We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B close to Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Blanquette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Blanquette
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B close to Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at the beginning of the season in the B&B room "Limoux" at La Blanquette.

The room was perfect; very comfortable, clean and with nice touches such as Neals Yard toiletries in the ensuite, free wifi and a private roof terrace - with fairy lights - to enjoy an evening G&T.

The location was beautiful, set in the Dordogne countryside yet just a 10min drive to Sarlat with lots of places to eat and drink and is fairly central for sightseeing.

The breakfast was fantastic, the best we had in France. Julie's omelette and french toast was superb, especially the omelette - we came home with the recipe, but still can't get it as good as Julie's version!

Nik, Julie and Frank were wonderful hosts. Genuinely warm, nothing was too much for them. Their recommendations for places to eat when we were fed up with duck - you'll know what I mean when you've eaten at a few places in Sarlat - were excellent. Frank showed us the rest of the accommodation at La Blanquette - the gites and the glamping site - they're all fantastic, perfect for couples or families as they are all very private. The grounds were beautiful, the pool lovely - although very cold (we were the first to use it that year!) but I'm sure it's warmed up now.

We'll hopefully be returning for a week in the future and sure we will have a wonderful stay at La Blanquette. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Limoux", ensuite, with a private roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

One of those occassions where you consider not updating TripAdvisor as you want to keep this place to yourself, however we owe it to ‘Team La Blaquette’ to offer a written testimonial.

We had 3 nights in June in the B&B and just loved it.

The attention to detail in all aspects is just first class. The arrival, the rooms, the special breakfasts (with daily surprise special), breakfast service, outdoor area and pool. Jason sorted us out for a 4 hr canooing down the Dordogne including drop off, all equipment and pick up…just brilliant.

We particularly liked the honesty room/bar where we could buy wine and beers at superb pricing. We dined in the garden one evening to a meal provided by Le blanqutte. The hosts joined us on one evening and all the ‘Brits’ had a boules competition over a few bottles of wine

The Gittes looked spectacular too.

Can’t say enough about this place, absolutely world class accomodation

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJLNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is one of the best places we have ever been for holiday. I have no words to describe how beautiful was the house, is lovely, cosy, and whatsmore, is the most wornderful place in Sarlat and sorroundings. You don't need to be in downtown of Sarlat to enjoy your holidays; the house is 5 minutes by car, however you could go walking or by bike. They have a wonderfull pool by the house with a lovely garden where you would enjoy resting, having lunch...
With regard to the owners, what can I say!! They have been so kind to us, helpfull, solicitous.. They prepare an absolutely delicious breakfast, and every day they have a special meal for breakfast.

Do you fancy go to Sarlat? La blanquette is a must going place, I would not miss the opportunity! We are coming back very sooon! La

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is absolutely outstanding. You get into fairy tell. If you are on the road for a few days, this is the place to relax. The house and surrounding property very picturesque and so tranquil, but what is the real gem, it is the owners-they go out of their way to please you. Breakfast
is just incredible! And what is very important, the place is immaculately clean-you can smell it the moment you step in. The bottom line-if you going to be in the area, don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnuts946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just stay there, you'll see why it's good. OMG the breakfasts!
Go for a canoe trip down the river, so good, no need to paddle, just drink up the scenery.
Did I mention the breakfasts? OMG

Seems to be a dog friendly place too. Good idea to have a car and visit the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chriskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

A wee bit out of town, very quite with plenty of outdoor space . Our stay here was pleasant, the hosts where friendly, Jason especially ...who organized our kayaking for a day, providing our transport to and from the river with comfy kayaks. The breakie was a surprise, very delicious. The only negative was the terribly uncomfortable beds, the worst we have slept on.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasNik, Owner at La Blanquette, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Blanquette.

We haven't had any other complaints about the beds in the room that you slept in so can only assume that they were either too firm or too soft for you, obviously we can't please everybody as this is down to personal preference. It is a shame though that you didn't take the opportunity when you were asked how you slept to tell us that you found the beds uncomfortable as we could have moved you to another room where the bed may have been more to your liking.

We hope to see you again at La Blanquette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights B&B in Aug. From the wonderfully warm welcome to the exceptional breakfast you could not wish to find a better B&B.
The bedroom was immaculately clean,well presented and very comfortable.
The pool and grounds were stunning and a great place to return to at the end of the day.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and you were made to feel part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hondasp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Clos Vallis
Le Clos Vallis
#16 of 59 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#13 of 43 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Blanquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Blanquette

Property: La Blanquette
Address: Route du Cambord | Le Cambord, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the B&B is now closed. The gites and glamping side of the business is still open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your La Blanquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing