We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Lovely Stay”
Review of Hotel Les Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Les Remparts
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Les Remparts for four nights in October 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and in a perfect location along the outer border of the medieval town centre. We were told that the hotel is not directly inside the town centre, but to be honest, it might as well be. It takes less than 30 minutes to walk from one end of the town centre to the other.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms were very clean and the air conditioning/heating units worked well. We had a few cold and rainy days during our stay and were thankful to have such a comfortable room to relax in while we waited out the weather.

We did not choose to have the breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot comment on how it was.

We found it easy to communicate with hotel staff, even those who did not speak English went to the effort to meet us half-way between our lousy French and their minimal English. The rooms were cleaned promptly every day and towels and soap was always replenished.

If we ever return to Sarlat, we won't consider staying anywhere else but the Hotel Les Remparts.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a better view of the street - rooms along the side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for five days in this hotel and really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is two minutes from the town centre which was perfect for an evening stroll.

The staff were friendly but not too chatty. Our room was pretty good but nothing special. It was clean and had everything we needed but was a bit basic, but for appropriate for the price.
There were lots of signs asking people to be quiet which worked but the floors were very creaky so that was quite hard.

We had breakfast once which was ok, but the croissants were a bit stale.

Parking was either on the road or round the corner in a free car park.

I would definitely go again as it is a perfect location to explore the area.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all different so it's hard to advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Located adjacent (less than a minute walk) to the pedestrianised old town, with a huge choice of restaurants nearby and in the old town.
The relatively large room was comfortable and reasonably priced. Rooms are air conditioned (although turned off later in the night) with free wifi available. The breakfast, typically French, was reasonable value. The service provided by the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Booked this hotel for location, glad it was only for one night. Although very clean and modern, bit disappointed that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. If you book, ask NOT to be at the front of the hotel. Was on the road and quite noisey. I had room 4 and the building opposite has a big bright light that is left on all night and shines through the window. Curtains were very flimsy so did not keep the light out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Good newly decorated clean modern rooms, 5 mins walk to the main square.
If you need a comfortable accommodation , centrally located and reasonably priced, this is the hotel for you. Great free wifi. I wish they had English channels on tv.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked direct at short notice and saved a lot of money compared to booking.com.
A good well placed hotel, free parking nearby, good wifi and a reasonably spacious quiet room at the back overlooking a characterful courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in charming Sarlat. This is a small hotel. Staff were all lovely. Front desk clerk's English was good enough to work with our basic French. Room was not fancy, but it was clean and in good condition. Bathroom was large. Linens were not luxurious, but were what we expected for the very reasonable price of the room. At check in, we cringed at the idea of a hotel provided buffet breakfast, but the hostess encouraged us saying it was very nice. She was right! For - I think - $7E - it was lovely and convenient.

Interior is old -- this is afterall Sarlat! But the hotel has a lift, free wireless, and very nice staff. We are a gay couple and were perfectly welcome. We enjoyed our stay and were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Recollets
Hotel des Recollets
#33 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#31 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#27 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Remparts

Address: 48 Avenue Gambetta, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £53 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing