We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Le Renoir
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, convenient location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were very pleased with the Le Renoir. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet and a very good, varied breakfast was provided. All the staff members were courteous and friendly and always willing to give assistance, when required. The hotel is 12-15 minutes walk from the train station but it is downhill. The bus stop for the bus to Souillac is a very short distance from the hotel; our excursions from Sarlat also departed from here (very convenient). We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    154
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
67
188
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I felt the hotel was nicely located to walk to everything. The room was good sized with a very comfortable bed and a squeaky closet door that was annoying. It was clean but had a very thin carpet. I had a view of the pool and courtyard with a roll down shade on the outside of the window that blocked out all of the light and sound. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ample and good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-in-Rancho-Mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Its not that Le Renoir was particularly bad - its just that, with some much else on offer in and around Sarlat, you could, without doubt, find a better alternative. The hotel is handily enough located, albeit not in a particularly attractive street, close to the centre of town. Our one night stopover was booked as part of a package so we had no choice in the matter and were unaware that it was a Best Westin hotel. The room was a very strange configuration with a double bed in an upper 'loft' area accessed up a steep set of stairs. So steep that we opted just to leave luggage down below - not that there was any wardrobe space on the upper area in any case. Furnishings were sparse to say the least. The double volume window overlooked the pool area but offered only sheer net curtaining that provided little privacy nor any means to block out the light at night. We didn't bother much with breakfast which was just as well - we'd missed the early rush and there was not much left! And it did not look as it was about to be replenished. The staff were friendly enough, if a little remote and not particularly engaged.
To be honest, had we been scheduled to stay longer than one night, we would have moved elsewhere. Le Renoir is a purely functional choice, maybe OK for business if you must, but totally lacking any kind of charm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel was near town square and close to restraunts. Helene at the desk set up our canoe trip on the Dordogne and make many great suggestions. the room was large with good bath. Everyone was good to us. Parking was OK on street. Weekend band in square was fun with much dancing. Had wonderful time including caves and museum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 137SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days while visiting the chateau region...It was clean & roomy, but had an odd layout I’d never seen before & wouldn’t abide again. The actual water closet was by the front door. Incredibly, there was no sink in the WC – that would have made it a great separate powder room. As it was, it was simply a toilet with no way to freshen up after taking care of business. The shower area – which inexplicably had two sinks – was across the room. Talk about inconvenient. Breakfast was fine – minimal, but nutritious, with good coffee, which served our needs

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently spent a night at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk into town, and parking was close by and plentiful. We had booked a superior room, which was spacious with two large windows overlooking the pool area. The bed was a very comfortable king bed, with lots of pillows and nice linens, and a pair of comfortable arm chairs for relaxing in.. The bathroom was very clean and large by french hotel standards. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with lots of choices both hot and cold items with fruit, breads, cereals, hams and different cheeses, mini omelettes etc. etc.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay in a really lovely town..I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Spring for the superior room if you can, it was worth the extra few euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family spent two nights there.The suite that we had was very spacious, and we love the room. we enjoy the location-not far from the old city wall and the historical center. Parking location is not as ideal- some blocks away in a more isolated lot. The AC works pleasantly well- great break from August heat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Renoir

Property: Best Western Le Renoir
Address: 2 Rue Abbe Surguier, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Renoir)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Renoir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Le Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Renoir Hotel
Le Renoir Best Western
Best Western Sarlat-La-Caneda
Best Western Sarlat La Canéda
Sarlat-La-Canéda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing