We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous find in the heart of Sarlat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Consuls
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
401 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fabulous find in the heart of Sarlat”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Perfect location if you are using Sarlat as a base for several days of sightseeing in the Dordogne area - great value for the price; staff VERY helpful; quiet room even facing the main street. Great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    74
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
105
196
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife, adult son and I spent three nights here, during a recent visit to Sarlat. We stayed in the Medicis room, which is a two-bedroom, one bath apartment. The room was spacious and clean and exactly as shown on their website. Our room overlooked Sarlat's main street, but noise was never a problem. The view of the town from our balcony was wonderful, especially on Market Day (Saturday). The hardwood floors were creaky, but there was no unit above ours, so we weren't disturbed by other guests.

The host, David, is a one-man show. He man's the front desk and also serves breakfast in the morning. He speaks fluent English and is friendly and helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, including our breakfasts. We opted for and recommend paying extra for parking in a secure garage. On-street parking is very difficult at times in Sarlat. The garage is about a five-minute walk from the hotel.

The only negative, as other reviewers have noted, is unloading your bags upon arrival at the hotel. It was raining when we arrived and negotiating the electric luggage cart through the narrow, bumpy, twisting alley to the hotel was no fun. However, we left on a Sunday morning and were able to park just below the hotel on the main street. From this location, it was easy to get our bags down from the hotel.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebirds277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Sarlat in August is really wayyy to busy during the day .... but at night-time this medieval jewel of a town comes into its own - the old narrow streets with the summer warmth, uneven cobblestones and atmospheric lighting make for a wonderful stage for street performers, good humour, food and experiences all around. La Villa des Consuls just adds to this overall ambience - a well renovated old townhouse(s) - we had a charming room with some steps up to a window that overlooked the town and gave great views over the rooftops. Located off the main streets so not too noisy at any stage, yet close to the action and close to the car parks located just outside the main center of town so that bringing your luggage to the room is no hassle. Service was friendly enough if a little cold. Everything else - wonderful. Special mention also to the small local bar beside the Villa which was wonderfully laid back and convivial.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Hotel has location, price is good, service was excellent, the bath was okay, however, I feel they could have furnished it better. The bed and couch could be more comfortable. However, I recommend it anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borough Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed in the "Montaigne" appartment - 2 double bedrooms, small bathroom and living-room with kitchenette and a double sofa bed - ideal for us and 2 teenage sons. What made it was the lovely, sunny balcony above the pedestrianised main street - perfect for leisurely breakfasts, lunches or just lounging and reading. The location, right in the middle of the beautiful old medieval town of Sarlat was ideal with shops and plenty of good restaurants an easy stroll away.

I must mention the patron, David Lescoux, who not only supplied us with very useful information on restuarants, places of interest plus maps of the town and its approaches, but also kindly booked tickets for us to tour the prehistoric cave art of Font de Gaume when I emailed to ask how to do it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

stayed here four days in august. absolutely beautiful old building in a charming old city. . part of the fun of the hotel is trying to find it and get the luggage to it. its really not too difficult to locate. the rooms are very modern {wish they were not so modern} and are spotless. we stayed in a two bedroom with a small kitchen that was well equiped. the beds are very comfortable. the owner David is a very nice welcoming gentleman with great advise for the area. he really added to the charm of the hotel. thank you for a great stay and also for the perfect scenic directions to avignon. no traffic at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrFady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife & I stayed here for a week in April. Whilst we had trouble finding it once we got of the bus a very friendly shop keeper showed us the way. The Saturday market was on and the main street was extremely busy and had a wonderful atmosphere. Our apartment had a balcony that over looked the main street and had a lovely outdoor setting and sunlounges. To sit outside on the balcony at night with the local produce and wine was so relaxing. he town is beautiful at night with the soft lighting falling over the medival buildings. The most beautiful place. The host David was so helpful and always obliging. We had breakfast there most mornings which consisted of croissants, pastries,yoghurt, fresh bread, jams, honey, fresh juice, tea or coffee. This was not included in the price but was about 7 or 8 euros each. We hired a car there and arranged through David car parking in safe garage a short walk from the hotel. We found all the shop keepers there very friendly and really enjoyed the food market whch was on a Wednesday and a larger market on the Saturday. A great place to stay and base yourself to tour the Dordogne region.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoesJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Property: La Villa des Consuls
Address: 3 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Villa des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing