We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of La Petite Borie

La Petite Borie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

if you are looking for traditional French fare cooked perfectly on a low budget, look no further! This place is excellent and was one of the culinary highlights of our trip to Sarlat. Go check it out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    304
    82
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good locally sourced meal”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went along on the recommendation of trip advisor customers and we were not disappointed. We were met outside by the smiling owner who sat us down and gave some recommenations for food and wine. We ate from the local speciality menus of foie gras, duck and walnut tart, all of which were delicious. We were the first customers but by 7 30 all the tables were taken and people were being turned away. Friendly service and good value, great

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A rainy Saturday evening in Sarlat, and the place is packed - but there's always room for two more! The service was indifferent and most of the food really didn't live up to expectations. The first course - white bean & garlic soup was really, really good and it set our expectations accordingly. The next course was warm foie gras should have been wonderful - but the coating of raspberry honey had ensured that the outside was charred and hard and the burnt, caramelised flavour overpowered the delicacy of the foie gras. We both had duck breast for the main course - these were cold & raw in the middle (I like my meat on the rare side, but I do like it to be warm!). Given that this place gets such great reviews, it could be that we were simply unlucky - but based on our experince we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value, Well-Prepared Local Cuisine”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Sarlat in August can prove challenging, what with crowds and gift shops. However, La Petite Borie welcomed the four of us (and dog!) with a menu that enabled us to diversify from the ever-present foie gras to enjoy other dishes and some good, and reasonably-priced, wines. The staff were happy to allow one of the party to choose two entrees from the day's set menu, and were quick to suggest wine pairings. The bill was a little slow in coming, as the staff were cleaning up after other diners, but we were happy to sit and digest before launching ourselves once more into the crowds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great first meal in Sarlat!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We went here on our first night in Sarlat. The meal was very nice (omelettes all round) and the service was excellent. We sat upstairs which was quiet to start with and got busier as time went on. However, all in all, an excellent meal and recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locutus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Borie also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to La Petite Borie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing