We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Medieval Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Villa des Consuls
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is an extremely well-run French style B&B that sits within the walls of the impossibly beautiful, medieval city of Sarlat-La-Caneda. The French would describe it as "chouette". And of course, being within this marvellous walled city means everything - like restaurants, shops, galleries, museums, the famous market - is within spitting distance.
If you arrive in a car, it's perhaps not the most perfect of locations, although our host, David, could not have been more helpful in this regard. And the undercover garage was inexpensive and completely secure
What you see on La Villa des Consuls' website is really what you get. There are no unfortunate surprises here. Our room was as spacious and as clean as a pin as the website's photos showed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roslyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is an incredible apartment within the hotel. We were three women traveling for pleasure and the apartment was perfect with three separate beds. One of our group had a cold and the separate bedroom was perfect for her to recover in and not feel like every time she coughed that she was disturbing us. The patio was private, the kitchen well stocked, and the living area huge! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sarlat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drmkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My sister and I rented the Medicis apartment for 10 days in September 2013. The hotel's owner, David, operates the hotel on his own; he is very accommodating and immediately attends to requests or needs. It is located in the center of medieval Sarlat. Our apartment was spacious; the photos on the hotel's web site are accurate as to appearance and amenities. Additionally, this apartment has a private entrance off the courtyard; the patio has a privacy-fenced area for our use only with table, umbrella, and lounge chairs. The three sets of French doors overlook the Rue de la Republique, one of the main pedestrian streets on market days, Saturdays and Wednesdays, making this location perfect for visitors without a car. The French doors are double glazed, effectively sound-proofing the apartment. We even slept through a thunderstorm. The living area had 15-foot ceilings, beautiful wooden floors, and a fireplace. The furniture is comfortable and functional. // Security is good with a locked wrought iron entry gate (David provides the pass code upon registration); the patio gate also had its own lock. // The kitchen is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, electric kettle, coffee-maker, toaster, basic pots and pans, dishware and utensils. // David provides a computer for use by the clientele. // We had only two problems: European ice cube trays are tiny, compared to the ice-needs of Americans from the South. David told us that the bar next door would supply us with ice, as needed. (The barman was very helpful.) The other concern was the very firm, new latex mattresses. I like a firm mattress, so mine was OK with me; but my sister found the firm mattress to be extremely uncomfortable. When told of her problem sleeping, David provided extra padding and pillows. There really wasn't much more that he could do; with some imagination in creating "princess and the pea" sort of layers, she was able to rest comfortably. // In all we loved having the Medicis apartment for our use during our stay. Without reservation, I recommend the Villa des Consuls.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadesconsuls, Propriétaire at La Villa des Consuls, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your great review.
Further to your suggestions, we inform you that all our beds will be equipped with a comfortable mattress topper from 2014. This topper can of course be removed on request for the guest who prefer a firm mattress.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your 10 nights stay at la Villa des Consuls and hope to see you again in Sarlat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

David runs a terrific little hotel consisting of 4 rooms and 9 apartments in the center of the charming village of Sarlat-La-Caneda. As someone who spent 16 years in the hotel business, this is perhaps the best overall stay we have ever had. The rooms are self-service, just like being at home, which saves money and wear and tear on the environment, with daily room service available if you wish to pay for it. The value for money and the accomodations are excellent. Secure parking is available for a reasonable price or you can park your vehicle in a car park nearby if you wish to save a Euro or two. Breakfast was continental, ready to go every morning, with coffee and continental offerings. By offering the basic room for a great price, you can pay for what extras you wish and skip any unnecessary expenses. The rooms are beautiful, the right size, and very comfortable. Free computer access in the lobby, and free use of the three washer/dryer combinations makes for an excellent chance to stay in touch and do that laundry that builds up over a trip. WiFi in the room is available for three Euro a day - which is cheap by European standards and very fast. Can't find a negative about this little hotel, and David is pure joy to deal with. You'll love it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet. We stayed in Du Bellay and it was perfect. There is no elevator but David wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCOTT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well located hotel close to the centre of Sarlat. Modern well appointed rooms and a free communal laundry with washing machines and dryers which was greatly appreciated. There is no parking at the hotel but there is plenty of free public parking not too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a lovely little hotel in the centre of Sarlat. The rooms are comfortable, clean and a good size for European standards. However, they perhaps aren’t as modern or luxurious as some of the pictures on the website. Still a nice little room, though, for a reasonable price. Parking, breakfast and wifi were all extra, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradley_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadesconsuls, Propriétaire at La Villa des Consuls, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at La Villa des Consuls.
As concerns the WiFi, there's indeed en extra charge if you need it in your room ( 3 euros / 24 hours) but we have a free Wifi network and a free self-service computer in the lobby)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

David is an accommodating host and has a welcome kit prepared upon arrival. The location is perfect, situated at the perimeter of the medieval village, only steps away from the heart of Sarlat. La Villa des Consuls was clean and comfortable and had the right modern touches while still feeling historic and quaint. It offers laundry which is AMAZING!! We would not recommend breakfast at the hotel - it's pricey for what you get and you can go down the street and pay a lot less at a cafe. If you need parking, it's available for a reasonable price (by France standards). The parking lot is a short walk away, but well worth it to know you can easily park your car each day. The walk to the and from the lot and allows for a short jaunt to outside the core of Sarlat, where you will find a Carrefour Express to pick up water, wine, whatever as well as cafes and other shops. The medieval part of Sarlat is beautiful - full of charming restaurants, bistros and shops. The town square is a great area to have lunch, dinner or just a drink and people watch. Sarlat is also a great base from which to visit The Dordogne and South Central France. We enjoyed our 6 nite stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
951 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Address: 3 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £92 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your La Villa des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing