We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Remparts
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Nice and clean, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in a 3-bed family room with a babycot in addition. A little bit crammed for space, but we didn´t spend too much time in the room anyway. The room was nicely furnished, and spotlessly clean when we arrived. Great location and good service, a bit of a walk to the parking. Prices was a bit stiff and the breakfast was a waste of money, but overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissel B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    89
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
37
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel room was so small that there was no room to put the cases anywhere. They had to be stored in the huge bathtub and whilst we stayed in May the room tended to be a little hot and the air conditioner did not work, so I would worry about summer. We did not find the staff at all friendly. I sometimes think that hotels leave their best rooms for latecomers as we booked this hotel months ago and to be given a room so poor was disappointing. Parking was good and the location is excellant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel is amazing value for money, right in town with restaurants and shops on your doorstep. All staff are very friendly and helpful and we were able to park our motorbike in front of the hotel in their little courtyard area, perfect.

OK, so the rooms are basic but clean, but we had a large bathroom with a freestanding bath and separate shower (Room 8), a well lit bathroom mirror, a bit lacking on hanging space...just a few coat hangers on some pegs, but there was a large draw and shelf along with a long dressing table (no mirror). There was a large mirror on the opposite wall however, and I dried my hair etc in the bathroom which was perfect. The bed was firm and comfortable, and sheets and towels were changed daily. You can hear people upstairs, but we slept well all of our 5 nights and weren't bothered by this.

We had breakfast on the first morning (8 Euros per person) which consisted of a fridge containing meats, cheese and yogurts, along with a fresh fruit basket, bread, croissants, tea and coffee. The following days we had coffee next door, and there is a super Boulangerie just across the road to buy fresh butter croissants which were delicious.

As we were on motorbikes getting in and out of Sarlat wasn't a problem to us, but I guess in a car you may have a bit of a delay as it can get busy, saturday is market day, which is right outside the front of the hotel.

In a nutshell, we would definately use Les Remparts for a base, you certainly will not run out of different places to eat there, and I really don't think you will find anywhere in a better location for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldtownhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Basic rooms but the staff are helpful, and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (May 13th to 15 th 2012). Friendly reception, very good buffet breakfast
for 8 euros, secure parking for 8 euros per day. My room was basic but very clean and well
maintained, and was good value at 65 euros per night. The only contrary thing I could say about
this hotel would be the lack of sound proofing between floors; it could be annoying if you had
the bad luck to have a noisy guest in the room above yours. A big plus is its central location
a few minutes away from the old town pedestrian center with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is our second stay at Les Remparts and we have been very happy both times. Some rooms are bigger than others, and some have baths and some not. Just ask if you have a preference! Staff are very friendly and more than helpful. Secure parking is available for a fee, however staff were more than happy to show you where you could park on the street for free. Breakfast is available but we couldn't resist visiting one of the local bakeries each morning. Fabulous location for walking around the town, and Sarlat is a fabulous base for exploring the region. If you happen to be visiting on Wednesday, don't miss the farmers market!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereiskate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhouse Eaves, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Well located in a lovely town. Helpful staff. Good value

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank owens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#25 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Compostelle
Hotel de Compostelle
#22 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Remparts

Property: Hotel Les Remparts
Address: 48 avenue Gambetta, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing