We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Well-Prepared Local Cuisine”
Review of La Petite Borie

La Petite Borie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value, Well-Prepared Local Cuisine”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Sarlat in August can prove challenging, what with crowds and gift shops. However, La Petite Borie welcomed the four of us (and dog!) with a menu that enabled us to diversify from the ever-present foie gras to enjoy other dishes and some good, and reasonably-priced, wines. The staff were happy to allow one of the party to choose two entrees from the day's set menu, and were quick to suggest wine pairings. The bill was a little slow in coming, as the staff were cleaning up after other diners, but we were happy to sit and digest before launching ourselves once more into the crowds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    304
    82
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great first meal in Sarlat!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We went here on our first night in Sarlat. The meal was very nice (omelettes all round) and the service was excellent. We sat upstairs which was quiet to start with and got busier as time went on. However, all in all, an excellent meal and recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locutus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value, very unfriendly waitress.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This restaurant was a few steps away from where we stayed in Sarlat, and went to try it one night with my husband and daughter. They offer very good value menus, starting at €16 for 3 courses. The food was really delicious and represented very good value for money.

The only negative however was one of the waitresses being very unfriendly, verging on being rude, pulling faces when we were deciding what meal to go for.

This does upset me as being very polite customers, it was completely uncalled for.

The male waiter however was extremely friendly and took time to explain about the wines they had on offer. He saved our experience as far as the service was concerned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicebutterlfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, tasty local food and friendly service”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It's difficult to find good food in places like Sarlat but you won't be disappointed with La Petite Borie. Amazing garlic soup, great duck and really good advice on wine. We definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off day”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

It is very rare that my opinion on Trip Advisor is very different to most other folk. But I wasn't impressed with La Petite Bore at all. They were not busy and I found the two staff members on duty unwilling to chat or explain the menus. The presentation was lacking, the standard of cooking was by far the worst I have experienced in recent visits to France. Their garlic soup was glutinous and virtually inedible; my steak was tiny and overlooked with a mush of vegetables. The rest of my party were less than enthusiastic about their own fare. Maybe it was an off day, but it certainly didn't work for me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Borie also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to La Petite Borie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing