We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Remparts
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed two nights in April 2012.
Excellent location, comfortable room and friendly helpful staff.
The gentleman at reception went out of his way to organize us a taxi at quite a ridiculous time for a train that was leaving at an equally ridiculous time. Staff spoke quite good English, which to us is not important, but may be to others.
Just minutes walk from the beautiful old town of Sarlat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    86
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
37
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great location right outside the pedestrian zone, in a beautiful building. Room was good size, everything clean. Wi-Fi worked great, there is a lift, staff were very nice. We did not take breakfast as there was a cute little coffee shop right across the street, plus some days we preferred to have breakfast on the main square in Sarlat. The hotel is pretty easy to find. There is street parking (good luck with that) plus several free lots but they a few blocks away so we paid for the garage (€8.50/night) which is a block and a half away, but secure (and a bit tight). Driving in and out of this area of Sarlat to get to the other towns in the area is quite easy once you’ve done it once. 68€/double

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our group of 4 ladies had 2 rooms at this very basic hotel after deciding to extend our stay and unable to be accomodated at the previous B and B which probably spoilt us. The rooms are very basic, bedspreads not exactly the most pristine and the rooms are quite noisy. It was possible to hear the next door and upstairs neighbours moving about - even muffled conversations. The breakfast at 8 euros 50 was inadequate for the price and later in the day when a cup of tea was requested (no jug etc in the room) was told to go across the street to the cafe. The front desk staff member was less than helpful and spoke very little English. The floor in the room was vinyl - I suspect because animals are allowed in this establishment.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We lodged at that hotel 1 year ago for 2 or 3 nights. It is convenient to the centre of the Sarlat town by foot. Even so, we used the paid parking space as confirmed beforehand for our tour to the Saturday market for which usually half of the town was occupied by people with street parking space unavailable. The hotel front-desk lady was helpful and the hotel is neat and clean. Opposite the hotel was a small restaurant for our breakfast. Not very long from the hotel there were several local restaurants lying along a side-road. One evening we dined at the outdoor area of a restaurant joyously. As mentioned earlier, every Saturday there is a market (possibly also on Wednesdays). I recommend travelers to make a tour to the booths, shops, etc. at the different alleys and main roads of the town centre. The foods, foodstuffs, the people and so forth make up an exciting picture of a journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R22LCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Les Remparts for four nights in October 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and in a perfect location along the outer border of the medieval town centre. We were told that the hotel is not directly inside the town centre, but to be honest, it might as well be. It takes less than 30 minutes to walk from one end of the town centre to the other.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms were very clean and the air conditioning/heating units worked well. We had a few cold and rainy days during our stay and were thankful to have such a comfortable room to relax in while we waited out the weather.

We did not choose to have the breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot comment on how it was.

We found it easy to communicate with hotel staff, even those who did not speak English went to the effort to meet us half-way between our lousy French and their minimal English. The rooms were cleaned promptly every day and towels and soap was always replenished.

If we ever return to Sarlat, we won't consider staying anywhere else but the Hotel Les Remparts.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a better view of the street - rooms along the side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for five days in this hotel and really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is two minutes from the town centre which was perfect for an evening stroll.

The staff were friendly but not too chatty. Our room was pretty good but nothing special. It was clean and had everything we needed but was a bit basic, but for appropriate for the price.
There were lots of signs asking people to be quiet which worked but the floors were very creaky so that was quite hard.

We had breakfast once which was ok, but the croissants were a bit stale.

Parking was either on the road or round the corner in a free car park.

I would definitely go again as it is a perfect location to explore the area.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all different so it's hard to advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Located adjacent (less than a minute walk) to the pedestrianised old town, with a huge choice of restaurants nearby and in the old town.
The relatively large room was comfortable and reasonably priced. Rooms are air conditioned (although turned off later in the night) with free wifi available. The breakfast, typically French, was reasonable value. The service provided by the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Compostelle
Hotel de Compostelle
#20 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Recollets
Hotel des Recollets
#32 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Remparts

Property: Hotel Les Remparts
Address: 48 avenue Gambetta, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing