We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely villa in this ancient medieval village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Consuls
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in this ancient medieval village”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our experience here was wonderful. We were given the rampart (apartment) that had a separate living room and eating area. The manager helped us with our luggage from the parking lot which was five minutes away. Nestled up a tiny very old lane, we were two minutes away from the main street with a grocery store and bake shop. It was clean and cosy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    74
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
105
196
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This review pertains solely to our 2 day stay in Las Remparts, an apartment separate from the main building of Villa Des Consuls. The apartment consists of a first floor living room kitchen and bathroom with the bedroom and shower on the second floor. The unit was new and we have no complaints with it EXCEPT the rest room on the first floor required inconvenient trips. Also, the stairway was quit narrow and difficult for luggage removal. The parking connected with the apartment was also inconvenient. The room was otherwose quiet and comfortable, just not up to the standards of the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadesconsuls, Owner at La Villa des Consuls, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and for these informations that will be helpful for our next guests.

In "Le Rempart ", the restroom (toilets) is indeed on the first floor. This was clearly mentionned in the description of the apartment in our website and in your reservation confirmation.
The access to the second floor is through a spiral staircase as shown in the slideshow of the apartment (so maybe not recommended for people having difficulties climbing stairs but this is a medieval building with its technical constraints )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

La Villa des Consuls is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sarlat. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well-equipped, and still had a hint of its historic past with soaring ceilings and a balcony overlooking town's famed Medieval buildings.

Our apartment backed onto the main street, which turns into a bustling market on Saturday morning. Thanks to double doors, we didn't hear a peek! There's a good boulangerie, pâtisserie, boucherie and épicerie within a five-minute walk, which makes self-catering is a breeze.

With a laundry, baggage collection service and public computer for Internet access, La Villa des Consuls goes out of its way to make your visit to Sarlat as simple and special as possible.

Access is a bit tricky if you are driving due to parking restrictions. We originally booked a space in the property's the garage, which is a good five minutes away, but found free parking in the same location. Make sure you have a good map of the town before you leave...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhens_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I and my brother and his wife shared the Les Consuls apartment for five days. The apartment is well located being just outside central Sarlat, a few minutes walk. The two bedrooms were quite spacious and the bathroom with toilet had to be shared but not a problem as there is a separate toilet. There is also a well equipped laundry. Kitchen well equipped as well. The whole apartment was clean and recently renovated. There is a supermarket and a patisserie/bread shop just around the corner. The only problem we had was finding a parking spot for our hire car but most of the time we found a spot reasonably close to the apartment. There is free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two families of four spent a wonderful weekend in Sarlat staying at La Villa des Consults.
We hired the two appartments sleeping four people; The Richelieu and The Ronsard. What a perfect set up for a family. Exceptionally clean and spacious. The Richelieu had a balcony that looked directly over the beautiful pedestrianised road. Air conditioning and double glazing was well received, especially when the Saturday morning market were setting up, we woke from an undisturbed sleep to find the market in full swing beneath our window and we hadnt heard a thing! The small courtyard was a real bonus. David was extremely professional and efficient throughout from booking to check out.
DO STAY HERE, PERFECTION.

Room Tip: Such great value it is worth paying out for the balcony and courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights over Easter in the "Talleyrand" room, which was more spacious than we expected. Lovely wooden beams, big bathroom and comfortable bed. The room was self-contained, and it was handy to buy provisions from the local stores and keep in the room. The service was great, which added much to our first stay in the Dordogne. The owner was helpful and emailed us pdf maps and suggested routes since we had hired a car to explore the area, and on the first evening, our room was kept warm until we arrived, quite late. We loved the Dordogne and will definitely revisit. Sarlat is a beautiful medieval town, and our stay at this Villa added to the quality of our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellesecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Perfect location, and we appreciated being able to spread out in the apartment sized room. It was nice to be able to purchase provisions in the market, store and prepare them in the kitchen, and eat breakfast and snacks on our terrace. Definitely splurge for a room with a terrace. The free laundry was a nice bonus, and the WiFi was stronger than my WiFi at home! David was low-key, friendly, and helpful. We would recommend this to others and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Property: La Villa des Consuls
Address: 3 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Villa des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing