We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Consuls
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I and my brother and his wife shared the Les Consuls apartment for five days. The apartment is well located being just outside central Sarlat, a few minutes walk. The two bedrooms were quite spacious and the bathroom with toilet had to be shared but not a problem as there is a separate toilet. There is also a well equipped laundry. Kitchen well equipped as well. The whole apartment was clean and recently renovated. There is a supermarket and a patisserie/bread shop just around the corner. The only problem we had was finding a parking spot for our hire car but most of the time we found a spot reasonably close to the apartment. There is free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    74
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
105
196
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two families of four spent a wonderful weekend in Sarlat staying at La Villa des Consults.
We hired the two appartments sleeping four people; The Richelieu and The Ronsard. What a perfect set up for a family. Exceptionally clean and spacious. The Richelieu had a balcony that looked directly over the beautiful pedestrianised road. Air conditioning and double glazing was well received, especially when the Saturday morning market were setting up, we woke from an undisturbed sleep to find the market in full swing beneath our window and we hadnt heard a thing! The small courtyard was a real bonus. David was extremely professional and efficient throughout from booking to check out.
DO STAY HERE, PERFECTION.

Room Tip: Such great value it is worth paying out for the balcony and courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights over Easter in the "Talleyrand" room, which was more spacious than we expected. Lovely wooden beams, big bathroom and comfortable bed. The room was self-contained, and it was handy to buy provisions from the local stores and keep in the room. The service was great, which added much to our first stay in the Dordogne. The owner was helpful and emailed us pdf maps and suggested routes since we had hired a car to explore the area, and on the first evening, our room was kept warm until we arrived, quite late. We loved the Dordogne and will definitely revisit. Sarlat is a beautiful medieval town, and our stay at this Villa added to the quality of our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellesecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Perfect location, and we appreciated being able to spread out in the apartment sized room. It was nice to be able to purchase provisions in the market, store and prepare them in the kitchen, and eat breakfast and snacks on our terrace. Definitely splurge for a room with a terrace. The free laundry was a nice bonus, and the WiFi was stronger than my WiFi at home! David was low-key, friendly, and helpful. We would recommend this to others and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the bedrooms without outside space. However three was a small courtyard to sit if you wished, but given the Villas location in the town this was not necessary.

As we arrived in July it was hard to find, so park the car and follow the signs on foot. David then has an electric cart which he uses to transport the bags from the road where the car is to the Villa.

We booked a car space @€9/ night - it was great, located a little walk away but in a covered locked garage which was so nice and cool - as opposed to a warm car and no time waisted trying to find a car space.

The bed was great just the firmness that we like, the AC was a blessing and we also had minimal food preparation facilities (ie a microwave, tea/coffe, crockery, utensils and a good sized fridge).

We used the laundry which was a great asset, especially in the days of the 9kg carryon bag -3 washing machines and 3 driers so really easy to get a machine when you want it.

We had breakfast there one morning - simple usual continental fare if you don't want to make your own.

The building is lovely and really well presented, our room was huge with a sitting area as well as kitchen corner and bed space. So all in all I would recommend the Villa for your stay in Sarlat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the first week of July and were thrilled with the place. It was bigger than we anticipated, had air con, had free common laundry at the reception area that anyone staying there could use, a free shared computer (slow) at the reception area and a helpful person at the desk. The location was terrific - close to the wednesday morning market (we weren't there on a saturday so I don't know if the saturday market is the same place). As an aside, the wifi which we elected to pay for in the room was fast enough to watch a few videos streamed from our home computer in Canada. We really loved the accommodations - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was amazing. We were walking around the market on a Saturday morning when we found our hotel right above the market street. We were warmly welcomed by David and shown to our wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the street. I immediately went out to the grocery store to buy ingredients to make a spaghetti dinner and eat with the family on the varanda with our wonderful bottle of wine and people watch. The room was spacious and the laundry machines were free and available 24/7. We did not partake of the breakfast as we cooked bacon and eggs in our room and ate again on the balcony. Loved this place and very much worth the few extra euros..............

Room Tip: Get the balcony overlooking the street. That is what you came for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Property: La Villa des Consuls
Address: 3 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Villa des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing