We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“complete paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aire des Buses

'Aire des Buses' - Main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment 'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
West view from apartment
North view from apartment
South view from apartment
Driveway to apartment
Apartment lounge area
Apartment dining area
Apartment dining and kitchen
Apartment bedroom
Apartment sofa bed (double)
Apartment dressing area
Apartment shower room
Pool view 1
Pool view 2
Pool view 3
Garden view
Hot air balloon - view from apartment
La Dordogne view from Domme
Sarlat la Caneda
Chateau Beynac
Chateau Castelnaud la Chapelle
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence - 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
andrew c
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“complete paradise”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There is no place we would rather stay since spending a week at Aire des Buses. John's hospitality was amazing and everything was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Have just returned from a lovely two weeks at Air des Buses. The accomodaton is clean, comfortable and peaceful and as others have noted, John is a great host.
The pool has been a bonus and we used it every day except one when the weather was poor. Some excellent walks can be done from the house with circuits including Domme and the river Dordogne. Good exercise provided by the hills! Canoing and cycling also available a short drive away and both easy to use without prior booking.
Excellent accomodation in a good location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryne...
dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best accomodation in the valley, probably”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Warm welcome from John and Eddie (his lovely cuddle well-behaved collie dog) with a handy arrival pack of essential food and wine which is very useful if you arrive too early/late for the shops. John even rose at 7am to say goodbye on our last day!
The apartment is a conversion of the lower floor of the house, but you hear very little noise and it feels like you have the place to yourselves.
The apartment is in a quiet area and my favourite part of the day was getting back to have a swim in the pool overlooking the D valley and watching hot air balloons drift by!
The apartment is a great size for a couple, the kitchen is well stocked and functional and helpful to have a washing machine as I did not bring enough clothes for the 34 degree heat-wave!
John kindly provided us with really decent OS maps of the area to use and was always
ready to help with advice that you need such as tourist spots to see and good cycle routes.
The apartment opens out on to the back garden where you can sit outside, play petanque and have a lazy supper with wine enjoying the pleasant warm evenings spotting buzzards.
I genuinely cannot have wanted for anything else in the apartment. There is no air-con but as its the converted cellar area it seems to stay very cool and there is a ceiling fan in the bedroom.
The apartment is well located and allowed us to get about by bicycle and canoe on our holiday, just beware of the monster hill at the end of the day :)
I am sure we will be coming back, if you go give Eddie a cuddle from me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: base sheet kept slippping off the bed corners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jj2082015
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a superb location.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an amazing two week holiday at Aires Des Buses, the apartment is fantastic in every way, in a very peaceful country setting. I cannot commend it enough, extremely well equipped, and it is ideally located for daily trips to all the top attractions in the area. The owner could not have been more helpful and gave us lots of useful information on arrival. The Dordogne area is absolutely stunning and when we return I would not think twice about renting this apartment again. This apartment is a credit to its owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of apartment, the owner, peace and quiet, and location.
Liked least: My wife's tears when we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleretr...
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
2,239 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,531 helpful votes
“We could not ask for more !!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We expected a lot from Aire des Buses when we rented this apartment following the reviews on Trip Advisor and we even got more ! The place is spacious , very well furnished , located in a beautiful setting and the hospitality is unique !
The location is ideal for a trip in the Perigord as it is located less than 8 kms from 4 of the most beautiful villages of France (from the official list of the 156 '' Les Plus Beaux Villages de France'' ) :Domme , Roque Gageac , Beynac-et-Cazenac , Castelnaud La Chapelle , close to Sarlat la Caneda , and is an excellent starting point to tour both the valley of the Dordogne and the valley of the Vézères .
The owner (John) , was quite helpful at providing us for recommendations of sightseeing , eating and shopping in the region . He even provided us with helpful tips for traveling in other areas of France . We have stayed in many apartments , B&B's , hotels and private houses in the world and we have never had a warm hospitality like the one we got at Aire des Buses !
Oh yes , the price is quite competitive !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and location.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yael G
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great holiday rental in the Dordogne!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed 8 nights at John's great apartment that offers all one can expect from an holiday accommodation: spacious very comfortable apartment, very well equipped kitchen - John really thought of everything, and above all a most welcoming and helpful host. And last but not least - the view over the valley from the backyard! It was too cool to enjoy the pool, which must be great on warmer days.
We hope to be able to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaswhig
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Aire de Buses,Both John and Eddie welcomed us as we arrived .The accomodation is both clean and spacious,we were supplied with a welcome pack from John which saved us shopping on the first day,John is a mine of information on the area ,and guide us to an Auberge to eat one evening which was a great experience,with all locally produced foods,we both found the pool enjoyable after returning from a day out,well done John,keep up the good work

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing