guided tour by Philippe (including the other guests) to hidden castles in the area.
Wonderful apartment, perfectly equipped, and every morning we went out to the garden to photograph sunrises that were spectacular.
Village of La Roque Gageac stunningly beautiful, and thanks to their resemblance to him we could enjoy the beauty.
Very central location - which allowed us to make day trips towards all directions.
The house is surrounded by chestnut trees, and we could pick up during the day chestnuts.
True tranquility, a place that justifies return to vacation in the future.
It seems to us that this is the best B & B with the best hosts we can Imagine.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing