We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Le Renoir
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, which we totally loved. It's a beautiful former manor house, I believe, but totally updated with very very nice rooms complete with everything you might need, including a foyer with a small refrigerator and very nice bathroom. It is in a very quiet location...no road or other noise. It had free wifi which didn't work in our room, but did work in the common areas and the lounge. It was easy to park on close by streets or even across the street. Staff were very helpful. But the best part was the location....we could walk into medieval Sarlat in 5 minutes! And we loved Sarlat and enjoyed going in every day, either in the morning or in the evening. For sightseeing travels, this hotel is located on the road out of town, so you have no traffic at all getting going for the day or coming back at the end of the day. You are two minutes from the the roundabout where all of the roads come in from the places you've been visiting. Every place we wanted to see was close and easy to get to. But Sarlat itself is just wonderful, so we were glad to base here and have the time to explore it multiple times. The front desk staff suggested their favorite restaurants, so we had good food eaach evening, and the Saturday market is justifyably famous. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    154
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
67
188
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stayed at le Renoir while on a tour with a group. My room was very nice and clean. The hotel has a nice pool and the facilities are much better than average. The town center is maybe 300 yards from the hotel. When I left the hotel I forgot an expensive (for me) travel vest in the room. When I realized I had left the vest, I called the hotel from the bus. They were very nice and said they had the vest. I gave them my address and when I arrived home the vest was there. I could not have asked for better service.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed 3 nights as part of Odysseys-Unlimited tour. Our room #14 was great. Ground floor. It was huge. It had 2 bedrooms each with 2 beds, a large closet, safe, nice linens, large towels, good soap, facial tissues, excellent lighting, free interenet access, a good breakfast, an elevator, and a pool. It's located close to the old city. Sarlat is quaint. We enjoyed walking about the old city. Ate at the Bistrot restaurant which was great! Good food, good wine, and good prices. Sarlat is charming.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We have made several trips to this area looking for property and would not hesitate to recommend Le Renoir whether you are just looking to experience Sarlat or on a property trip like us.

There is a bar but be aware, there is no restaurant at this hotel, just a small room where the (good) breakfast is served, but the hotel is located around 300-400 yards away from the medieval part of town which has many delightful, quality and reasonably priced restaurants so eating in the hotel would be a waste anyway. Try Les Jardins d'Harmonie, a great little place tucked away in the medieval centre close to the huge church.

There are 6 different immobiliers (french estate agents) all within 200 yards as well so it's also a great base for exploring these if that's the reason for your visit. The only issue with the hotel's location is that is has no parking at all. This was no real issue for us in March but as Sarlat gets packed in the summer I would imagine this would be more of an issue. You can drop bags etc before searching out a space on the streets and there is a car park a couple of hundreds yards away but these are chargeable.

The hotel is decorated nicely with fresh yellow colours contrasted with sumptuous red fabric walls and carpets giving Le Renoir a rather grand feel. Our room was a large corner room (24) with a firmish but otherwise great King bed, air-con, a mini-bar and TV. The bathroom was huge with both bath and shower, and twin basins. We really couldn't fault it.

English is well spoken if this is an issue and all the staff we found were very helpful. There is also free internet access using the hotel computer in the lobby.

All in all, a great choice for this lovely town, only the parking issue stopping it getting 5/5

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelluvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

we paid for a superior room which included a queen-sized bed ,air-con,tv (only english channel cnn,)small fridge including mini-bar,huge bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath and twin wash-basins.there was ample wardrobe space and a table and 2 chairs.the room was on the second floor which gave a view to the old town and the cathedral.
we declined the breakfast at 12.5 euros a head so we were room only as the hotel does not do dinner.
parking had been mentioned as a problem by past reviewers but we managed to find a space on the street outside everyday except one when we parked about 50 yds away.
the hotel is only a 5minute walk from the town centre and all the restaurants and the famous street market.
there was a small pool but we did not use it,a few guests
took advantage of it but it was never overcrowded.
the only drawback was there was no tea making facillities in the room and we just love a nice cup of tea.
on leaving i mentioned the lack of the above to Megele the receptionist.she replied that i only had to ask and a tea tray complete with kettle would have been provided,its just that they do not have enough for every room.
she also said that our room was her favourite ,so ask for room 34 at least we got that right.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking could be a problem
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester - England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and i really enjoyed my stay, it was really basic but thats all what you need, the staff were really helpful and its only a short walk into the town centre.

When we got to the hotel we thought we were the only people staying there because it was really quite, maybe because it was this time of the year.

The rooms made me laugh because the walls didnt have wall paper on, they all had material on the walls seemed like they were padded, i dont know why.

The room seemed clean and all the towels and sheets were clean.

The breakfast was basic, I was expecting Bacon and eggs etc but all they did was pastries and cereal etc.

I would recomend this hotel for a cheap hotel, if your on a budget then stay here, its worth the money you will pay.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The pool area was closed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We stayed for 7 nights in July '06, using Sarlat as a base for exploring the Dordogne valley.

Good Points:
*The Room was very pleasant and prettily decorated.
*We stayed in the midst of a heatwave and the powerful air-conditioner did a magnificent job.
* The bed was extremely comfortable and I never slept so soundly in a hotel.
*The bathroom was pleasant and spotless.
*The hotel is an easy 3-4 minute walk from the medieval centre of town.

Not So Good Points:
*The exterior of the hotel is quite shoddy looking and could really do with a coat of paint.
*The breakfast room is quite cramped, and puts one in mind more of a youth-hostel than a 3-star hotel.
*We weren't too keen on the pool area. It's small and right beside the street, and the bare plastic sunbeds weren't up to scratch.
*Parking near the hotel is very difficult.

  • Liked — The Bedroom
  • Disliked — The Pool Area
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get a room with a/c in the summer.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mittelwerk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
906 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Renoir

Property: Best Western Le Renoir
Address: 2 Rue Abbe Surguier, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Renoir)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Renoir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western FR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Le Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Renoir Hotel
Le Renoir Best Western
Best Western Sarlat-La-Caneda
Best Western Sarlat La Canéda
Sarlat-La-Canéda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing