We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and superb value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa des Consuls
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This hotel was my favorite place to stay during our two week stay in France. We stayed for four nights and we loved every minute. The place is a beautifully restored medieval building containing all the modern ammenities without neglecting the orignal character of the building. David is a welcoming and efficient host who keeps the place running smoothly and is eager to help his guests enjoy their time in Sarlat. The price is half of what we would pay in the US for a hotel like this. I would definitely return and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonthesavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

The hotel is very good value for money: clean, comfortable, interesting (historic building) in a great location in the old town a short walk from everything. The owner runs everything and is present ll day with advice and help.

Pack light as you have to walk your bags to and from the nearest car park/stopping spot!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dos303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed here two nights (Colbert room), and could not have been happier. The room was very large and immaculate -- refurbished, well maintained and clean. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the city, but the rooms are extremely quiet. David, the owner, was extremely helpful and attentive.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank callaocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

First of all, if you are planning a trip to the Dordogne region, you MUST stay in Sarlat. It is absolutely beautiful, and you truly feel like you are walking around in a medievel city that is untouched by progress. My husband and I found this hotel from the Rick Steves guidebooks and absolutely loved it. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. We had a small window that overlooked the rooftops of the city. The bathroom was one of the nicest we encountered in France, and David was a true gem. He was very helpful in helping us navigate the map and gave us an excellent dinner recommendation right around the corner from the hotel. Sarlat is a small city steeped in history and mystique, and was one of the highlights of our trip around France. You must park outside the city proper, then go to the hotel to check in. David gives you a code to park in the parking garage belonging to the hotel, and you walk back to the hotel. You only really drive on the outside of the city, and on one main road. This hotel will not disappoint you in the least, but be ready for some steep stairs! I packed way too much for the trip and regretted it while lugging my suitcase up the stairs! Otherwise, you'll fall in love with this place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unluciole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed in Le Rempart, which is a small apartment around the corner from the main hotel. The place was very clean, very comfortable, and had some very nice extras (full kitchen had electric tea kettle, bathroom had a towel warmer, etc.). Everything was in great shape and working order.

We only saw the lobby of the hotel, but it was quite nice as well. The free laundry room was a huge plus, and there are some guide books for the region available for use. Far better than any guidebook was the owner, David. He was extremely helpful, gave fantastic recommendations, and was clearly interested in helping us make the most of the town/region.

Overall, this is a fantastic value that I couldn't recommend more. We loved Sarlat, and our stay here certainly contributed to that. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benitodisparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We spent three nights at the Villa Des Consuls in the Richelieu apartment, while our friends had La Boetie. Both were perfect for us, clean and well-appointed, with plenty of room and outside eating opportunities too. As a base for exploring Sarlat and the area we could not have hoped for a better spot. The proprieter David was extremely helpful and accommodating, and was willing to recommend good local wines (some available on site) and places to eat. Personal favourite reataurant was Le Presidial which was full in early April. Remember to book a table to avoid disappointment. The Wednesday market was worth staying around for and was bustling and busy. We would also recommend Grotte de Font de Gaume cave (limited numbers, booking essential, bring your basic French) and the Chateau de Beynac as excellent places to visit. We do not recommend driving inside the walls of Domme - you have been warned !

Suggestion for drivers. I would not recommend trying to drive to the hotel down Rue de la Republique except at quiet times of day (not sure when they might be) and then only to drop-off/pick-up. Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau is barely more than a winding lane between buildings - wide enough for two wheelbarrows to pass comfortably. Parking is difficult but we were able to find a spot on Avenue General de Gaulle up towards the free car parks. Best option when arriving would be to head towards the town center (Avenue Gambetta from the North, Avenue Aristide Briand/Thiers/General LeClerc from the South). From the North/Avenue Gambetta, turn right up the hill toward Rue Eugene Le Roy and turn right at the light at the top of the hill onto Avenue General de Gaulle. Park either on the side of the road, or in the public car parks up the hill. It's a 2 minute walk (4 with luggage) back to the hotel down the lane to the right (south) of the school. Villa Des Consuls is sign-posted. From the South, as the 1 way Avenue du General LeClerc turns sharp right at Place du 14 Juillet, bear left past and in front of the Post Office . This will take you (through a traffic light) along Boulevard Voltaire which becomes Avenue General de Gaulle. If you are lucky you may be able to drop off/pick up on the right side of the road at the top of the lane. Otherwise the car park is your best option. Do not be put off - this place is a gem, and we will assuredly use it as a base for future visits to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1805bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Location couldn't be better as it is in the heart of Sarlat, a most beautiful medieval village. Room was very clean and large (Fenelon) and recently fitted-out to modern standards that overlooked the old village rooftops. Service by David the owner was great and very helpful. Parking is a challenge in Sarlat generally and expect to walk with your baggage from wherever you eventually find a spot! Wish we could have stayed longer than our single night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Selves
Hotel de Selves
#25 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Address: 3 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Villa des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing