We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”
Review of Les Tilleuls

Les Tilleuls
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Tilleuls
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for week in the suite, which was roomy, very comfortable and has the facilities to cook and eat in as much as you would like. It was a great base for exploring the Dordogne area, close enough to Sarlat and it's facilities but out enough to feel you were in the country.
Wifi was available but often turned off at night for health reasons, and sometimes you would need to ask Muriel or Bernard to turn it back in if they had forgotten to do so.
The toilet is quite different and took a while for us to get used to. Muriel assured us that it would be emptied each day but it wasn't and did become a little smelly at times. If you can cope okay with the toilet arrangement it is a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

On 6 May at the time of check-in I was informed by the owner that the room only had a chemical device instead of a toilet which required instructions as well as maintenance for its use. The owner had difficulty setting up the device to show us. He also required that I use the front driveway to enter the parking area which was flanked by two concrete columns approx 70 inches apart. I told the owner that I was not willing to use the chemical toilet or able to drive thru such a narrow space,
a VW Polo, 67 inches width. I told the owner I was not willing to stay in the hotel. The owner requested that I pay the full amount of the reservation in accordance with his cancellation policy. I declined to pay because I was not modifying or canceling the reservation. Next morning I received a email threatening to file charges with the French police for theft. Booking.com negotiated with the owner and I had to pay for two days.
There are other issues with this property including the location and appearance so think twice before you make a reservation. Attached are photos of the driveway and email with the threat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This bed and breakfast was absolutely charming, situated on the top of the hills outside Sarlat. It is gorgeous, eco-friendly, and has two fantastic hosts. However, do NOT TOUCH THE CAT!! When we arrived, we loved the cat and later got in trouble for it by no fault of our own. It caused wuite the drama and we had to leave early. If you leave the cat alone though, it should be fine. Hope you enjoy your stay! PS, bring a car or your extra lungs to hike up and down the giant hill to get home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This B & B is located just a short distance from the centre of Sarlat-la-Caneda. We had a large, comfortable suite that was conducive to rest and relaxation. Muriel and Bernard were extremely helpful with travel information and readily shared excellent restaurant recommendations. The place is beautifully decorated with Muriel's painting hanging throughout the house (and they are most attractive). They really want you to feel at home without being intrusive. The bed was comfortable. Muriel made sure to provide us with a vapor mat to keep the mosquitoes at bay. The shower set up was fabulous. For extended stays, the location is close to a launderette. Muriel and Bernard let us dry our clothing on their clothesline too.

The downside was that they do not keep their wi-fi connected throughout the day. Although the hours for use are posted, they aren't always available when you might want to check an online map or address. If you remind them, they will turn it on for you, but asking feels like an imposition. Another feature that might seem unusual is the compostable toilet. Trust me, it's no huge adjustment, yet a detail that some might find difficult to grasp.

Note too that the hotel is nearly a mile from the center of town, which is walkable. If walking at night, be aware that the walk to the B&B is uphill and without a sidewalk. Although the road is not heavily trafficked, exercise care.

In all, if you decide to stay here, you will most certainly be comfortable and welcomed like a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked the suite. It was a very good choice. We had a big bedroom and a separate and complete kitchen. The house was very quiet, with a big garden .We had also WF in the room .We felt like personal guests of Muriel and Bertrand. The couple was warm and friendly; they knew very well the region and helped us with accurate touristic information. Our trip was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorifredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The room we were given was beautifully decorated and it came with a great view of Sarlat neighborhood as the house was on a higher ground. It was also in a very quiet and peaceful environment.

There was also free parking in the premise. Wifi connection was very good in our room.

The host and hostess, Bernard and Muriel are very friendly and helpful people. We truly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back again if we visit Sarlat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
192 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Tilleuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Tilleuls

Property: Les Tilleuls
Address: 13 Cote de Ravat, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Tilleuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing