We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir Petit Meysset
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We should have stayed longer”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was one of three B & B we stayed in for two days as part of a week's holiday. The Manoir is located on the edge of town - we got the directions wrong first time round but once we found the right road it was v straight forward. I was initially concerned it was further out than I had anticipated but actually it's only a brisk 20 or 25 minute walk in to the centre where there are a superb selection of restaurants to choose from. Just long enough to walk off dinner! The room was great (and big), the grounds fabulous, and some nice touches in the form of a small well equipped kitchen for guests who want to prepare their own food, teas or coffees (provided). Suzette is a real character and provided us with a perfect suggestion for a day trip as well as a selection of local restaurants to try. On balance we wished we had booked for three days rather than two as its a good base for mixing day trips or lounging around town bars and shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Conveniently located within walking distance of the old town center, Manoir Petit Meysset is charming, with lovely grounds. We were fortunate to be able to stay for 2 nights, May 5th and 6th. Ours was the Emile Zola room; our friends occupied the Victor Hugo room, and then the Terrace Suite for an additional 2 nights. All the rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and well-appointed. Better yet, the welcome we enjoyed from helpful owners Suzette and Tony was warm and genuine. They met and exceeded all our requests. Suzette is a delight, with an infectious laugh as big as her heart. The Dordogne area is a must, and one of our favorite memories is our stay at Manoir Petit Meysset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast in France and we were pleasantly surprised by our experience. When we arrive we were greeted like old friends and were treated very well for our entire 6 night stay in Le Petit Meysset. Suzette showed our room which was on the ground floor and named The Terrace Room, it was a perfect location because it was very close to the parking area and breakfast was server outside on the terrace every morning when the sun was shining. Our room was huge, about 20'x20' at least with plenty of room to move around in. And the windows looked out onto the beautiful landscaped gardens which where just starting to bloom. At night there are heavy drapes that we could close to give us privacy and allow us to sleep in every morning. This is a wonderful place to rest. The location of the inn is perfect because you can walk right into town for shopping and dining and it is just far enough from town that you don't hear any traffic noise. Thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Suzette and Tony and their two cute and friendly dogs we will be returning soon on a future trip to the area.

Room Tip: The Terrace Room is great for access to your car and has a wonderful view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had the most wonderful and relaxing time at le Petit Manoir for six nights last week. Tony and Suzette are warm and convivial hosts. The property is even more lovely than the pictures on the internet. Our Terrasse Room was ample and beautifully appointed with beautiful views of the garden. We very much enjoyed the friendly welcome from their dogs, Louis and Pluto, as we miss our dogs when we travel. The Manoir is perfectly located within walking distance of the medieval city so each night we could stroll to a different restaurant and there are lots of good ones to pick from many offering ( surprise!) foie gras and local Bergerac wine. Suzette provided us with a list of the very best eating spots. The Manoir is also perfectly located to explore the region by car. There are more prehistoric caves and castles to visit than you can count. We are regular visitors to France and the petit dejeuner served each morning was one of the best, in quality and value, we have ever enjoyed. Lots of fresh fruit with yogurt and a raspberry coulis along with cheese and cured meats , boiled eggs and of course pastries, croissants, fresh squeezed juice, coffee etc. We would reserve again at the Manoir in a heartbeat and in fact are already plotting our next trip to France and a return stay at Le Manoir. My husband Pieter will also post a review with pictures.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiofMontparnasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This wonderful country manoir on lovely grounds on the fringe of the Old City of Sarlat is homely & comfortable, with beautiful terraces & a kitchenette if one wants to prepare simple meals with the abundance of wonderful produce around. As there are only four guestrooms & ample grounds, there is good privacy.

There are plenty to explore within a 40 minute radius from this property: beautiful villages, prehistoric caves, old chateaux, medieval ruins, majestic gardens........ There are many good restaurants & bistros nearby, in or outside of Sarlat. A huge supermarket is only a 3 minute drive away.

The hosts Suzette & Tony & their manageress Marianna are all very lovely people. We would recommend highly & will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The Terrace Room & The Victor Hugo are elegant while The Voltaire is brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Manoir Petit Meysset is a wonderful place.
Sarlat la Caneda and the surrounding area is a must-visit place of France, full of chateaus, medieval remains, prehistoric caves, and excellent food and wine.
The house is beautiful, with a large garden and is really nicely decorated and restored. There is plenty of parking space (in our case in a very convenient location just out of our room's door).
Our room was absolutely perfect, really charming. Full of little details and really comfortable. The bathroom is new and little, with a good shower and then many little details.
The owner is a very nice woman, kind, helpful and fun. She gave us very good food recommendations.
There's free wifi, the coverage is not perfect and can be slow, but it doesn't matter because in the atmosphere of the house, you are not in a hurry.
The breakfast is served in a really nice room, and all the plates and cups are wonderful. It is not a buffet breakfast and it is a bit slower than the usual, but again, that sums up.
It was a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Once you get there it's paradise. And part of its charm and peace comes from its quiet and private location with beautiful grounds.
No food other than breakfast but it isn't far from the lovely array of restaurants in Sarlat.
A wonderful old building expensively brought up to date. Lots of space and comfort.
Terrific breakfast and charming people.
If you've been there once, you will want to return.
I was there in horrendous weather ut it was still such a highlight

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset
Hotel Restaurant Le Meysset
#16 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
547 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Madrigal
Hotel Le Madrigal
#31 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Petit Meysset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Petit Meysset

Property: Manoir Petit Meysset
Address: Lieu Dit le petit Meysset, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Manoir Petit Meysset 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb accommodation in 18thC manor house with stylish, beautifully furnished bedrooms; café/kitchen for guest use; guest lounge; terraces; BBQ and picnic facilities; 3 acres of park like gardens; wifi; and on-site parking. Each of the 5 spacious guest suites has its own stylish ensuite bathroom, sitting area, desk, television, hairdryer, bathrobes, internet access, and complimentary carafe of local wine.Only 1km from Sarlat town centre and medieval city but set in large grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Petit Meysset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing