We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aire des Buses

'Aire des Buses' - Main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment 'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
West view from apartment
North view from apartment
South view from apartment
Driveway to apartment
Apartment lounge area
Apartment dining area
Apartment dining and kitchen
Apartment bedroom
Apartment sofa bed (double)
Apartment dressing area
Apartment shower room
Pool view 1
Pool view 2
Pool view 3
Garden view
Hot air balloon - view from apartment
La Dordogne view from Domme
Sarlat la Caneda
Chateau Beynac
Chateau Castelnaud la Chapelle
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence - 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Judith A
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, excellent location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have recently returned from a very enjoyable week in John's apartment. We were extremely lucky with the good weather and enjoyed cooling off in the lovely pool at the end of a day's sightseeing. The apartment was very comfortable and equipped with everything you could wish for. The location is very convenient with many interesting place within easy reach. John made us welcome and we appreciated the kind invitation to a barbecue with his friends and neighbours.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
15travell...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a beautiful getaway”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well located this gite is peaceful yet close enough to see most of the best tourist sites easily. It is very well set up and spacious with an extremely pleasant aspect. John is an excellent host. We were provided with ample advice and information to help us settle in easily and make best use of our week in the Dordogne.
We would be happy to stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: bedding a little too warm for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CazzieMel...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 4 weeks (April/May 2014) at Aire des Buses having read all the glowing recommendations of previous Trip Advisor reviewers. We fully endorse all their comments and add a few of our own.

The location of the apartment is superb - down a little country road, magnificent views; within 5 minutes drive of Cenac and magnificent Domme; 10-15 minutes from Sarlat and La Roque Gageac. All the most compelling sites, towns and villages of the Dordogne are literally on your doorstep.

The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and outfitted and furnished to a high standard with absolutely everything we could have wanted for our long stay. At the end of each long day it was a sheer pleasure to return to our temporary 'home'.

John, our host, was delightful - very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful and at the same time very respectful of our privacy. We shared some lovely occasions with him and Sue and would like to thank him for his gracious hospitality - John it was a wonderful stay.

We could not recommend Aire des Buses more highly - don't hesitate! What a wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort level, view, hospitality
Liked least: No issues whatsoever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixtyplus...
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“All that we wanted!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 memorable weeks at Aire des Buses in Sep/Oct. Just outside (a 20 minute walk) the charming village of Cenac et St Julien this was a perfect location from which to explore the region - in 2 weeks we did not venture further than a 1 hour drive from Cenac and still wanted to see more! The apartment was bright, spacious, clean and very well set up for a comfortable stay - it had everthing that self-caterers would ever need! It has a large living area including the kithchen area, a laundry, large bedroom, large bathroom (with shower) and a dressing room (with wardrobe and dressing table). A washing machine, dish washer, stove/oven, microwave, fridge/freezer (the basic essentials for self caterers) are all there. It has a clean swimming pool (that we did not use even though encouraged to do so by John) with outdoor settings. From onother setting outside the apartment we could sit after a day's sightseeing and look out over a peaceful wooded valley - so quiet and tranquil, just the perfect way to enjoy a glass of Bergerac wine and some foie gras! John our host was welcoming, friendly, helpful and unobtrusive (but about when needed!) and provided some essentials for our arrival. John's dog Eddie was also welcoming and friendly. We highly recommend Aire des Buses. PS Do not forget to explore St Julien - the views to Roque Gageac are wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peace and quiet, close to Le Maraval auberge
Liked least: No comment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeeljo
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful location in the lovely Dordoyne”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013

John was an excellent host and very helpful with anything we required.
The accommodation was spacious, comfortable, very clean, well appointed and had nice views across a peaceful valley. The weather in May was wet and we didn't get to use the pool area but it looked a pleasant spot.
Because I'm tall I would have liked a longer bed, and I would have liked some basic instructions in english on operating some appliances, ie dishwasher, washing machine, oven etc (being from the rural antipodes I am not familiar with hi tech european).
We loved the Dordoyne for its rich countryside, unique villages and magnificent history. In spite of our not speaking french, the people we did converse with made our stay very memorable and enjoyable. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie M
Wauchope, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our three night stay was the best accomodation we experienced in our six week holiday. John and Sue made us feel very welcome and the accommodation was top class, spacious, clean, with everything you could possibly need and in a beautiful location.
John was also helpful with suggestions with a great variety of things to do, and there was more than enough for our three days. Thank you, John and Sue, for such a memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR G
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience, thank you John!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was actually the first time my wife and I rented a vacation apartment, but it's clear to us that John set the standard pretty high. His apartment offers all the amenities you might want (including a dishwasher), but the one thing that we really liked best was the location: a bit off the beaten track (and beyond the blind summit I'll never forget :-)), and all of a sudden it's quiet, no tourists anywhere, and you can just enjoy some peace and relax. (The pool helped as well, of course....)
The spacious kitchen is well equipped, the bed very comfortable. The apartment offers sufficient space; the two of us really felt at home. John gave us a warm welcome and then respected our privacy. Looking forward to inviting him to a nice bottle once we return, for return we will! The few days were not enough to discover this gorgeous region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing