We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - hotel on the average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Le Renoir
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location - hotel on the average”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently spent two nights in Sarlat. The hotel offers spacious rooms - ours was in the annexe the Villa.
The hotel is located outside the old city walls, which means you will have some minutes' walk to the historic centre and the restaurants.
Pool is a bit crowded at times, and noisy children left to play alone without parents are not a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    161
    60
    20
    10
See reviews for
74
194
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. The people on the front desk were so helpful and made us very welcome. Unfortunately there is no official parking at the hotel but luckily we found a park outside on the street and decided to leave it there for the five days.
We had an attic room which was really cute and very roomy but no bath just shower. It had everything to make our stay pleasant and was very nicely furnished...fridge wifi etc. Had code for wifi. Lots of character. Aircon worked well. The only thing was we had to drag our bags up three flights of spiral staircase. But it was worth it.
We loved the interesting design of the hotel which had lovely sitting areas and a very pleasant dining room which served a delicious breakfast with variety..... although there was a group of bike riders who dived on the scrambled eggs and bacon and they were not replenished. My husband was a bit peeved about this as were other egg and bacon lovers. I think the staff were not prepared for the large influx and demand.
There was a beautiful pool area set in between the two main character filled buildings and lovely garden areas.
As we were a bit nervous about driving around the narrow country roads we looked for another way of getting around. The Orpheus tours were all booked so we were beginning to feel disappointed. The lovely lady at reception suggested that we hire a taxi for the day. What a wonderful suggestion that was!!!
She arranged for us to meet a taxi driver who also does individual tours. He has a big taxi which can take five people if needed. We asked if he could come to the hotel so we could work out our tour together with him. His name is Christoph Kusters. taxialacart@gmail.com Ph 0608706167-he deserves a plug.
What a professional! Cannot say enough about him! The next day we got ten hours of fabulous personalised touring and he charged by the hour not on the number of people in the car.Great value and he really knew his stuff. Can thoroughly recommend!!
The people at this hotel go the extra mile to make your stay a very pleasant one. A great stay!!

Room Tip: Attic rooms not for those who can't carry heavy bags up stairs.We are in our sixties and had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel appears off the beaten track, but it is really a very manageable and safe three block walk from the old town, the markets, and the plazas. The pool area is lovely, though it was too chilly for us to take advantage of it in May. Breakfasts were varied and good. My only complaint is that the front desk is not always staffed after 10 or so, which can be inconvenient. Our room overlooked the pool, and there was no noise at all.

Room Tip: I liked our room, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had room # 28 on 2nd floor in the main building, which was large and comfortable.

There was no ventilation to the bathroom and that was not agreeable.

Breakfast for 12.50 Euro PP was good.

Location is good, about 500 meters from city center.

I do recommend this hotel and would like to stay in it on my future trips to Sarlat.

We stayed at this hotel from may 26th until May 28th 2013

Room Tip: Room # 28 on 2nd floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Really comfortable hotel. Big room, big bathroom with an excellent shower and bathtub, excellent value for money. Everything was clean and new. I really don't undertand this "hotel star rating". They say it is a 3-star hotel, but it is much better than some 4-star hotels we have stayed at. Very close to city old center. We went by car, and it was really easy to park on the street in front of the hotel (we went in the winter, so people travelling on high sesons might not find it as easy as we did to park their car, as the hotel does not have parking facilities). Very good breakfast, included in our rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAmaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marysville, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

First, Sarlat is a wonderful town.
This hotel is a short walk from the best of it. Excellent location.
Front desk was friendly and helpful. They let us see several rooms and let us choose.
We had a beautiful spacious room with lots of charm, overlooking the pool. The bed comfortable. Clean. Wonderful bathroom. Quiet.
The pool was fabulous. The petite dejeuner each morning was excellent, except one morning when I huge Chinese tour group got there first.
And........the price was right!

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms. There was quite a difference in size and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I've been meaning to write about this hotel even though it's been months since we stayed there. We were there in July, 2012. Having never stayed at a Best Western before, we chose it because it was reasonably priced and has a pool for the kids. It did not disappoint. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the old city walls. The building is apparently an old distillery, and is just beautiful. Our room, which we thought was just a double room was in fact a gorgeous two-floor loft. There was wallpaper made of material on the wall, which in most other cases I wouldn't like, but it suited the vintage of the hotel perfectly. The front desk staff (there was only one when we were there) was great and friendly. There were croissants in a bowl for guests as they walked in, and the pool is in a spectacular little courtyard at the front of the hotel. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to the huge number of restaurants in Sarlat, but it did look good for breakfast. I would happily stay there again and have no reservations about recommending this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooking the pool was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Renoir

Property: Best Western Le Renoir
Address: 2 Rue Abbe Surguier, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Renoir)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Renoir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Le Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Renoir Hotel
Le Renoir Best Western
Best Western Sarlat-La-Caneda
Best Western Sarlat La Canéda
Sarlat-La-Canéda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing